We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real thing!”
Review of Kent's Kitchen

Kent's Kitchen
Ranked #1,564 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
east anglia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“the real thing!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Found Kents Kitchen after walking through Chinatown - it was lunchtime and the queues were out the door - mainly local people - there were only about 5 europeans but if you want authentic chinese food that the locals eat this is the place. Huge portions and special lunchtime deals ie rice or noodles with a choice of two toppings for $4.50 - we had rice with honey chicken and sweet and sour pork - we found one meal was enough for the two of us. Took about 5 mins to serve us. Very helpful staff - we didnt know what to choose and they went through the food with us. Eat in or take out. Its a bit like a 1970's cafe but the food was amazing - will definitely go back

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastangliantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
283 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Loads of food for cheap!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went to Kent's Kitchen while touring thru China Town in Vancouver on our cross Canada road trip. There are LOT of options in this restaurant. Very much like a buffet system, only you order the number of items.

Generally most people get the rice and/or noodles with some meat options.
Lots of pork, so non pork eaters beware.
There are a lot of chicken and veggie options as well. The taste is good, a little bland tho, but good enough to fill you up completely, for a very good price.

I remember paying 10$ or so for rice + noodles, 2 meats and a vegetable. I thought I would burst open after eating this.

BEWARE of parking, pay for parking and park your car right in front of your eyes. Our car got broken into in this place. We had to drive to Edmonton without a window (taping cardboard) to get the glass replaced. They took tons of stuff from the car. So just be careful!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fahym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large portions for the price!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I just picked up Kent's for dinner yesterday and for a rice and 2 toppings, it's lasted me for yesterday's dinner, today's lunch, and tonight's dinner! All for the price of $7!

I had fried rice with eggplant/tofu and deep fried spicy fish. The eggplant dish was really good. The fish was ok. Kind of bland and too much corn starch.

Nonetheless, I'd go back just because one portion lasts me a few meals!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tictactoeadvises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chinese people eat there all the time”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My brother took me there the first time, and I have been there few more times.

Let me tell you about this place. The restaurant is in heart of Chinatown. Like the other person said, the decor is very basic. But let me tell you about the food.

It is a L shape counter. When you walk in, the food close to you is more colourful and more for North Americans or non-asian people ( not so spicy and less exotic) The farther you go down the L shape, the food is less colourful but is also very good and I noticed older Chinese people eat more from that side. The service is good, few people speak English. The ladies maybe do not smile as much but they are nice. The place reminds me more of a place for locals and workers, but in a good way :)

I have also notice that a lot of Chinese people eat there which is always a good sign for a restaurant. The portions are huge- you can share it for sure, you also get a soup ( very light broth) and green tea for free. The lunch will cost you around $7

The place is clean but basic. It is always busy at lunch time, but the line moves quickly so you don't have to wait long. So if you want to try something new, cheap and eat with chopstick this is the place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 33yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce Mines, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Food at a Great Price”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is a very popular restaurant in Vancouver's China Town. If you are looking for atmosphere this is not the restaurant for you. The decor could not be more basic. There is a very long glass display counter along one wall. A bunch of tables and chairs take up the rest of the space. You take a number from the machine when you enter. While waiting for your number to be called have a good look at everything on offer. You can either buy just your favourites or go for the lunch special which seems to be served all day. You can eat in or take out. Because the portions are huge it makes sense to ask for take out, eat what you want at the restaurant and then take the rest home for the next day. We ate there twice while visiting Vancouver and everything we chose was delicious. The food is fresh and well prepared. One lunch special was sufficient for the two of us. Lunch specials include rice or noodles and a choice of two other items. You can help yourself to tea or water. All this for about $7.00 including tax. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhart60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kent's Kitchen also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kent's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing