We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms and great location”
Review of Embarc Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embarc Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms and great location”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Excellent rooms with great view and a very convenient location in downtown Vancouver. Concierge was very helpful. Even though we had some trouble with internet (fixed within a day), I would highly recommend this! Remember you have to pay for parking but well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ram232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
64
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Over the years, my wife and I have enjoyed staying in this beautiful Intrawest Club on the mid-upper 3 floors of the Shearaton Hotel. We love this place for (1) the spectacular views of the city and harbor right out of the floor-to-ceiling windows of our unit; (2) its convenient locale to various businesses and attractions. FREE wifi in room and the Club Lounge. Yes, they have fitness and swimming facilties.

Club Interwest is mainly for members, but NON-Members can also stay when there is vacancy. The place is well appointed, although a bit dated. It can be noisy if the upstairs unit is occupied.

LONG VERSION, DEATAILS YOU CAN SKIP:

1. CONVENIENT LOCALE TO FUN PLACES

This place is conveniently located in the Wall Center business district, walking distances to various attractions such as Yaletown, Gastown, Stanley Park, Waterfront to Granville! It's also only a short walk or bus ride away from the "Seabus" to N. Vancouver, where the famed "Capilano Suspension Bridge Park" is located.
- Indeed, my wife and I visited all those places and had a wonderful time!

2. ALL ROOMS HAVE SPECTACULAR VIEWS

The types of units vary from studio to 1-bedroom suite with 1 or 2 baths, but ALL come with spectacular views of the city, harbor and mountain ranges - the "wall" facing the city and harbor is almost all floor-to-celing glass!

Our "1-bedroom, 2-bath and notchalnost " unit has a relatively spacious, nicely furnished living room, which has a great view, of course. It has a well equipped kitchenette with a large island-counter, small fridge, microwave, dish washer...albeit no stove. There's a guest bathroom with a shower stall. The bathtub is located in a separate, small, charming "notch" with a sitting bench, AND also a great view thru the glass wall, if you dare - a romantic couple's delight!

Its small Club Lounge on the 29th floor has a very comfortable sitting area, and of course, spectacular views! During business hours, it offers free coffee and concierge service. The concierge in this lounge and at the lobby are very friendly and helpful with good info on various attractions, hiking, dining, happy hours, entertainments.

Unlike typical Intarwest Club Properties located in a golf, ski or water resort, this particular Club is inside the Shearaton Hotel in downtown Vancouver. We have stayed in Intrawest Club Properties in several states in the US, as well as in Canada and Mexico, and we like them all; this one in Vancouver is one of the few we frequently come back to.

3. A FEW MINOR STUFF...

- The unit can be quite noisy, if the one above yours is occupied.

- Although the property is quite well furnished and maintained, it is a bit dated.

- The bedroom is quite small and only has a queen size bed.

- The SAFE is placed too low to the floor, a bit difficult to access.

- Unlike most other Club Interwest properties, this one does not have free self service laundry facility.

Mar 2014

Room Tip: If you don't need a bathtub, ask for a room without one, which might give you a "bigger&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterskis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

As a Club Intrawest member, it is hard to say that this location falls below other resort buildings. I've stayed here twice before for weekend trips and always find it a pleasant experience. The room is quite large for a studio suite (essentially a standard hotel room, but far more open space), with a great view from any angle in the property. Location is key, situated within walking distance to all of the Downtown peninsula.
My only issue is with Club Intrawest's high point level and two night weekend policy. Although not necessarily 'pricey,' spending such a high amount of points on a weekend in Vancouver begs the question if it's even worth it when good, cheap hotels are abundant closeby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Fabulous view of the city's downtown. Great central location. Room had a nice little kitchenette and breakfast bar. Cool design. We had our own concierge who was very helpful to us. Pool and gym could use an update!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgand1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

..........needs updating. Check in was slow, baggage to our room was non-existent. We finally, after an hour and fifteen wait went down to the lower lobby and brought our own bags to our room. Our room was on the 30th floor booked through Club Intrawest. They claim their properties to be 5 star, but if it weren't for the spectacular view of downtown I would have given this a 3 star rating. I won't pick the room apart item by item, I'll just say it needs a good cleaning and an upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheWiseOldOwl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rented through Hilton Grand Vacations. Excellent view of the city's downtown, mountains of North Vancouver and sunrise/sunset. Called a "studio" but basically a glorified hotel room. Small kitchenette (but only a microwave) and a pet peeve: why don't they ever give you paper towels??? Other things were reasonable provided for. Concierge/member lounge was not much except space. Health club facilities are quite a hike. Lovely area around the hotel. Parking is confusing but some break compared to not staying there. No laundry facilities but you can pay for it to be sent out (of course.) Will consider it again as my daughter attends school here.

Room Tip: In the condo/vacation exchange area it depends on what size of room you're looking for; we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MLSOBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst on a tour of West Canada. There was a long wait for check in.
The room itself was nice, we had lovely views of the city, mountains and sea and it was very clean and well stocked.
The bathroom was large and the shower was really good. I liked how you had a sink each and in the shower they had shampoo etc ready to dispense.
The consierge is only available for a couple of hours at a time so make sure that you time it right.

When leaving i discovered that i had left behind my camera charger so emailed the hotel 3 times and not once did i receive a reply. This blatant rudeness spoilt an otherwise lovely trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Vancouver

Property: Embarc Vancouver
Address: 2951-1001 Hornby Street | at The Sheraton Wall Centre, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2R9, Canada (Formerly Club Intrawest - Vancouver)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Embarc Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hotel Intrawest Vancouver
Resort Intrawest Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing