We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine out Vancouver lunch menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whet Kitchen Bar Patio - CLOSED

Whet Kitchen Bar Patio
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Cross street: 2nd
Description: Located at the Gateway to Granville Island, WHET: kitchen. bar. patio, is Vancouver's newest eating, drinking, and viewing experience. At WHET we focus on using local and organic ingredients in everything we do: Oceanwise seasonal seafoods and Granville island market ingredients like oyama sausage, artesian cheese, island baked breads, and market fresh herbs and spices. We combine a sophisticated seasonal menu with a relaxed atmosphere and panoramic view. Our libations consist of contemporary and modern wine and cocktail offerings which have been created, sourced and refined with a careful mind to stay true to our philosophy of using fresh, vibrant flavours and pairings.We have a wide craft beer selection of both local & international draught and bottled favourites. WHET is open late every night of the week for a glass of wine or cocktail after a show, a late dinner after taking in a famous Granville Island play, or a night out with friends in our cozy and vibrant lounge.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dine out Vancouver lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

good, especially the starters. The main dish, short rib, was good but somehow we felt it could have had a little more flavour.
I have eaten there before and generally felt it good value and they make good efforts to produce a nice variety of food. Service fine though i think they were short of staff for a Monday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jill32dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    17
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here. I loved the selection of local micro brews on tap. For lunch I had the jambalaya. Awesome! Whet is pricy but that comes with the location on Granville Island.

Helpful?
Thank Duane1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Narrabeen, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A quick light lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I arrived at Whet for a quick lunch, we had 25 minutes.

we were noticed after about 20 seconds and taken to a table to review the menu. A few minutes later we ordered a crab cake and a mussels to share, plates were put in front of us within 2 minutes and the food items arrived about 10 minutes later. We were in a hurry, so this was just what we wanted!
The food was perfect, the mussels and sauce were tasty and moreish and the crab cake was all crab.
When we looked for service to receive our bill all we received was a nod of recognition but no bill. We went to the bar for our bill and payment.
I have highlighted some minor negatives because we were in a rush, but for delicious food, if the two offerings we sampled are a good example, I would say to anyone going to Granville Island to open the door to Whet and walk on in and enjoy the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So much potential!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wear your smart casual cute top & dark jeans to this "sophisticated rustic" restaurant at Granville Island. The first time I ate here the food was nothing new, but delicious. Second time, food was still good, but took forever to get to table and we had to walk into theatre late!
Typical North American menu, fish piled on puree, beef brisket on potatoes, beets & goat cheese salad all good. Espresso martini needs some work, but they were great with wine offerings for single glass.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank estylostyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good service, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

had an alright time eating at whet. service is nice. they never turn on the sound for any of the sporting games, and dont have much of a lounge/bar. food is mediocre but the service does make up for it. i would stick to drinks!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whet Kitchen Bar Patio also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing