We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”

The Flying Pig Yaletown
Ranked #41 of 3,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Description: We refer to our restaurant as a "nouveau Canadian Bistro"... offering a simple, seasonally inspired menu with fresh, local ingredients at a great value. Our open concept kitchen brings the Chef to your table, delivering a memorable overall dining experience.
vancouver, bc
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Went there last Friday night for dinner. It was busy and we were told it would be an hour wait for two. We decided to sit at the bar and have a drink. We could have eaten at the bar, which would have been perfectly comfortable. The bartender serving us was great. We ended up with a table within a half an hour and enjoyed our dinner and evening very much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    270
    84
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good vibe, good food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Went there last night. Not cheap, but we (four of us) liked what we got. The seafood was especially good. Great service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bicycle_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The executive chef from The Oakwood told me about this place when i was there, by the way its a fantastic spot, and he was 100% right. The place is just cool as the staff. Amber received me and my girlfriend and supported us to order the dishes. We had Shortribs with white cheddar mash, Veal Piccata and the "put# que pariu" Poutines, sorry for that, actually the name is Andrew’s Pulled Pork Poutine and it costs $6, yes 6 bucks for the best Poutine i have ever had, actually, i can't call anything Poutine after that. I will be back soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FabianoBiazetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wild West
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stopped in for supper one evening in September and managed to get a seat right before the rush started. It filled up fast, and appeared to be very popular. We like a window seat but there were only four - two of them looked out on the dumpsters across the street, and the other two looked directly into the faces of the people reading the menu outside. Needless to say, we did not feel like lingering. Hubby enjoyed his fish and gnocchi dish, but I was not impressed with my food. I ordered barbecued salmon with shrimp salad Nicoise. If the salmon had been cooked with some lemony, peppery, dill type flavoring, it would have been fine, but it had barbecue sauce slathered on top.The salad would have been fine on it's own, but the Mediterranean flavors clashed with the barbecue sauce. Also, they forgot the shrimp, so I asked for them - they were tiny and unpleasant in taste and texture. As positives, service was prompt (although I felt the waiter was a touch arrogant), and the wine selection was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoddessT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spot”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We enjoyed the local fare and creative presentation. The pork chop was succulent with a wonderful glaze and pulled pork poutine on the side. The halibut special was wonderful and perfectly cooked. We also were impressed with the staff

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Pig Yaletown also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Flying Pig Yaletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing