We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise after reading poor reviews.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luke's Corner Bar and Kitchen - CLOSED

Luke's Corner Bar and Kitchen
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Granville
Description: Luke's is South Granville one of a kind. A casual and friendly neighbourhood restaurant and corner bar in the swanky South Granville shopping and fashion area featuring fresh, local and natural food and beverages served with upscale touches. We specialize in seasonal offerings with fresh fish a favourite. Our famous burgers are made from premium B.C. grass fed beef. We have a fantastic selection of local draft beer and premium B.C. wines. We are open lunch, dinner and late night and for weekend and holiday brunch. At Luke's "You're Welcome Here"
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise after reading poor reviews.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Had arranged to meet at Luke's before reading a lot of poor reviews so didn't expect much. Service was very friendly and prompt. Two of the three dishes were excellent and the third was good and as advertised. Hard to beat an outdoor table on a sunny evening in Vancouver. Server was cute and top notch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingramcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Bursting with good energy and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a superb neighbourhood lunch or dinner place on the south side of Vancouver. Good menu, excellent service but quite noisy. Also has an outdoor patio. Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better bang for your buck elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location of this restaurant is wonderful, but the wine list is limited and the food is nothing to write home about. I ordered the mussels which were terribly underdone (I should have sent them back), my partner ordered the burger. Could have made a better burger at home, but the skinny fries and dips were delicious, I have to say. The end bill was $100 which is a deal for an evening out, but only if you enjoyed the food. Next time, I'll go elsewhere, pay the same or more and enjoy my meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenaM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Average Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Decided on trying out Luke's for dinner based on hearing that they have the best chicken wings in the city, they went as far to say better than Phnom Penh (not the case). We did do an order of each the hot and salt & pepper wings and they were decent but nothing special. The order comes with 8 'wings' (mix of wings and drums) and a blue cheese dressing. We also ordered the skinny fries (normal), yam fries (normal), fried cajun black eyed peas (something different but not my taste - very heavily fried and spiced), and tropical tuna sashimi stack (decent).

Maybe the mains are better? We weren't impressed by any of the appies. We had only order one order of each type of wing to see how we liked it before ordering more but when we did ask for more, the waitress let us know that they were sold out! It was a Friday night and 8pm and the place was by far not busy. It was also incredibly slow to get our food orders. Extremely slow to get our server's attention to order more food or get our bill at the end.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lemonie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“All-round pleasant...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had lunch here again today, probably the fifth time we have been here. As always the service was warm and welcoming. We have had various brunch things on the menu. (We usually come on Sundays). Today my husband had the fish tacos and I had the tuna salad. We have had the Bennies and BELT etc in the past. My tuna salad was excellent, just the right size, an excellent dressing and nice rare, seared tuna. Nice wine list, albeit short. We came with friends today, on other occasions it has been just the two of us. This was the first time for our friends, who were very pleased. When our Quebecoise waitress discovered that one of our friends was from Tokyo, she spoke to her in Japanese. Michiko was so surprised and happy - it was a lovely touch. We love the ambience of Luke's. Thanks!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Corner Bar and Kitchen also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing