We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smack Dab In The Middle Of Yaletown!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Smack Dab In The Middle Of Yaletown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were in Vancouver for an 80th birthday celebration at Ciopinno's. We actually drove right past the hotel at first - it's pretty nondescript from the outside (just another high rise in downtown). Thankfully our stay included the complimentary valet - because once we off-loaded the bags and the car was whisked away - we had no need of it until checkout.

High heels were no problem since going from the hotel to Ciopinno's was about a block. There were plenty of bars and restaurants along the way so we took advantage and enjoyed a pre-celebration cocktail.

The Opus couldn't have been in a more convenient location! The lobby was super-chic and the room was just as advertised - small but very comfortable. We especially liked the over-sized shower with full window into the room (also allowing natural light into the bathroom). The mattress and linens were dreamy and every little detail was attended to including the extensive mini-bar selections.

The hotel is hardly inexpensive, but when you factor in cabs, parking, location it was surely worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly_Golightly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    315
    75
    21
    17
See reviews for
148
807
171
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I chose to spend last Friday night at the Opus, rather than driving home after a late-night anniversary celebration. It was our first time staying at the Opus, and we had no preconceptions prior to our arrival. What a lovely surprise! At check-in, we were offered an upgraded King-bed room on a high floor, which featured a rainfall shower, but unfortunately, no bathtub. I mentioned my preference for a bathtub to the desk agent, who quickly found a courtyard room with a bathtub, and fireplace! On our way out to dinner, we were presented with complimentary glasses of sparkling wine, which we enjoyed in the chic lobby lounge.

I was very impressed with the room amenities, especially the in-room ipad which was loaded with useful applications for exploring the city. If you choose to take the ipad with you off-property, it features network connectivity, so you don't have to rely on splotchy wi-fi hotspots.

All-in-all, a very nice experience!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard, so there was zero street-noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I travel a lot for work (and play) and have had the good fortune of staying at some of the world's top properties. I was recently shooting a commercial in Vancouver and really enjoyed my stay at the Opus more than most business hotels. Friendly staff. Ample-sized rooms with big windows (that actually open) and big views from the top floor. My clients kept raving about how comfy the beds and pillows were, too. Free wifi and free continental breakfast that I would happily pay for. Great location in Yale Town with coffee shops, restaurants, shops and a little grocery store nearby. Loved the free bikes, too, and my morning rides around Stanley Parl.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyj415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear kellyj415

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at OPUS, and for then passing on your feedback. We loved hearing the various reasons why you and your clients enjoyed your OPUS experience, and will ensure that your comments are passed on to the entire team! We truly hope your commercial shoot went well, and will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for either business or pleasure in the future!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at the Opus for three nights on a business trip and it was perfect. We had a very busy schedule, which left limited time for sightseeing, but the Opus was so conveniently located that we could access the waterfront and ferry to Granville Island in a couple of blocks. My room was spacious, clean and inviting, high end bath products and shower. The continental breakfast that was part of my package included much more than typical, at least in the states--hard boiled eggs, cheese, several homemade pastries, homemade granola, fruit, etc. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. They gym was a little small and sparse, but serviceable. I would definitely stay there again for business or vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This boutique feel hotel was great location. Easy access to walk and to train. Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Lovely staff - helpful and professional. We could not have asked for anything more. This is where I will be staying next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettieellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Clean, modern hotel in a good location. It was a perfect for the first destination of our journey, as we were looking for a comfy place to relax. Our room was perfectly clean with plenty of space. What was not as we expected it to be was the front desk service/concierge as well as the breakfast. For the price paid we would have expected a broader variety of food. When we asked for late checkout the evening before checkout they told us that we had to wait for an answer until the following day. btw, we were only requesting for 1 additional hour. we then asked for advice on how to get to seattle. luckily one of the employees had a personal experience he recomended, otherwise they had no clue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Simoness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Hans_Simoness

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and for then taking the time to send along your feedback. We loved hearing how much you enjoyed our rooms and location! We do want to apologize that we were unable to confirm your late check out request until the day of departure. Late check outs can be quite challenge when the hotel is busy, like it was this past weekend. You will be happy to know that our new Summer menu is being rolled out later this month, and will feature a greater variety of menu options to choose from. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com in the future, and I would be happy to assist in anyway possible. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments, and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to OPUS!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Vancouver (downtown) and the Opus Hotel is by far the best one. Great service, beautiful decors and stunning rooms. It's a wonderful experience from the moment you walk in the door to the moment you leave. I recommend this hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Property: Opus Hotel
Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2015. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2011 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2010 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing