We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste and abundant offerings”

American Cheese Steak
Ranked #369 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: West End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West End
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1,555 reviews
933 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Great taste and abundant offerings”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I had steak with no cheese and all the veggies and extras. My wife the classic. Great taste. Great fries, not abundant but ample. The beer was a nice accompaniment. We split the fries and the beer. Then, we ordered a take away pint of the chocolate custard. Yummy as a snack later that evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cheese steak at its best”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great place for a sandwich and onion rings. They have ice cream too. Beer is on tap and goes great with there many varieties of steak sandwiches.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place rocks. Here are the reasons why:

1. The bread is amazing. Most places, bread is an after-thought

2. The fact that hot sauce (which is awesome) and ketchup are serve yourself, really enhances the experience. I can put as much or as little as I want, in my sandwich

3. The poutine is great. Really good gravy, better than across the road (Fritz)

4. The frozen custard is the best 'ice cream' in the city after Bella Gelateria. They don't even advertise it on their website, which makes no sense.

Prices are a tad on the high side. $7 for poutine, after you drop $12 for a sandwich doesn't seem like a good value to me ($19 for a sandwich and poutine). You don't get the service or the atmosphere to justify that price point, you add a drink, and another sandwich for a second person, and you're at about $35, which doesn't make sense for this place. $5 for poutine and $10 for sandwiches would be much more sensible.

Another gripe, is that its cold in there. I don't understand business people who want to sell ice cream (frozen custard) in winter, and think people will want it, when its freezing. Menchie's is brilliant that way, they crank up the heat in winter, so you actually want to have cold dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the cheesesteak, stay for the custard!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The cheese steak options are classic, and all very tasty. They also have decent poutine. But the REAL reason you should visit this restaurant is the fresh custard. They had 6 freshly churned choices, like chocolate mint brownie, peach, or coconut lime. Creamy, smooth, flavorful, and fresh! We had LOTS of ice cream this week and this was our favorite. The service was also very friendly. Great little lunch or dinner stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good value food but lacks atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The food on its own is very good, freshly cooked and good value. The poutine is excellent and the Big Shot and Big Davie are good choices. They do pitchers of Ale which are served in chilled glasses and are refreshing. The only thing that lets this place down is that it lacks any atmosphere and feels more like a take out than sit down and watch the world go by type if place. Go for the food and you won't be disappointed but don't expect anything else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Cheese Steak also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to American Cheese Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing