We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I've eaten”
Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 3,778 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Richmond, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've eaten”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Brought my mom to Black+Blue for her birthday. We had so much fun. The service was great. The food was excellent. Our server Chris R. was just so amazing. They gave us this wonderful window side table which was really nice. We had Oysters Rockefeller which was just so yummy. For the main course, we had the Tomahawk steak with 3 sides. The steak was just cooked to perfection and just tasted so good. One of the best steaks I've ever had. Ordered a variety of desserts. What really touched my mom was the pastry chef. The pastry chef went our of her way to make this beautiful dessert sampler platter for my mom which was really so delicious. Our dinner that evening just exceeded all my expectations. If you are ever in Vancouver, BC and had to choose one restaurant to go to, Black+Blue is the place. They made us feel like VIPs that night. Such a wonderful restaurant and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniod506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Great pictures - thank you for sharing! I'm so glad we were able to make your Mom's birthday extra special. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    305
    141
    74
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Chic ambiance”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Been to the one in London and this is much better. Excellent service. My appetizer shrimp coctail wasnt that great. But the steak was good as well as the butter cake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khiajosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
So glad you were able to join us at Black+Blue, as well as COAST! We look forward to welcoming you back in again soon - we will have the Butter Cake ready and waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Happy to be back!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I am so happy the music issues have resolved as previously, it was too loud and in bad taste before! So happy to make this a regular stop of mine. The steaks are always first rate and the service is impeccable! The roof top is not to missed after dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prpleace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Great to have you join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
“The Best Restaurant Experience out there”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Glowbal Group in Vancouver has got to be one of the better chain of corporate restaurants I have ever dined at. I had visited all of the other locations before I went to Black and Blue and it did not disappoint. The server was a marvel and knew everything and anything on that menu and could rip off facts about wine, food, or just culture in general. I believe our servers name was Chris and his service boosted the quality of my night tenfold. The menu was quite pricey for the average wallet size, but relative to other steak houses it was quite standard in its pricing. The Steaks were cooked to perfection and I can confidently say this is right up there with the best meals I have ever had. This has to rival some of the best steak houses not only in Vancouver, but in the world. Nothing but good things to say about the Glowbal Group and I wouldn't hesitate to grab a meal at Black and Blue again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words - I have passed them on to the restaurant and management team. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a great time at Black & Blue. Food was delicious. Obviously the steaks were amazing but the potato nachos and mac & cheese sticks were outstanding. We had a fabulous time. Customer service was fantastic too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Google Translation
Glad you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing