We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Twice Before Booking Here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenbrier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenbrier Hotel
Ranked #69 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Moraga, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Think Twice Before Booking Here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend trip to the beautiful city of Vancouver, BC. Unfortunately, our room at The Greenbriar Hotel on Robson Street was anything but "beautiful". When I booked with this hotel, I was enticed by the wording "recently renovated, chic, boutique style hotel" and I was definitely swayed by the pics that were provided of the rooms on their website (I note now that another review posted for the Greenbriar here on Trip Advisor shows the same furnishings and that review was written nearly 5 yrs. ago). When we arrived around 10:30 PM, the first tip that something might be amiss was when the gal at the front desk asked if we would like to pay for our complete stay right then (we have never been asked this by any hotel before ... especially not for a stay of more than 1 night!) ... we of course said no thank you to that question. The next tip that we were in for a bumpy ride was when we were told that our room was located on the 3rd floor and that there was no elevator (there is absolutely no indication on their website that they do not have one). I have to wonder what would happen if someone w/a disability were to arrive at their doorstep only to find that they had to climb 3 flights of stairs to get to their room. When we finally hauled our luggage up the 3 flights and opened the door to our room, we thought "Wow, this is really big!" We essentially had a 1 bedroom apartment (I have since learned that this building was originally apartments). Then we proceeded into the room and that's when we started noticing all sorts of things that were less than desirable, such as: paint peeling from the wall behind the sofa in the living room; frayed carpet at the juncture of the kitchen flooring and the living room carpet; rusted door hinges in the bathroom (although they had hung relatively new doors throughout); paint drippings all over the bathroom floor from the walls/ceiling/baseboards; cracked sink/bowl in the bathroom; no stopper for the bathtub (which meant, showers only ... I actually ended up purchasing something the next day so I could take a bath); no kleenex type tissue in the room; no screens on the windows (although we're told that screens aren't really necessary in Vancouver because they don't have mosquitoes ... I wonder what we wld have done if 1 of the many pigeons that were hanging out on the roofline right above us had decided to walk into our rooms because we had to have the windows open???); a handle on the toilet that was nearly impossible to engage, even for my husband ... for me, it was so difficult to press down that I literally had to use both hands and lean against the wall to gain leverage in order to flush the toilet (side note ... this actually did break completely off on our last night, which necessitated our having to reach into the toilet tank itself to lift the mechanism that allowed the toilet to flush); and an almost inedible "complimentary" continental breakfast offering of dried up bagels, muffins, no fresh fruit, a "juice" that was probably actually just Tang, and coffee (after the first morning, we found a delightful crepery up the street and ate there the next 2 mornings). Truthfully, when I started noticing all of these issues and then walked into the bedroom area, the thought of a potential for bed bugs did cross my mind! (Note: but there were no bedbugs, thank goodness!). In addition, the info online indicated that our kitchenette would be equipped w/a microwave, which it was not. They also stated that there would be cooking utensils, pots/pans, dishes, etc. We actually only found 2 plates in our cupboard and 2 glasses ... there was nothing to cook in or on (the gal at the front desk did mention that if we wanted any of these items we should let them know and they would then give them to us). There was only a small garbage can in the bathroom and no garbage container at all in the kitchen (we were forced to use the small plastic grocery shopping bags for what we wanted to dispose of). There was no rug in the kitchen and no hand towels and/or paper towels either. The only redeemable quality we could find in this hotel was that the front desk staff were all very nice and helpful. And it wasn't like we only had to pay $90 a night for this room (we actually paid $481 for the 3 nights). Bottom line? We left after 3 nights feeling totally ripped off.

Room Tip: I can't think of any reason why I would ever recommend this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    79
    70
    32
    41
See reviews for
54
100
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived in Vancouver late only to find that we had been bumped to a small room at another hotel for the first night. They did, however, check us in the next morning and they upgraded us to a suite with a pretty nice view. All staff were polite, friendly, and helpful. Our suite was clean but only contained 1 small trash receptacle in the bathroom. We loved the location. We were able to walk to the cruise ship terminal at Canada Place with our rolling suitcases. There were many restaurants nearby. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike N Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are so happy to hear that you liked our hotel. We always try to do the best to see our guests happy.
Our hotel is very well located with lots of attractions and restaurants close by.
Thank you for your review/recommendation and we are looking forward to having you here again.

Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alice springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely hotel in top position, friendly staff, huge clean room with kitchen, all for a great price. There is no elevator which could be a problem for some people, however it was no problem for us and we were helped up with our luggage. Our room looked out onto a small park and the windows actually opened, something not often found in hotels these days. Probably the nicest hotel I have stayed in for a while in its price range. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussieas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation/review.
It's very important to us. We are not a 5 star hotel, but we do our best to give a 5 star service to our guests. Making sure that everything is clean and that you will have a comfortable stay.
Unfortunately we do not have elevator but we do have someone to help our guests with their luggage. And our friendly team are always ready to help you.
Thank you again.
Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Pluses:

Good location. Walking distance to shopping, restaurant, seawall, etc. Clean, big spaces. I had a queen bed, a separate living room with a TV, phone, big sofa, dining table, a small kitchen, stove, fridge. No cookware or utensils. Has self safe lock box in room. Free WiFi, signal a bit weak, but works fine In room. Parking under the hotel costs CAN$20 a day. Spaces are tight. Free breakfast: toasts, muffins, sweet rolls, coffee, juice, tea. You can get better breakfast down Robson St. Friendly, helpful front desk staff.

Minuses (not necessarily really bad things):

No elevator.
No TV, phone in bedroom.

This is a no frills, basic, clean, functional, good value hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Higher rooms means less noises from streets, but also means more stairs to go up or down! Rooms away...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipViet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
The Greenbrier Hotel is located on Robson Street. Robson is Vancouver's most famous shopping street, in the heart of downtown Vancouver. You can find great restaurants and lots of attractions close by. At our hotel we do offer a small breakfast in the morning but we also have great recommendations if you are looking for other options or a brunch.
Unfortunately we don't have elevator but there is someone here 24h a day ready to help you with your luggage. We also have street floor that you don't need to use stairs. Our rooms are equipped with a full kitchen and we do have all the utensils at the hotel. We don't put in the room, unless the guest request it and we do tell our guests at the check-in that we can provide it if needed. We are very sorry if it didn't happen.
Thank you very much for your review and we apologize about any problem.
Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at the Greenbrier Hotel on Robson Street for 6 nights. The staff were so wonderful and
the price was so good! Definitely worth the money and more. Plus the Hotel was on Robson and so close to great shopping and just a 10 minute walk to the beach/seawall. I highly recommend staying at this Hotel. Danna and the staff were super friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unknown U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you had a good time at our hotel.
It's always a pleasure to give a good service to our guests and make them feel very welcome, having an enjoyably stay.
Thank you very much for your recommendation. We really appreciate it.
Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a great value hotel with helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are clean and modest. There are more modern/swish hotels available but at a higher cost. Given its location, just to the end of the noise and bustle of Robson, I would happily stay there again next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Try 206 if available. It looks down the street over Coal Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukwrightphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Greenbrier Hotel.
We are a small hotel located on Robson street with lots of great places nearby. As you mentioned the Club Executive Suite are one of the best rooms that we have. A spacious room with a bed in a private room, living rooms area with a pull-out coach that turns another bed and kitchen. Enjoying an amazing view of the coal harbour.
We are happy to hear from you and we are looking forward to have you here again.
Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent three nights at the Greenbrier in mid-July 2012. We had a suite on the third floor and for the price you'd be hard pressed to beat this place. Our room was very clean and nicely fitted out. The hotel's location is brilliant, right at the end of the shopping and dining strip that is Robson Street. BUT this also made for some late night noise from revellers so earplugs came in handy (don't leave home without 'em!) The hotel is also an easy walk to Stanley Park and the waterfront.

In the negative column is that there is no elevator so lugging your baggage to the upper floors can be a drag (pardon the pun). Also, the (free) wifi was a bit weak in our room, which may have just been due to the location of our room. A double bed in our room was a bit inadequate - a queen would have been preferable.

Overall, a good hotel for the money amongst Vancouver's expensive accommodations. the staff too were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away from Robson Street to avoid the noise. Get a lower floor too if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB-GuestServices, Guest Services at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it.
Our hotel is very well located which is so convenient to our guests. Great places around here in a walk distance and a number of things to do, specially summer time.
We apologize for any problem. We try to do our best to to make your stay pleasant. Thank you again.
Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#24 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Hotel

Property: Greenbrier Hotel
Address: 1393 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenbrier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenbrier Hotel is located in the middle the famous Robson Street in Vancouver, just steps away from great shopping and dining. All within walking distance to Stanley Park, Convention Centre, Canada Place, English Bay, and most Vancouver attractions. Friendly front desk staff are available 24hours a day to assist you with every aspect of your trip, from planning tours, dinner reservations and any other arrangements. Most of our suites are furnished with: pillow top mattresses, kitchenette**, living room*, dining table*, sofa bed*, LCD TV with local channels, complimentary high speed WiFi and free local calls. Complimentary coffee/tea is available in the lounge, daily housekeeping and a secured underground parking***. *Subject to room type **Kitchen utensils and crockery available upon request (subject to availability). ***Available at additional cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenbrier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing