We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Town, Great Service”
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2006

I am a frequent visitor to Vancouver and have been rather underwhelmed by the choice in so called 5 star properties. The Opus Hotel definitely hits the mark. Located in trendy Yaletown within walking distance of shops and many restaurants the hotel is the height of hip luxury in Vancouver. Unlike a lot of boutique hotels this one manages to offer trendy environs without coming off as ridiculous. The uniformly attractive staff offer no attitude only service.Elixir the house restaurant is one of the best in Vancouver, which is no small feat. There is a 7 series BMW to drop you off downtown and doormen who actually open the door and refer to you by name. Supposedly this hotel is a celeb haunt but we saw none when we were there. We did see families, dogs, and all sorts of people who appeared to be having a good time. Laundry service, room service, bell service, all first rate. The rooms are all a bit different in decor, and will not be to everyone's taste (our was lime green!) but it adds to the fun. Great business center, very good fitness room, and overall the best we have experienced in Vancouver. If they have space, I will never stay elsewhere. One drawback is there is construction outside for the new rail line but we did not find it overly noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank Drewmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,219)
There are newer reviews for Opus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,083 - 2,089 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2006

Ok, I'm not a rock star by any means, but this place made me feel like I was one! We had an amazing 3 night stay at the Opus during a recent trip to Vancouver. The hotel is in Yaletown, which is full of fun shops and restaurants, and a stone's throw from most everything in Vancouver. Our room was bigger than we expected, it was one of the red themed rooms with a huge bathroom. It was hip and modern without being pretentious - ok, the huge glass wall in the bathroom might be a bit much for some, but you do have the option of pulling the curtains! The staff, in addition to being very good looking, was top notch. We felt welcomed and well cared for - from dinner reservations to shopping recommendations to biking routes - these folks were ready to help us make the most of our short trip. We loved Vancouver and plan to come back and will definitely book at the Opus again. Make sure you stop and have a drink in the lobby bar - you will definitely be able to try out your rock star act!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bplatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

We stayed at the Opus in September 2006. We were attracted by the fact it had been named as one of the 100 best hotels in the world etc etc. The design is nice but it is overpriced for what you get. We didn't stay in a standard room but the next one up, it was the most expensive hotel we stayed in in Canada yet the smallest room and worst experience over all. The staff were pretty helpful and the evening turn down service was good though we were furious to get woken up at 7.30 am the day we were checking out when the hotel called our room about a credit card problem which was their error. The location in Yaletown is not great - there are lots of bar/restaurants but nothing else like shops etc and it is a fair way to walk to shops etc. Also, there is a huge construction prject going on right outside which is really noisy during the day. The bar/restaurant was poor value for money. Overall, it was not unpleasant but I wouldn't stay there again Comparing what we paid and other hotels in Vancounvrer, we could have had a better experience elsewhere. We previously stayed at the Blue Horizon on Robson Street which was cheap and cheerful but a much better hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Traveller555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed here for three nights as part of a two week trip to Canada. This was the trendiest place we stayed, but the staff were still friendly and helpful (including sending my jacket to the UK, which I left behind). Overall it lived up to the reviews from others on this site.

We had no problem with noise (which others have mentioned) but be aware that Davie Street is closed off for the building of a new train station - the Opus is a far as the road goes. The hotel provided ear plugs, but we didn't need them even though our room faced the street.

The bathroom was unique, with ceiling to floor windows making up the outer "wall" - not for the shy (don't worry blinds are provided!)

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank P'n'Gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Was in Vancouver on honeymoon and stayed in the Opus. What a hotel! Superb staff & service, wonderful Yaletown location and modern contemporary design. We particularly loved the room we had with the unusual outside-facing bathroom. Very different. All-in-all we had a great 3 days stay there and would highly recommend the Opus.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Monea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

We moved to the Opus after a horrendously disappointing evening at the Four Seasons, and what a change. The Opus is big on over-the-top design and decor (loud furniture and music and odd colors etc), which usually isn't my thing, but we didn't mind too much. We got a suite, and it was very nice and actually rather large. The absolute best thing about this hotel is the location in the heart of Yaletown - so much better than being in the financial district, I think. The neighborhood is filled with upscale bars and restaurants, and it was great to be within a stone's throw of it all. It's still close to everything else you'd want to see and do, but you feel a little bit more like a local in this part of town - highly recommend it.
But the construction that is going on right outside on Davies Street is very, very annoying - and it is expected to go on until the Olympics (in 2010?). They're gutting the street to put in a subway, so it's no small project. Really too bad, because it comes close to ruining the hotel. Thankfully we are early risers - if you're not, you shouldn't go, because they start promptly at 8am, and it is loud. Maybe it's better on the other side of the hotel though - we were directly above it on the 5th floor. If you're a light sleeper and want to sleep in or nap, you probably shouldnt go unless they can guarantee a room away from the work - don't let them tell you that the windows are sound proof. I'm sure they blocked a lot of the noise, since they were actually ripping up concrete, but you could still hear plenty. Really too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed at the Opus for just one night but that was enough. The hotel is high on design which was why I picked it but it lacked any substance. It did not compare favourably with boutique hotels I have stayed in in other parts of the world. Neither the check in staff nor the concierge were particularly helpful and the lobby and bar area were totally lacking in atmosphere. The room was on the small side and too dark. In order to let light in one had to have the blinds of the bathroom open. This is slightly problematic as the bathrooms face the street and have wall to ceiling windows so there is a privacy issue if the blinds are open. I would not return here in a hurry but I fear that there is no where much better to stay in Vancouver.

5  Thank dblacksam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,073 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,593 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
2,630 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $216 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2017. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing