We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good”
Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 3,894 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We ate at Black and Blue n our last night in Vancouver, because our original plan was to go to Kobe steakhouse next door but it had a 2 hour queue. B&B is a good place to satisfy any steak craving -the steak tartare and rib eye was excellent but the new York strip was more charred and overdone than I wanted so my jaw ached from trying so hard to chew. Finished off with an excellent apple tartine. B&B is owned by the same group who owns Italian kitchen and Coast on the same street so one can expect it to be really pricey. Despite that, it was packed to the hilt on Saturday night.

1  Thank Wennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thanks for joining us at Black+Blue - as well as Italian Kitchen & COAST! We really appreciate your reviews!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,144 - 1,148 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Quite a bit less loud upstairs. . . Food very good (approaching excellent) and the service was over the top. Good wine list including, for those on a budget, very reasonable house red and white for ~$7.25/glass.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RCWestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had lunch today at Black and Blue - after nearly a month of travel. It was great to relax and receive expert service and wonderful food. My husband's Beef Wellington was perfect, as was my steak dianne. Our server, Alita was very professional and friendly and made the dining experience a good one. And the interior of the restaurant - OMG!
Thanks guys for a luxury experience after too many trips to Sizzler across the US!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ToniOstwald-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Everyone needs a good meal after traveling for so long! Thank you for including us in your adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I recently visited Vancouver with my boyfriend. After the suggestion of a local friend we visited Black and Blue. Although the main floor was a bit too busy and noisy for my liking, we were luckily seated upstairs. The place looked very sophisticated and pretty, the decor mostly being the surrounding walls of wines. Our server, a lovely man named Chris made sure we had everything we wanted and took great care of us. Even though we sort of randomly stumbled into the place, we were treated excellently and the food was absolutely breathtaking.

My only complaint would be that I'd appreciate a bit more quiet and a little bit more light in the dining area, however I have to admit that once we got used to it neither of these posed much of a problem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Katerina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thanks for your review and for joining us during your time in Vancouver! We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to the city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked a reservation for a Friday evening dinner based other reviews and left with a headache after 10 minutes due to the excessively loud music. We were seated outside and the music was even louder inside.

1  Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at Black+Blue. We admit, as the night goes on and the energy of the room increases it can get noisy. We would love to welcome you back to enjoy the full Black+Blue experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing