We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing this time- not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing this time- not clean”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Suites a number of times the last few years and my experiences in the past were good but this time was quite disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. Our 1 bedroom appt. was not well cleaned in general and specifically we found: someone's receipts and trash in the dresser drawer, the living room light was burned out, the outdoor furniture was so filthy we couldn't use them before we wiped/scrubbed them down, and when we wanted to cook our steaks we found the grill pan in the oven had been used and left unclean!

Staff were, as usual, very friendly and helpful and did find us a new light and grill pan when we informed them of the issues. The continental breakfast was also good.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSSP_Manager, Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear D P,

We are very disappointed to hear that your suite wasn't in proper order when you arrived. The details seem to show an oversight on our usual standard of cleanliness. As you mentioned in your review, our Front Desk staff did manage to correct the situation quickly and courteously. We are sorry that there was such a situation to deal with in the first place and can assure you that we have taken steps to correct and review our inhouse policies. We look forward to having you return to enjoy the experience you usually receive from Lord Stanley Suites on the Park.

Sincerely,
Lord Stanley Management Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    100
    31
    15
    14
See reviews for
80
78
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've spent the last two months travelling throughout Canada and the Unites States both with my partner and on business. The first stop was Vancouver, Canada. I had never been to Canada before, and had no idea how to get around. When we arrived at the Lord Stanley, we were greeted, and shown to our suite, and it was perfect. Plenty of room, great view from the balcony, excellent bedding, it felt like home. The hotel was very close to the nearby restaurant and shopping districts, which we enjoyed every night for a week. Our evening concierge was David Anderson, and he was excellent. David recommended superb restaurants for each night of our stay, and ensured my partner was able to find the best shops in Vancouver. We were so impressed by the level of service we received, that my partner and I modified our travel plans to stay another week this month, and then for another week again in January of 2013. I highly recommend the Lord Stanley, and if you need any recommendations pertaining to the city of Vancouver, talk to Dave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSSP_Manager, Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Joshua,

Thank you for your detailed review. We are pleased that you found Lord Stanley Suites on the Park to be your home away from home! Our staff make sure that our guests' stay is a memorable one and take the time to recommend restaurants, shops and things to do that are best suited to them. We're glad that our customer service enticed you to return in December. We look forward to seeing you this month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I am here every time I am in Vancouver. I now own a suite in this building. It's very well managed and the front desk staff are always helpful and courteous. The location is a stones throw literally to the harbour and Stanley park. Denman and all its amenities are just outside our door. Yes it's on the quiet part of alberni. No tourists. Just views of the harbour

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSSP_Manager, Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Manium,

Nice to hear that Lord Stanley Suites on the Park is your 'home away from home' in Vancouver. Several guests have become 'owners' in the building due to our convenient location, quiet neighbourhood, fabulous views of Coal Harbour and Stanley Park and our friendly staff, who are always ready to assist. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rented the Penthouse thinking oh la la...this should be lovely. No a/c, H-O-T rooms. Stifling little office. Not impressed to see we had to pay for wifi. Even in the dumpiest, cheapest hotels, there is free wifi. Worst was the cleanliness. Please see the photos. Positively gross!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inonedoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
We dropped the ball on this one and we're the first to admit that this is unacceptable by any standards.
The description you offer regarding the heat in the suite, during the fall season we don't have our A/C units set up and occasionally there can be a warmer day than usual which heats the suite more than expected.
We make no excuses for the photo's you offered as this is certainly not the level of service we offer.
There may be a reason for the suite being in the shape you found it...but not an excuse we'll offer.
We do appreciate you letting us know what and where we fell short...and have since made the corrections needed.
On your next planned visit to Vancouver we hope you'll offer us another opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is not the fanciest place in town but my husband and i have been staying at these suites for years. The staff are lovely, knowledgable and actually chat to you, the beds are super soft and comfy and the location is fantastic, close proximity to public transport, grocery shops and the beauty of Stanley park and lost lagoon practically on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the harbour for amazing views or with a solarium in winter, that way you can f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSSP_Manager, Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Emmaustralia,

Thank you for sharing your comments. Our staff appreciate your kind words. They get to know our repeat and long term guests and enjoy chatting with them. Glad that you find the beds comfortable...many guests agree. We are situated in an excellent neighbourhood with public transportation, shoping and Stanley Park virtually at our front door. Floor to ceiling windows allow our guests to enjoy the spectacular view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was a little bit concerned by the average views for this set of condos, but after 6 days here we are relieved.

The condos themselves are small but clean, and have most mod cons, e.g. Flat screen tv, cable, gym, small continental breakfast, washing machine, dishwasher. Most have permenant residents. The front desk staff are very friendly. The only negative is a weird air con unit for which they have permenantly opened a double glazed window and replaced it with a single sheet of either glass or plastic with a hole in it for the air tube to pass through, resulting in more road noise.

You have a choice whether to pay for the view, and we did 3 days of each. The city view is on a quieter street, and if road noise is an issue go for that. If road noise is of no concern get a harbour view - to die for, city, harbour, montains, Stanley Park, all visible. Just overlooks the main street.

By far the best thing was location - on the edge of Stanley Park, a 10k jog around it, or a stroll through it, the park is a virtual jungle in the interior and there are lakes with beavers, bald eagles, racoons and coyotes. The harbour restaurants were only a short walk away and there is a big Safeway close too. A good start to our holiday.

Room Tip: High and harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrosspoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSSP_Manager, Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Crosspoolsteve,

Glad that your stay at Lord Stanley Suites on the Park was a good start to your holiday. With Stanley Park at our doorstep and restaurants and shopping just blocks away, our location is one of our finest attributes. Our harbour view suites showcase Vancouver at its best: moutains, water and Stanley Park. Windows are double pane glass and for many guests, noise is notan issue. Alternatively, our 'neighbourhood' view is a quieter option. Thank you for complimenting our staff...they are always ready to assist our guests. We look forward to a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Lord Stanley Suites On The Park - Vancouver makes me feel at home at all times. I have no worries or cares while I am here.
This is my third stay here in three years and I will happily return many more times.
The staff - Wendy, Phil, Louis, Eva and David - do all possible to make me feel welcome as well as maintain an immaculate building with the important amenities.
I congratulate Adelina and the housekeeping team as well as Teodoro and the maintenance crew on their excellent job.
I have no complaints, in fact to the contrary. This is a great place and the location is ideal: right next to Stanley Park and downtown Vancouver with a magnificent view of the Coastal Mountains and The Pacific Ocean.
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park is the right place to stay while visiting the majestic Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anselmo_cezario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSSP_Manager, Manager at Lord Stanley Suites On The Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Anselmo,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you feel "at home" during your stay. All of the staff do their best to make our guests feel welcome. We look forward to your return in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,398 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Stanley Suites On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Stanley Suites On The Park

Property: Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Address: The Lord Stanley 1889 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Stanley Suites On The Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Stanley is an apartment hotel in Vancouver’s West End situated next to beautiful Stanley Park. Lord Stanley is conveniently located close to public transportation and to Robson and Denman Streets, where a variety of restaurants and shops can be found and is also within walking distance to Vancouver’s business, shopping and entertainment district. Lord Stanley can accommodate stays from one night to several months in fully furnished one and two bedroom deluxe suites with panoramic water, park and mountain views. All suites feature full kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, full bathroom, wireless Internet connection, office and have either an open balcony or enclosed solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lord Stanley Suites On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park Hotel Vancouver
Lord Stanley Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing