We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, good food, excellent beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Biercraft Bistro

Biercraft Bistro
Ranked #329 of 3,704 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Shaughnessy
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, excellent beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a review of the restaurant on Commercial Drive, Vancouver. A hopping place with great service, excellent choice of many world beers especially Belgian. Good pub food but the mussels had too many "failed to open" included. This is clearly a kitchen issue but the server gets the heat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMHBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    42
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Busy spot with lots to pick from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

A cool spot that is under serviced. Takes a while to get a beer, once you do you'll be happy you stuck around! Enjoy the chips that show up on your table, thick kettle cooked goodness.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoubleODave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful range of beers, good food, patchy service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've been to Biercraft several times and the two main reasons are the wonderful selection of beer; and the fact that it's family-friendly.

I personally like to drink local beer on draught, which I can do to my heart's content at Biercraft, but if bottled beer from further afield tickles your fancy, they have even more of those. (They also have other drinks, for the non-beer-drinkers among you.)

The beer is not cheap, but then this is Vancouver, so it wouldn't be. The food is good, and reasonably priced; I particularly like going for brunch. It's not 'wow' food but it is consistently good, although last time we went my friend didn't enjoy her burger. But my eggs on cornbread were delicious.

There's plenty of room inside, and they're happy for you to sit at the bar for a quick drink if you don't want to stay for food. In summer, the small patio outside is a pleasant place to be, even if right next to a busy road.

We've had excellent service and poor service here - I guess it just depends on your server that day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rahvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More then a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I think of a true neighbourhood pub/restaurant I think of BierCraft. The selection of domestic and imported beers is unparrelled. Try the Chimas Blue. The wine selection is also adequate. While the menu isn't extensive the food, presentation and service are excellent.
Whether it is a couples evening out or lunch or brunch with the family I will give this place a 10.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sittingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The beers and food are good, but the service is what makes me always return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have gone to Biercraft Bistro, about once a month since it was Stella's and had to chage the name. The quality of beer selection has and continues to be great. It is one of about 3-5 places that have ever offered a Westvleteren 12(ultra rare, and incredible Trappist beer), as well as local casks, and rotating draught taps.

The Mussels are great even sans frites. My friends and wife love the Miso Gravy Poutine(veggie Friendly).

The Servers are almost always knowledgeable and eager to showcase good beer to go woth the mood that you are in., They have always suggested good beers, and I have only had one server that was not really interested, it could have been an off night.

A tip is that if you sit at the bar, you can often get tasters of draft by request, its good to try before you commit to a 500ml glass of Belgian 10%abv beer.

The side patio is quiet in the summer, and the main patio has a great view north on Cambie of the mountians and City Hall.

I will be going again tomorrow night too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biercraft Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Biercraft Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing