We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience!”
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“An amazing experience!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Opus was my choice of accommodations for my big proposal day to my (now) fiancé!
Prior to making my decision, I inquired at many other hotels and all of them would make a huge hassle of the special requests that I made, which I felt was unnecessary.

The staff at Opus was wonderful enough to make every single detail just the way I wanted. When we walked in to the lobby's front desk, we were greeted by a very friendly staff who helped do a late check in. The first thing we noticed was the very modern interior décor; it was very obvious a lot of work was put into the details of the design.

With the keys promptly handed to us, we were on our way to our room. A special thing I noticed was that the 2 elevators across from each other had different lighting! It was a nice touch to the uniqueness of the hotel.

We were staying over at the executive suite that night. The moment we walked in, the music which I had requested welcomed us. My special request for fresh rose petals leading from the door to the bed was all ready for us. The bed had also been decorated with fresh rose petals with a heart in the middle. (cheesy, I know, but the girl loved it) An extra touch was added as they also put fresh rose petals in the bathtub, which I hadn't thought of. Our bags were pre-emptively delivered to our rooms upon arrival, as my fiancé had no idea we were staying over that night.
The bottle of icewine I had wanted was also set on the table.

Even with so many requests, opus had taken care of every single one without any problems! I had such a wonderful stay, and I'd definitely come back again for our next special occasion.

I'll just make some coles-notes because I'm terrible at writing reviews:
-beddings included soft egyptian cotton sheets
-heated floor tiles in the bathroom
-handsoap, moisturiser were from L'Occitane
-iPad was docked in the room ready for complimentary use with free wifi
-Samsung Galaxy S3 was also available
-bathrobes available for use
-great little adjustable reading light attached to the bed

Overall, I highly recommend Opus, especially if you're wanting to make this a special night for a special someone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Danny J, firstly we wanted to pass along a big congratulations for your recent engagement! Thank you so much for choosing OPUS Vancouver to be part of your very special day. We love to hear how impressed you were with our staff and their personalized service, and will ensure to pass your comments along. Hopefully we will get an opportunity to welcome you both back to the hotel in the very near future; perhaps to celebrate another special occasion! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,694
    353
    76
    21
    18
See reviews for
178
889
179
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a great experience. Booked online, on expedia everything was taken care of so it was seemless when we arrived. We stayed there two separate nights on our trip and so experienced it on two different days. Clean, modern rooms with a funky vibe and decor but not over the top. Turndown service with a little piece of candy (old school Popeye candy sticks and lollipops) and water left at the bedside was a nice touch and original. Ipads in every room for guest use.
The valet service was really nice, reasonably priced and were very friendly (even as we one time had to have them bring the car around because we forgot something in one of our bags). It was always fast and efficient and made us feel pampered!
Location in Yaletown can't be beat.
Overall we had a great stay (twice) and would highly recommend as well as re-book next time we are in Vancouver

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Heather768, thank you very much for choosing OPUS Vancouver and for sending along your comments. We have had lots of fun with providing a different retro candy for each night of the week during turndown service, with the Popeye candy being very popular! I will ensure your comments regarding the friendly service you encountered from our Valet Department are forwarded along to them. We will look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us, at which time please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites, which we were upgraded to on a recent trip (Feb 2013). From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIP's champagne on arrival, assistance with places to visit, restaurants to try. One of the front staff even drove us to the Aquarium one morning.
The suite itself was fantastic. Split into different areas (Reception, Living Area, Bedroom, Bathroom and Wardrobe) we had difficulty in finding each other sometimes!
If you are in Vancouver and need a place to stay, this is it. Fabulous hotel, great staff and you are in the centre of everything. Yaletown is the place to be! Lots of quriky shops, bars and restaurants.
Thank you Opus, we will be back!

Room Tip: Try for one of the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vickiandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Vickiandrich, thank you very much for choosing OPUS Vancouver and for sending along your comments. We were happy to see how much you enjoyed our location and service, but most of all how you felt like a VIP! We will look forward to making you feel that way again for your next stay at OPUS. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com

Sincerely,
Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've been wanting to stay here at the Opus for awhile now and finally, I had the chance to do just that.

Booking the hotel however, was a bit annoying as I was told I should contact a specific person at Opus. I called them multiples times and left at least 1 voice message but never got a response. I ended up waiting until the last minute to just book a room normally. I was then told the person I was trying to contact was away. Still, I think a simple call back or a message stating they were not available or were away on business would have been nice. There's nothing worse than waiting on an answer... know what I mean?

Anyways, upon entering, we immediately noticed the very cool decor. It definitely has this boutique feel which my girlfriend and I both loved. We both equally loved our room too. The bathroom was nice and spacious, as was our room which had a couch. I loved the snacks we were given too, along with an iPad!? Yeah that's right, our room had an iPad!!! I'm not sure if this was a normal amenity but it certainly was one of the coolest things i've seen in a hotel.

Overall, we really liked it here and the front desk people were very helpful! Even when we had an issue with our access card. They also gave us a tip on the air spray that was used in the hotel. This hotel smelled soooo good, we just had to ask.

One final note, I would have rated this hotel as Excellent, had the booking been a bit smoother.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid the low floors facing Davie street as it can get a bit loud at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Fred F thank you very much for choosing OPUS, and for sending along your comments. I would like to firstly apologize for the challenges you encountered in getting through to our reservations department. I have already spoken with our Reservations Manager regarding the details you forwarded along, to ensure we take any corrective action. We were pleased to see how you enjoyed your overall stay, and especially how the iPad added to the OPUS experience. For your next trip back to Vancouver, if you could contact me directly at ngandossi@opushotel.com, I will ensure your reservation process is a smooth and efficient one. Thank you again for choosing OPUS, and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed overnight for a business function. The bar/restaurant was a lovely nightspot and the food was superb. The room is cool although the LCD TV (32") could be bigger. The shower head in my room #204 was broken so it wasn't much fun. The catered food was excellent as was the service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TequilaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear TequilaVancouver, thank you very much for choosing OPUS and for passing along your feedback. We were very pleased to hear how you enjoyed the cuisine at our new northern Italian restaurant, La Pentola, and will ensure your comments are communicated to the Kitchen. We did want to at the same time sincerely apologize for the faulty shower head, which should never have happened; and has been addressed with our maintenance team. Hopefully your business or personal plans will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to OPUS Vancouver in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had room 704, a suite, and it was amazing! The fireplace was warm and cozy. The jetted tub with the wall of windows was very sexy. The CD player & iPad were great touches. The bed was truly heavenly.

From the moment we were greeted at the front desk we were spoiled and didn't want to leave.

We will never stay anywhere else when in Vancouver!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great hotel, luxe feel, right in the heart of happening Yaletown. We stayed on the seventh floor in their newly renovated King room. Nice space with balcony and super mod shower. The service in the hotel is also lovely. Everyone friendly and helpful. Highly recommend it for a romantic get-away or any other stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,812 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,572 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Property: Opus Hotel
Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2017. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2016 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing