We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second time at the hotel and I can add little to the other reviews that cover it all - great views, great location, clean rooms, and one of a kind check-in staff (David). One downside is the morning breakfast - though good, it is a must to come early or you'll get nothing. Upon asking the morning staff if they could refill, the answer was "that's all we have for today". (This really made my Dad angry and he's right, we paid good money and were left high and dry). Therefore, take David's advice literal when he says "come early to get the best pick of the goodies and jams". The seating situation is also suboptimal so be prepared. Despite that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Let us start with a warm welcome back .Thank you for taking the time to let us know what your experience at Lord Stanley was like this last visit.
Our views and location make it hard to pass up an opportunity to stay at Lord Stanley Suites, as you mention.
David certainly is a memorable part of many of our guests stay...as it seems he was for you as well. We're so pleased that your stay was made that much better with his assistance.
As for the complimentary continental breakfast and the lack of it available to your father, this is disappointing to hear and we'd like to say right away how sorry we were to hear of this.
It's our staff's goal to make sure our guests receive top quality service, so when a simple request for some breakfast isn't met with "of course" it's upsetting to us.
The breakfast is served from 7 am to 9 am and it certainly can be a busy time of the day...with that said there can be occasions when guests have eaten all the items that we had brought in for the breakfast that morning.
As we do not have a restaurant or food making service on the property we do have the breakfast catered to us each morning...with what we hope is enough to satisfy our guests each morning.
It sounds like in this situation there may have been nothing left to offer...but perhaps how this was brought to your fathers attention could have been done so in a more effective way...for any misunderstanding on our part we apologize.
When David tells guests that the "Early Bird catches the bagel" sometimes he's sadly correct.
We do look forward to having you back on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    100
    31
    15
    14
See reviews for
80
78
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Lord Stanley Suites. The hotel is located close to Stanley Park and other downtown attractions can be easely reached by foot. Travel from and to the airport, via Canada Line and bus, was also easy. My room was clean and had a good view on Coal Harbour.
The only negative point was that the room got rather warm during the hot sunny days. The air conditioning unit helped but was not able to cool down the bedroom. The temperatue got comfortable again during the evening and night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimion2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lord Stanley Suites on the Park.
You found out for yourself how amazing the views can be and how close we are t ojust about all you could need.
Only a 1/2 hour train ride from YVR airport to downtown Vancouver makes it an easy destination to get to.
The views of Coal Harbor are amazing on any day...but on a sunny day like you had it's doubly beautiful.
The warmth of the suites facing the morning and early afternoon summer sunshine, definitely can get warm if the A/C units aren't turned on first thing in the morning and left to run during the afternoon.
On your next visit if it happens to be during summer let us know and we'll try and assign you a suite without direct morning sunshine.
See you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 1 night but would happily have stayed longer. Would be a perfect suite for a business traveler with a small office space with kitchen and washing facilities. We had a nice view from the 12th floor, the area has plenty of food shops and restaurants, as well as plenty of places to hire bikes. It is only a short bus ride to the waterfront area. Continental breakfast was included which we enjoyed. The gym was pretty basic but had a nice view of the garden and was quiet. The lady behind the front desk was very helpful and gave us directions to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
One night stay...this time but we'll hope to have you back for many more.
The views that you remember will be here waiting for you on your next visit.
You mentioned the proximity to bike rentals, the waterfront these are definitely advantages to staying at Lord Stanley Suites.
The gym is being updated as are our suites and the complimentary continental breakfast...so on your next visit we'll look forward to sharing these changes with you.
Our Front Desk staff are always looking to assist..so it's good to hear the lady at the desk was so helpful and able to offer directions to YVR.
See you next time you visit Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 nite after it was recommended by time square hotel as they were full. Actually didn't know it was there. The rates were very good . I was expecting to pay 250 plus tax and parking and ended up 200$ including tax , parking, & breakfast. Room was looking over the marina. Room had all appliances fridge, stove, dishwasher , and washer dryer. The location was walking distance to great restaurants , Stanley park , ocean and shopping. Clean and convenient. Only down side is it only had a double bed( cozier).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carygranite35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
It sounds like we surprised you with our competitive and affordable rates...always a nice surprise to receive.
We often offer package deals that include parking or discounted parking, wi-fi & breakfast.
The views are spectacular and offer our guests an opportunity to enjoy an afternoon of sitting watching sea planes and ships arrive in our harbor.
Having a fully furnished suite offers our guest a little slice of home away from home.
Since the location is close to large markets and fantastic restaurants it allows a guest to either eat out or cook in.
Some of our suites offer a Queen Size bed so on your next visit please let us know your preference.
See you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Rooms were decent, location was awesome (right on Stanley park by the sea wall). Service was amazing... David Anderson definitely made my stay amazing. Every suggestion he made turned out great, so much that we changed our schedules to do things or go to eat where he suggested instead of where we had researched. Very friendly and welcoming, I would suggest this hotel just because of him.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Our amazing location and fabulous views have once again won over another guest!!
It sounds like you really enjoyed our Manager-David Anderson's Service & Hospitality. David and the rest of our staff strive to offer friendly and helpful service to all our valued guests and it appears that's what you received.
We appreciate the kind words and look forward to having you back on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Loved this hotel in a beautiful section of Vancouver! Clean, efficient & knowledgeable check-in staff (David) and close proximity to restaurants and stores. A walk along the park is a must. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park as the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for letting us know your thoughts about your stay with us at Lord Stanley Suites on the Park.
As you mentioned and noticed upon arrival our location is fantastic!!
Our manager David is certainly ready and willing to assist in any way he can to ensure our guests are looked after as are the rest of the staff.
We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I decided to book the Lord Stanley Suites following reviews I had read online. In spite of the various reviews, it seemed that David, their staff, was very helpful and made everyone's stay special. The exterior photos of the building also looked modern and nice.

The reality though is far different from the review. We did not find David particularly nice or helpful, in fact, he seemed distracted and dismissive. As for the room, it was all chopped up with strange nooks and crannies, a useless "office space" in a boxed in windowless space, the sofa bed once opened was barely 2 cm from the built in kitchen table, paper thin walls, a double bed in the master bedroom and an enclosed balcony turned into a sun room with more furniture. There was no place to move around and we were only 3 in the 1 bedroom unit.

Worst of all, we had a huge portable air conditioning unit (as the apartments have no air conditioning) right by the sofa bed with a hose venting out of an opened window covered up with plexiglass. As the air conditioning unit was very noisy and obviously not capable of providing a/c for the entire 1 bedroom unit, I decided to turn it off. What I discovered next was that the street noise and the open window was far noisier than the unit on. On top of that and because of the crude a/c, the shades were not able to close letting in bright light once the sun came up. The window coverings are a disaster there and so if you like to sleep in the dark, do not book this place. I don't understand what it is with Canada but the three places that we have stayed so far have only shades or shutters that barely cover the light coming in the morning.

The best thing about this stay was the boathouse view and the great location it has next to Stanley Park and the eateries. In spite of that, we will not be going back there anytime. .

Room Tip: Apparently the series of rooms ending with 11 have the best view but our room was great overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageurW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Front Office Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
After reading your review we looked into it with some detail. We found that when our staff were called up to you suite that one of your family members had turned the heat to full in the suite by accident, and turned off the A/C by accident too.
Our staff member did notice the errors you'd made and did politely correct them for you.
It would appear that our staff member was also dealing with other guest's as well as you so that when he'd corrected and showed you what was wrong, he was quickly off to assist another guest.
Since the evening shift works alone, they can't spend too much time away from the Front Desk.
This might explain why you found our staff to be as you put it "distracted or dismissive" as he was on his way to look after another guest.
From reading your entire review it appears that You just didn't enjoy hotels in Canada period...to quote " I don't understand what it is with Canada but three places that we stayed so far have only shades or shutters that barely cover the light coming in the morning"
It's unfortunate that you found your stay to be less than desirable...but perhaps on your next visit to Canada you'll find the suites in Canadian Hotels to be darker than they were this time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,397 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Stanley Suites On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Stanley Suites On The Park

Property: Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Address: The Lord Stanley 1889 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Stanley Suites On The Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Stanley is an apartment hotel in Vancouver’s West End situated next to beautiful Stanley Park. Lord Stanley is conveniently located close to public transportation and to Robson and Denman Streets, where a variety of restaurants and shops can be found and is also within walking distance to Vancouver’s business, shopping and entertainment district. Lord Stanley can accommodate stays from one night to several months in fully furnished one and two bedroom deluxe suites with panoramic water, park and mountain views. All suites feature full kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, full bathroom, wireless Internet connection, office and have either an open balcony or enclosed solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lord Stanley Suites On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park Hotel Vancouver
Lord Stanley Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing