We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Greenbrier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenbrier Hotel
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Good value for money. Compared to other hotels in Vancouver this is certainly cheap. Very good location on Robson Street. Nice, large rooms especially the executive suites. Comfortable beds and large TV.
Cooking facilities are minimal and you need to ask for extra stuff at the reception. The breakfast however cannot really be called that. It consists only of a few biscuits and tea/coffee.

Room Tip: Better to have a room facing away from Robson street to reduce disturbance at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RBNBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 301 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here. The good:

- large room
- nice shower with enough power to clean you good
- bed was good with soft pillows
- thick curtains that made the room very dark even at full light outside
- personnel was very helpful

The less good:
- breakfast was bad. Only some muffins, coffee and tea. Would be nice with some toast and orange juice
- hotel was quite old as were the rooms quite dull and gray
- the price was steep for what you got. Would expect free parking at that price ($140)

All in all an Ok place just in the center with only minutes to Stanley park, but some refurbishing would be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donvegardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed there only 2 nights in 1st week of june. Room was huge its like an apartment. Guest service was extreamly helpful not like a 3 hotel. They gave us lots of information about vancouver attractions and arranged for us city tour. Hotel close to everywhere especially stanleypark seawall and lots of nice restaurants. If your budget around 140 per night I strongly recomment greenbrier hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jjhalibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We went to Vancouver for a week with my friends. We found this hotel through hotwire. Our hotel staff was very friendly and concerned about us. Room was very big and clean. We weren't expected this big room in downtown. It is like an apartment.
The breakfast was enough, and it is include the room price. I have checked other hotels but it is extra $20 for breakfast. For us the most important thing was clean, quite room and helpful staff and we got all. Thanks Greenbrier Hotel and all their staff, they even planned our days in Vancouver, so we saw all wonderful places there. Definetely we will come back and tell our friends.
Cheers,
PC

Room Tip: Great staff, big and clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PNR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Best things is renovated hotel, excellent staff and location. Our luggage was lost by flight company, I felt terrible at airport. However hotel staff was very helpful they organized and followed our staff. We stayed there 4 days and had a huge suite. Definitely I suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stmalo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Firstly, has no air conditioning or elevators...Got my room for two nights stay through hotwire, which had promised a suite. i also placed a request for room on main floor. When I got there, they gave me the smallest room with dirty washrooom right next to the reception. They said there was no other room available. I asked the front desk clerk at night if they could change my room the next day, and he promised as long as I was ready before 11 am in the morning. Next morning, the supervisor, Sam was there, who changed the story and said that a suite room would cost me $20 + taxes extra., and that if i had a probem about the room, i should contact hotwire. I was really annoyed at his behaviour and his customer service skills. Finally, the other receptionist at the hotel, Sarah, sympathized with us and got us the room we wanted at no extra charge. Sam is a crook and Sarah should be the supervisor instead. Be sure to deal with Sam carefully and get everything in writing. Also the continental breakfast offered is horrible. There are other hotels nearby that offer good prices as well, so avoid this if you can.

Room Tip: get everything in writing. Talk to Sarah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djZ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB-GuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Sir / Madam

First of all thank you very much for your review.I have already sent a quick email regarding to our upgrade procedure about your free upgrade request. According to our contract with Hotwire, they never emphasize the room type on their reservation list. The way hotwire working is they sell the last rooms in the property with very discounted price. If you would like to have an upgrade, guest needs to make arrangements with front desk at the time of check in. Even though your booking was not able to get you a complimentary upgrade, Sarah and Sam was kind enough to arrange a new suite for your stay on your second day.

It is true that unfortunately we do not have any ACs in the rooms however we do provide fans upon request during the any time of year and we never promote that on our website or anywhere else we do have ACs in the room.

Yes we are only three floor hotel and we do not have elevators too but our courteous front desk staffs are always willing to help you with your luggage. Your both rooms are on the first floor as you requested, I don't know why you had to use stairs during your stay ?

During your check-in I was at the desk and I did not get any complain about your room was not clean enough. If you had informed me in timely manner I would definitely arrange some other options for you to choose.

Sam and Sarah are both valuable staff in our team. All room changes and upgrades need to be authorized by me. Thank you very much for your supervisor suggestions, we will definetly consider about it in the near future, however not having a complimentary upgrade from Sam does not make him crook, or getting upgrade trough Sarah not enough to make her supervisor.

As I mentioned on my previous email, Hotwire never offers continental breakfast included the room rate. If you have confirmation from hotwire regarding to this matter, please send the confirmation you have and I will get a compensation trough Hotwire for you. Beside those we do have some snacks during the morning time such as croissants, muffins, bagels, tea and coffee as a complimentary base for all of our guests.

Thank you very much for your valuable review, we will keep to offer great value for our future guests in the middle of downtown Vancouver.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

i stayed there 3 nights. Hotel was in very good location , right middle of downtown. it was close to everywhere ( night clubs , restaurants , shopping etc.). Also price was a pretty good considering other hotels around. I dont know about other rooms but the room i stayed was pretty big for a hotel room and it was very clean which is most important thing for me.Also people who works there were very friendly to me , it helped me a lot in the . Thanks to Greenbrier. it was very green and friendly :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JayJayAlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB-GuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Greenbrier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Greenbrier Hotel. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Vancouver. We will keep to offer great value with exceptional service and friendly guest relations in the middle of Downtown Vancouver.

We would like to see you again during your next stay in Vancouver.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
428 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#69 of 92 in Vancouver
524 reviews
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#81 of 92 in Vancouver
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,873 reviews
West End
Gec Granville
Gec Granville
#63 of 92 in Vancouver
213 reviews
West End
English Bay Hotel
English Bay Hotel
#77 of 92 in Vancouver
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Hotel

Address: 1393 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $91 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenbrier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenbrier Hotel is located in the middle the famous Robson Street in Vancouver, just steps away from great shopping and dining. All within walking distance to Stanley Park, Convention Centre, Canada Place, English Bay, and most Vancouver attractions. Friendly front desk staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you with every aspect of your trip, from planning tours, dinner reservations and any other arrangements. Most of our suites are furnished with: pillow top mattresses, kitchenette**, living room*, dining table*, sofa bed*, LCD TV with local channels, complimentary high speed WiFi and free local calls. Complimentary coffee/tea is available in the lounge, daily housekeeping and a secured underground parking***. *Subject to room type **Kitchen utensils and crockery available upon request (subject to availability). ***Available at additional cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Greenbrier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing