We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“informative and enjoyable”

Fun City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off
Ranked #47 of 163 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“informative and enjoyable”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We saw a lot of advertisements for Big Bus but decided to go with Fun City in the end as they promised us live commentary. I wasn't crazy about their buses as it got too sunny at times (open roof) but after we found the right spot on the bus we were ready to see the city. We we had a great time jumping in/out and the guides were great but their tour guide Jeff was hilarious, it was like having a comedy club right on the bus. We were able to ride in comfort and hear great stories and I must say that Granville Island is a must as they've got so many good places to eat and it really had a unique vibe to it. Just being in Vancouver made us definitely want to come back within the next 5 years.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    18
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dont waste you time or money on this tour bus!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have used hop on hop off buses in many cities to get the feel of the city and see the locations of the highlights. They usually run every 15 minutes and i have never been disappointed. This Vancouver hop on hop off bus was so very disappointing i felt i must write a report. The ticket sellers advertise that they are better than the competitors because of the live commentary. I was excited as i have found you can learn useful information about restaurants etc with a guide right on the bus. This certainly was not the case. We had one guy named Jeff and all he did was complain about having to work 7 tours in one day. He could be quite condescending to customers and really didnt seem to enjoy the job at all. The bus was suppose to be at the stop every 30min. It seemed like we spent all our time ensuring that we were at the stop on time....unfortunately the bus was often late. On the first day the bus was 30 minutes late at the Granville Island stop! We and others had stood at the stop for 40 minutes waiting!!! The guides thought it was funny but when they realized that the riders were upset they said that one of the buses had broke down. The bus was 20 minutes late the next day in Stanley Park and we had started to walk....the driver didnt know what time the bus was suppose to be at the stop and the guide...Jeff again...said that they were tied up in traffic....we had bought a 2 day passes so 90$ total for the 2 of us to wait and wait and wait.....absolutely NOT worth it!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank susan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun tour and very friendly.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our first experience with these guys were outstanding: we had just missed the bus by our hotel (we saw it pull away) and the next one wasn't going to be for another 30 minutes. John (from FunCity) offered to run (jog) ahead to the next stop across shortcut to meet the bus at its next stop - it was maybe a block and half away...he raced ahead and we met him at the stop making sure the bus stopped to meet us. We had purchased a voucher on TeamBuy and they knew exactly how to handle it. The tour guides on this trip and the others we picked up with them during our stay were all excellent and put their own spin on the various facts of the sights of the city.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mjuliennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had purchased a 2 day pass on Groupon and used the buses for two days. The first day, they didn't even bother to check my pass and just let me ride for free. The tour guide seemed lazy and didn't really offer anything of significance during the one complete round. We contemplated just requesting a refund from Groupon since it was a bad experience and they didn't take our passes. However, we decided to give them another try. The second day, we got Jeff and he was a completely different story. He was informative and funny. Make the ride fun. We hopped off at Stanley Park to ride the horse carriage and granville island to walk around. Lucky we got him when we got back. I learned things about Vancouver that I didn't learn from the first guy in one complete loop. The first day, the bus was late at pickup as well but I guess that's to be expected due to traffic in Vancouver. I would say use the Big Bus tour instead as the concierge at Sheraton said Fun City wasn't as reliable as well. The 2nd day was great and they seem rather on time though. So I would give them an average rating as it is hit and miss. Thanks Jeff for making it a fun 2nd day!

Thanks for reading!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not up to the standards we've enjoyed on similar tours”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

There are at least three companies in Vancouver, BC, that offer hop-on/hop-off bus tours of the city. We had a groupon for Fun City and thought it would be a good introduction to that area. Their on-line information is pretty good about where they will meet you and we drove to their Granville Island stop because we were staying in that area. Although their schedule says that they come by every 25-30 minutes, we waited for more than 45 minutes for them to come by. In the meantime, two buses came by the same stop for their competition's tours. When they finally came by, the driver explained "traffic" as the reason for being late, but we kind of figured that if there was traffic slowing things down, wouldn't the previous bus have also been late and we would have caught it a half hour ago? Anyway, their "check-in on the bus" process was pretty easy and, even though we only had a 1-day voucher, they gave us another voucher for the next day, too, because we caught them in the mid-afternoon at nearly their final tour of the day. The buses themselves are okay -- single deckers with a choice of either "partially inside" seats (hard roof over you, but open in the back and roll-down clear plastic windows) or open air seating in the back half of the bus. We started out in the front section (it was a hot, sunny day so we wanted to avoid the sun glare), but the distortion from the plastic windows and solid roof made it hard to see a lot of the things being pointed out. So, we moved further back to the open air area. However, their P.A. sound consisted of a large box speaker sitting on the floor in the row ahead of us and, since it had to be heard throughout the back half of the bus, it was quite loud in our row... so we moved again at the next stop.

Probably our biggest disappointment was in the driver's commentary. Yes, it was the last tour of his day and, yes, he was running late, but he gave only about the same commentary that a talkative taxi driver would on the same route. He just drove us around the route and probably spent more time talking about the safety rules and where the next stop will be than about what we were driving past. Having been on several other similar tours in other cities, we expected kind of a rolling narration of the history of the area, special unique things to notice about what we were seeing, and some fun stories about the personality and tradition of the various sights, but there was very little of this. It seemed that he just wanted to drive us around and get us back to where we started. And, while it was not giving us much of a feeling of safety, we give great credit to the driver's one-handed driving skills in a big bus in a crowded traffic city because his narration microphone was hand-held and he could only have one hand on the wheel whenever he talked! (maybe that's why he didn't say much). Yes, we went over a few curbs coming around corners, but we didn't hit anyone or anything as far as I can tell. Our driver said he's been doing that tour for 28 years. I guess he must be pretty safe or he wouldn't have been there, but maybe he was tired of giving the same tour 4 times a day for 28 years.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fun City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Fun City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing