We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A must stay in Vancouver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opus Hotel
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A must stay in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Opus Vancouver is a fantastic, well located hotel in Yaletown. Our room was generous in size and very well appointed. Very hip lobby bar, and the restaurant located in the hotel was world class!
Service was very attentive, and seemed to be everywhere, I will definitely stay here again and recommend Opus to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuestWindows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    299
    74
    21
    16
See reviews for
140
765
164
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Opus Hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Vancouver. The location in Yaletown is superb with a lot of restaurants and small shops around. The CBD is also in a walking distance. I liked the lobby design, colorful and contemporary. The corridors very painted in boring brown, and the difference between them and i.e. my room was huge. I loved my room. It was spacious and comfortable with a complimentatry use of an ipod. But the best part was the bathroom with huge windows facing the street. To be honest, the bathroom windows were the only windows in the room. But there were sliding doors of glass to give light to the room. The service was very friendly with some details I have never met before. Every evening I got a jar of drinking water on the table beside the bed. And to my huge surprise, I was addressed by my family name by a cleaning lady when she came to clean my room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAJORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear JAJORI, thank you very much for choosing OPUS Hotel for your recent trip to Vancouver. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, and will ensure that the entire team is aware and acknowledged for their great service, especially housekeeping! Hopefully we will get another opportunity to impress you in the very near future and welcome you back to OPUS. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance, at ngandossi@opushotel.com

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

From the moment I arrived outside, I was taken care of. More precisely, from booking to check out, I enjoyed the entire experience. Everyone from the hotel was professional, knowledgable and eager to ensure that I was looked after. As funky as Opus is, it is made even better by the people who make being there an "experience"! What a great place to stay and I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just spent a weekend in Vancouver to see two concerts; Paul McCartney and Bruce Springsteen. This Yaletown location was walking distance to the arena/stadium, the waterfront taxis for Granville Island, Gastown, shopping and restaurants. The staff was beyond accommodating and they gave service with a smile. The in house restaurant, LaPentola, was also great. We were able to take a quick train ride to get to the hotel from the airport. The station stop is just across the street from the hotel! Rooms were comfortable and modern.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff were very friendly from the front desk all the way to the cleaning staff in the halls. The facilities are very stylish with more perks than your average hotel. With the wide price range, it is very easy to find good value for your money. We definitely had a pleasant stay.

It was a bit hard to find at night though so I recommend looking it up with Google street view before heading out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkazuhiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear davidkazuhiro, I wanted to thank you for choosing OPUS Vancouver, and for posting your feedback. I will ensure your comments applauding our staff's friendliness will be passed along to the entire team! You mentioned Google Street view in your posting, so you may be interested to know that Google has added a new feature on their street view that includes virtual tours going inside specifics buildings. We thought it would be a quick and easy way to get people more familiar with the property, and have now added tours of our lobby and guest rooms. Thank you again for taking the time to post your thoughts, and hopefully we will get an opportunity to welcome you back to OPUS in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I reserved a block at the Opus Hotel for a business trip. The rooms are beautiful, and very well attended. Really friendly staff. Lots of fun restaurants and shops within walking distance-- which was awesome because we didn't know the area. Also, the ferry to Granville island is a block away and made for a fun trip. I'd recommend upgrading if you're bringing kids, as there isn't much room for a crib in the standard room.

Room Tip: Suites are well worth it-- especially if you're bringing kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxJax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

In a nutshell, the hotel is in Yaletown close to the waterfront, across the road from the SkyTrain station, and a number of restaurants. The staff were very nice but overall the hotel seemed like it might have been hip and trendy 5 years ago but not anymore. The room had a terrible odor everyday like an old peoples home and felt dated. The view was directly in to an apartment in the neighbouring building (my friend was looking into a dental surgery). The restaurant food and dinner options are terrible.

Location: In the heart of Yaletown close to lots of restaurants, the theater, waterfront, and Skytrain. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to other shopping areas such as Robson Street. Stanley Park is about a 20 to 25 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride.

Room: The rooms are of an average size and have a king size bed. It was decorated with different coloured furniture and there is a window with blinds through to the bathroom. An ipad is provided in the room. The flatscreen TV on the wall was very dated like the decorations. Bed and pillows were average. You can hear other doors slamming in the hallway.

Bathroom: Standard bathroom with a decent shower - water pressure was good. Strangely, the coffee maker makes it home in the bathroom. The shampoos and body wash provided are from L'Occitane and smell terrible.

Hotel Restaurant(s): Very limited options for dinner - all Italian. Breakfast was terrible and overpriced. I only ate there once and was very disappointed so on other mornings, I went to the coffee shop next door which has incredible coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukmagicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Ukmagicman, I would to thank you for choosing OPUS Vancouver and for taking the time to write in your comments. Our goal is to have every guest write about an amazing experience after staying with us. Your comments are very important to us, as they guide us to continuously improve and to ultimately deliver the best boutique hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Property: Opus Hotel
Address: 322 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2015. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2011 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2010 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing