We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated.”
Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 3,845 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had a horrible experience at this restaurant. It looks like ur typical downtown vancouver restaurant, pretty neat layout - thats about it.
There were 13 of us for a girls night/bday party - they told us it'd be about a 15 minute wait and sat us in their tiny lounge section. It was about an hour later that we finally got seated at a table!

The menu was very limited and VERY expensive considering the fact that it was nothing special.

Nothing was worse than the attitude of SOME of the staff (bartender Chris was AMAZING and waiter Arturo was great as well) - the hostess and some VERY RUDE waitress spoiled my entire night. Making me pay two seperate transactions - charging me MORE than what I'd gotten. Then the waitress had the nerve to not let me back upstairs to say goodbye to the rest of our party after I had paid - she was TERRIBLY rude and even asked me "Why would you leave your table and expect me to let you back upstairs now?" What do they think they are? A Club or something?!!

Get a new front end/waitress staff (im sure they are not ALL bad) - but yeah, some revisions in staff and also a more diverse menu MIGHT make this place tolerable

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tania J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hi there. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have followed up with the restaurant management and apologize for your recent experience. We would love to welcome you back so that you have the opportunity to fully enjoy the Black+Blue experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
There are newer reviews for Black + Blue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,067 - 1,071 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Met an associate for lunch.
The hostess didn't really notice us and were busy scurrying around a lot
We had a reservation and once we were noticed, led to our table
Nice spot by the window
Waiter was friendly and very helpful
Food took long and for a business lunch that's not a good thing - i would have expected them to anticipate the brief time people in the area have on a work day
Food was good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dhoom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Apologies in the delay of your meal but I am glad to hear you enjoyed! Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great food. Expensive but well worth it. The service was great. It is very nice inside. The normal client appears to be a 50 something male, so not really all that happening of a place. Once again the food was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flyersfan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Excellent! So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us...we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After all the good reviews we decided to try this place. The whole place is run by a bunch of teenagers and looks like a high schoole hang out place with some gangsters showing off thier guns and girlfreinds....

The quality of the meat is like something you get from Save-on-foods 1 week old in the 90% off sale rack. This is not close to any quality meat you get in real steak house restaurants.

The surft and turf plate is the biggest joke since it comes with two small peices (kinda of the end fat peice) of a tenderloin steak. It is about 3-4 oz max for $44.

Also the steak is well overcooked and dry but cannot blame the cheft because the quality of the meat probably is so bad that he cannot tell when the meat is cooked....

Stay away from this place. This is unfortunate for the Global restaurant sicne we enjoy every other restaurants they have in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travellerontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived at 9pm for our reservation, the restaurant presented a loud, trendy vibe which we liked at first. We got a booth at the back, nice for one side of the table, but the other side face the kitchen directly. Loud banter/cursing from the wait and kitchen staff. We ordered a martini to have before dinner. Unfortunately, our first course came so fast that we didn't even have our drinks yet, which had us changing our drink order as who wants to drink a fancy creative martini with potato soup? The waiter apologized, we were not charged for those drinks. Dinner was good (not amazing), but very different portions of the same meal made some at the table uncomfortable. All of us had trouble getting around the cramped upper level around the rushed stressed staff and bar patrons to the washroom. I was actually bumped twice by stressed rushed staff so hard it threw me off balance! It may have knocked an older person over actually. Loud drunk girls at the bar yelling were not removed, so overall I was expecting more. If you want a real steakhouse in Vancouver, my vote is for Gothams. Black and Blue is actually more expensive than Gotham's for what I would say is a lot less.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank westcoast74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi there. Thank you for your comments. We received them on Open Table and have sent them to the manager who will be following up with you. If you require anything else, please let us know - marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing