We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic rooms”
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2008

i love this hotel, I have never seen a rooms with this style and love for details. It was great. Service was excellent. The Gymnastic room was crowded with machines and with no charme, and for the price I have payed, I would expect an breakfast included, but i can really recommend it. perfect for singles, couples...

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travelman245b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,187 - 2,193 of 2,390 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at the Opus for one night, and for anyone looking to book in the coming months (or year) I would double check that the massive construction project taking place directly on the doorstep has completed (they're building a tramline to connect the airport with downtown, and this will run right outside of Opus). Although assured that no one who stayed in our room had ever complained of the noise (we were on the 7th floor), we were woken up at 7am by jackhammers that sounded as if they were in the same room. Breakfast in bed was late and cold, which just made our moods that morning worse! For over 400 CAD per night, I think it's overpriced...the amenities (Frette bathrobes, CDs in the room, ipod dock) don't make up for the small room and noise. The staff were, in general, nice and helpful though. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WestKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We were any hotel's worst nightmare on arrival. The first room we got had a bath - not good for my husband so we asked for a different room. We returned to the second room after lunch to declare the bed too small and finally ended up in a 3rd room with separate shower and bath. Through all of this the staff were unfailingly courteous and we ended up in a really good room at minimal extra charge.

As for the location! Well, we loved Yaletown. The restaurants were great, the ferry was within walking distance and there were lots of great little boutique shops all around. The work on the new railway link nearby is ugly but not intrusive.

The hotel was a good base for sight seeing and my husband used the hotel's free car service to get him to a business meeting in double quick time. Too cool for school.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Incredible experience
Staff was very well informed and extremely helpful
Best location for best restaurants and shopping
Ammenities were just about anything you could want
I want to go back just to stay at theOpus
Great food and bar

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Talbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Great little boutique hotel w/stylish rooms, friendly/helpful staff & in close proximity to trendy dining area & coffee shops.
The rooms aren't huge but they are tastefully designed. Bathroom was spacious & featured wall to ceiling windows. Make sure to use the privacy blinds as the neighbors truly can see in the windows.

We were a little skeptical about noise at first given that there is some construction going on nearby & after we heard that the hotel's bar/restaurant is a popular nightspot. Neither posed a problem. That being said, we were certainly in the minority as we were traveling with an infant. Most guests appeared to be youngish couples w/the occasional business traveler. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we requested a crib in the room that they not only provided the crib but a baby toiletry bag & baby book. Thoughtful touches.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at the Opus. Everyone that we encountered was genuinely nice & helpful, the room was stylish & comfortable, the location was just right and the price was very fair given what we got for it. I expect that we'll be back to Opus on our next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jagoda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I'm torn. On one hand I liked the Opus for its convenient location, comfortable room and friendly staff. On the other hand, I could barely stand the pretention and wannabe-hipster vibe. I appreciate interesting design, and I'm all for a hotel trying to fit its neighbourhood, but...elevators bathed in red and blue floodlights? C'mon. I've stayed in plenty of hotels, like the Gault in Montreal or Le Germain in Toronto that ARE cool, without resorting to parlour tricks like that. I appreciated the function, comfort and design touches (like the Aeron desk chairs and raindrop showerheads) of the hotel but I found it hard not to snicker at all the awkward attempts to be funky.

Two issues I had: 1) if you stay on the 2nd, or even 3rd floor, expect street noise. We live in downtown Toronto and are used to it, but on Saturday night at 2AM there were literally people outside our window having screaming contests. Ask for a high floor. 2) Charging $14.95/day for an internet connection is ridiculous. For a hotel that claims to be cutting edge, that's some pretty 2002 thinking. If you stay here and you need to check your email or do a web check-in, just go down to the business centre on the 2nd floor. It's free.

I would happily recommend the Yaletown neighbourhood to someone visiting Vancouver, but I don't know if I'd recommend this hotel to most people. I like boutique hotels, and recommend them often, but this isn't one.

Nearby: Yaletown's a great neighbourhood to stroll around. You can borrow bikes from the hotel, or rent them at the bottom of Davie Street, and bike along the waterfront...or walk, or rollerblade. It's easy to get to the other side of downtown as well, with all that entails, or to get to Stanley Park & the seawall, etc., etc.

Restaurants: the restaurant in the hotel seemed ok (we only had breakfast there) but the hotel bar itself was trying desperately hard to be trendy. If sitting on bean bag chairs and drinking cocktails bathed in purple light is your thing, then this is the bar for you. If not, there's a great brewpub around the corner on Mainland, or lots of nearby places in between those extremes. Same goes for food...you can easily walk to anything from a sports bar to thai to italian to a Rob Feenie restaurant, or take a cab to everything else. Vancouver's limitless when it comes to good food. Also, Yaletown has just as many coffee shops as other Vancouver neighbourhoods (if not more) and there's a great grocery store near the foot of Davie Street.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Hotel is just lovely. We liked absolutely everything. Room was bueatiful, modern, cosy, well equiped (plasma tv, ihome, mini bar very well stocked with a vairety of drinks and snacks, l'occitane toileteries). Stuff was very friendly, nice, helpfull. There's free internet , free bikes, lovely lounge/bar area and the location is great for exploring the city. After a whole day of hopping around the city, we coulnd't wait to get back to the room :) we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank journeys4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,067 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,855 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,599 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $215 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2017. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing