We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine out Vancouver”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 3,705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dine out Vancouver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went here for dine out vancouver. Being a Friday evening I excepted the restaurant to be busy, but I had not expected the noise level to be as great as it was, it was difficult to hear each other at our own table. This was compounded by the fact the place becomes a stand up bar by nine at night and the music gets louder as the night progresses.

That said, the food menu for dine out was excellent the waiter we had was wonderful, attentive but not overbearing, and kudos to him for managing to having the music turned down in our little corner of the restaurant.

Overall, I would go back, just not on a Friday evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi there. We admit - as the weekend evenings carry on and the energy increases, so do the noise levels in the restaurant. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and received top notch service! We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    293
    135
    70
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overrated.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had a horrible experience at this restaurant. It looks like ur typical downtown vancouver restaurant, pretty neat layout - thats about it.
There were 13 of us for a girls night/bday party - they told us it'd be about a 15 minute wait and sat us in their tiny lounge section. It was about an hour later that we finally got seated at a table!

The menu was very limited and VERY expensive considering the fact that it was nothing special.

Nothing was worse than the attitude of SOME of the staff (bartender Chris was AMAZING and waiter Arturo was great as well) - the hostess and some VERY RUDE waitress spoiled my entire night. Making me pay two seperate transactions - charging me MORE than what I'd gotten. Then the waitress had the nerve to not let me back upstairs to say goodbye to the rest of our party after I had paid - she was TERRIBLY rude and even asked me "Why would you leave your table and expect me to let you back upstairs now?" What do they think they are? A Club or something?!!

Get a new front end/waitress staff (im sure they are not ALL bad) - but yeah, some revisions in staff and also a more diverse menu MIGHT make this place tolerable

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have followed up with the restaurant management and apologize for your recent experience. We would love to welcome you back so that you have the opportunity to fully enjoy the Black+Blue experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
198 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Nice Business Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Met an associate for lunch.
The hostess didn't really notice us and were busy scurrying around a lot
We had a reservation and once we were noticed, led to our table
Nice spot by the window
Waiter was friendly and very helpful
Food took long and for a business lunch that's not a good thing - i would have expected them to anticipate the brief time people in the area have on a work day
Food was good

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhoom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Apologies in the delay of your meal but I am glad to hear you enjoyed! Thanks for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great food. Expensive but well worth it. The service was great. It is very nice inside. The normal client appears to be a 50 something male, so not really all that happening of a place. Once again the food was great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyersfan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Excellent! So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us...we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How dare they call it a Steak House”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

After all the good reviews we decided to try this place. The whole place is run by a bunch of teenagers and looks like a high schoole hang out place with some gangsters showing off thier guns and girlfreinds....

The quality of the meat is like something you get from Save-on-foods 1 week old in the 90% off sale rack. This is not close to any quality meat you get in real steak house restaurants.

The surft and turf plate is the biggest joke since it comes with two small peices (kinda of the end fat peice) of a tenderloin steak. It is about 3-4 oz max for $44.

Also the steak is well overcooked and dry but cannot blame the cheft because the quality of the meat probably is so bad that he cannot tell when the meat is cooked....

Stay away from this place. This is unfortunate for the Global restaurant sicne we enjoy every other restaurants they have in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing