We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouthwatering!”
Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 3,914 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great food. Expensive but well worth it. The service was great. It is very nice inside. The normal client appears to be a 50 something male, so not really all that happening of a place. Once again the food was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flyersfan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Excellent! So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us...we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,117 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

After all the good reviews we decided to try this place. The whole place is run by a bunch of teenagers and looks like a high schoole hang out place with some gangsters showing off thier guns and girlfreinds....

The quality of the meat is like something you get from Save-on-foods 1 week old in the 90% off sale rack. This is not close to any quality meat you get in real steak house restaurants.

The surft and turf plate is the biggest joke since it comes with two small peices (kinda of the end fat peice) of a tenderloin steak. It is about 3-4 oz max for $44.

Also the steak is well overcooked and dry but cannot blame the cheft because the quality of the meat probably is so bad that he cannot tell when the meat is cooked....

Stay away from this place. This is unfortunate for the Global restaurant sicne we enjoy every other restaurants they have in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travellerontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived at 9pm for our reservation, the restaurant presented a loud, trendy vibe which we liked at first. We got a booth at the back, nice for one side of the table, but the other side face the kitchen directly. Loud banter/cursing from the wait and kitchen staff. We ordered a martini to have before dinner. Unfortunately, our first course came so fast that we didn't even have our drinks yet, which had us changing our drink order as who wants to drink a fancy creative martini with potato soup? The waiter apologized, we were not charged for those drinks. Dinner was good (not amazing), but very different portions of the same meal made some at the table uncomfortable. All of us had trouble getting around the cramped upper level around the rushed stressed staff and bar patrons to the washroom. I was actually bumped twice by stressed rushed staff so hard it threw me off balance! It may have knocked an older person over actually. Loud drunk girls at the bar yelling were not removed, so overall I was expecting more. If you want a real steakhouse in Vancouver, my vote is for Gothams. Black and Blue is actually more expensive than Gotham's for what I would say is a lot less.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank westcoast74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi there. Thank you for your comments. We received them on Open Table and have sent them to the manager who will be following up with you. If you require anything else, please let us know - marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've been coming to Black and Blue ever since they opened, the highlight of our Vancouver visit. However I have to say, the money we put up for a New Years Eve event did not match the service, nor the food, nor the cocktails. (would say $$$$ for New Years). Where to begin... greeting at the door was a joke. The gals were rude and obnoxious. We came early on purpose (and yes we had reservations), and we yet with an almost empty restaurant, they tried to seat us TWICE right next to the open front door (winter, hello). After a complaint (which we really didn't want to do since it's New Years Eve after all), they finally seated us upstairs (thank you). Talk about making us feel insignificant even though we know several staff members (which we didn't want to use as leverage). We really tried to brush this off, but when the appetizers (meat WAY dry and chewy) and first drink orders came out, once again we were left scratching our heads. Cocktails were terrible that they had to be remade more than once (first time we've ever experienced this at Black and Blue). And for a place known for its steaks, one of the main dishes was disappointing (surprisingly dry and tasteless; it was way over-cooked for a 'medium' steak...funny thing is, 'medium-rare' was requested). (Lobster was lovely though). Again, we tried to brush it off, but it certainly made an imprint. Thank goodness for Arturo for a wonderful finale to our dinner (and a great beginning to 2013). We were his first cocktail request for 2013 (hehe) and it was exceptional (never disappoints). We really hope that our New Years Eve event was just a hiccup, and we anticipate to come back to Black and Blue again (But this time, requesting Rio... as always in the previous past).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ready2Travl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi there. I'm very sorry to hear of your New Year's experience with us and that we let you down considerably - especially when looking at your past reviews you have left us. We would love to follow up with you directly - please email us your contact details to marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Thanks very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

As a group of four we made a reservation at Black and Blue for lunch. We have been to this location before and had enjoyable meals however this experience has left us wondering if the restaurant will survive the challenge. The Glowbal chain is currently offering 25% off the total bill which seems to have overwhelmed the restaurant. Now admittedly, we spent a few minutes making our meal choices but it took approximately 45 minutes for our lunches to be delivered after our orders were placed. We were told twice by managers that our lunch was on the way but it did not materialize. It was a good thing that none of our group had any pressing commitments after lunch but it was unfortunate that a restaurant of this calibre had such a gap in service from its kitchen. We will need to seriously think hard about going back.

We really felt bad for our server, Brieanne as she was trying so hard to ensure that we had a positive experience. It was unfortunate that those who were supporting her did not bring their "A" game to the "table".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Happy_Traveller_Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Apologies for the delay in service you received during your lunch with us. We would like to follow up with you directly - please send us your contact details to marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing