We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little spot in downtown Van”
Review of Greenbrier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenbrier Hotel
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Atlantic Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A nice little spot in downtown Van”
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We stayed at the Greenbrier Hotel in the last week of June, two girls per room in two rooms, while visiting Vancouver for a conference. What a GREAT spot (at a GREAT price) for taking in the city. The Ritz Carleton it is not, but it served the needs of four young doctors looking for clean and close to everything. It was just perfect and we had a wonderful time there.

The best parts:
1. The hotel itself: Desk guys have their own quirky, slightly goofy, and helpful charm. Mathew, the manager, is frequently around and available, and VERY nice. Each suite has either one or two double beds, a comfy little living area with a couch and cable TV (and ours in room 106 had the most AMAZING view down to the water and north to the mountains!), and a kitchen with fully functional appliances, cutlery, etc. The bathroom was clean and served the purpose.
2. The neighbourhood: a five minute walk to EVERYTHING from Capers (the organic grocery store) to Stanley Park to Miso (this AWESOME sushi restaurant) to the fine SHOPPING of Robson street. Lululemon, Banana Republic, Esprit, the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, M.A.C., and others are within spitting distance. Ten or fifteen minutes on foot in one direction lands you in Yaletown, and in the other direction lands you in that downtown area overlooking the bay.

Things to be aware of:
- The guys at the desk are a hoot, really, but be prepared to be self directed. They have lots of touristy brouchures not a lot of advice about how to find things or get places, eg with public transit. Fortunately, pretty much every second person on the street or in any shop can tell you how to get wherever you want to go. There are detailed tourism brochures everywhere.
- Some of the first floor rooms (I think the odd numbers, eg 103, 105) are on the side of the building against a parking lot and so the windows are barred and a little lacking in view. I'd avoid them if possible.

All in all, the Greenbriar comes HIGHLY recommended. I'll certainly plan a repeat stay the next time I need a spot in Vancouver!

Helpful?
3 Thank NBChrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    70
    32
    43
See reviews for
57
100
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 23, 2006

Great downtown location on Robson street.Good size rooms at fair price.Friendly staff and thanks to Mathew.
Peter
Belfast

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 24, 2006

Economically, The Greenbrier was in my budget as I had an unexpected week of funeral arrangements to look after. Not only was the staff helpful with general knowledge of getting around the city, but they were well aware of my circumstances and showed a genuine care for me as their guest. The hotel is now under new management. I found the rooms and linens extremely clean, and I had a nice quiet room on the main floor close to the desk(room 108). They plan on doing more renovations to the hotel rooms in the future. Matthew and Chris were extremely cordial,and cleaning and maintenance staff very friendly. It reminded me of the old fashion service of years gone by. I, myself was in customer service as an inflight manager with Wardair many years ago. I remember how we truly cherished our customer. I got this feeling at the Greenbrier. Thaks again to all of you!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 21, 2006

seems like the december 21st review was written by the hotel management...seems like the review wasn't from a guest at all!

hotel smelled and the cleaning was bad...not really worth the money..

less noisy than other robson street hotels..

avoid ALL robson street hotels!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 9, 2006

seems like the new manager matthew is looking to better the hotel..so expect better things down the road...
pros: was willing to bargain down on the price, more quiet than other robson street hotels, friendly staff
cons: the hotel smells, cleaning was mediocre (dirty carpets, towels had funny stains, old toilet didn't work at times

i expect big improvements though with the new manager..so i'd definitely stay there again!

not a bad hotel considering vancouver's very poor hospitality industry

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

Very Flexible, Affordable at the center of the Downtown.
Maager Harry, is the right person to talk and get the deal.
Refer him as Pradeep's Friend for attractive deal

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandhya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2005

didn't stay at this hotel because the room was stinking and was a smoker room, which wasn't telled!

the best: NEVER GOT THE MONEY BACK!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#63 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#25 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Hotel

Property: Greenbrier Hotel
Address: 1393 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenbrier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenbrier Hotel is located in the middle the famous Robson Street in Vancouver, just steps away from great shopping and dining. All within walking distance to Stanley Park, Convention Centre, Canada Place, English Bay, and most Vancouver attractions. Friendly front desk staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you with every aspect of your trip, from planning tours, dinner reservations and any other arrangements. Most of our suites are furnished with: pillow top mattresses, kitchenette**, living room*, dining table*, sofa bed*, LCD TV with local channels, complimentary high speed WiFi and free local calls. Complimentary coffee/tea is available in the lounge, daily housekeeping and a secured underground parking***. *Subject to room type **Kitchen utensils and crockery available upon request (subject to availability). ***Available at additional cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Greenbrier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing