We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't stay here...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Embarc Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embarc Vancouver
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please don't stay here...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Please, don't stay here. It's my favorite place to stay in Vancouver, and there are only a few rooms at a time, because it's mainly a timeshare.

There are two kinds of rooms available to hotel guests: studios and one bedrooms. Both have one full bath; some of the one bedrooms have a second bath, which is very handy when trying to get out for dinner or in the morning. Both have small kitchenettes--dishwasher, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, sink, refrigerator. The hotel is very close to a grocery store, so stocking up on snacks is dead easy. One bedrooms also have a sofa bed in the living room.

The views! All of the rooms are on the 29th through 31st floors, so one has an excellent view no matter what room.

It's part of the Club Intrawest timeshare group, so housekeeping is only a couple of days, or not that, depending on how long one is staying.

Staff is amazingly courteous and helpful. Again, it's part of a timeshare, so they are attuned to supporting travelers who are part owners and not just folks passing through for the night.

We've been staying here on and off for maybe 10 years now, and haven't looked back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W0X0F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    31
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
60
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere In Wa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Although early check-in was requested because my husband recently underwent open-heart surgery, our request was not honored. The staff appear to be bound by rigid hotel policies that negate the concept of customer service. Check-in was abysmally slow as there was usually only one person on duty, so trying to find information was a time-wasting process. Problems were exacerbated by the fact that attendant was often on the telephone, with long line-ups waiting for attention. They obviously were not instructed to deal with live bodies first by putting callers on hold. Hotel wanted to charge for decaf coffee packet although they supply the caffeinated version free - until I threatened to go on Facebook. Overall the service was awful. The room was extremely clean,the reading lights by the bed were virtually useless, and the views were spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Club Intrawest through our Timeshare with Interval International. We were on the 30th floor in a one bedroom suite with tub/shower and small sitting dining area. It was an awesome location for walking to many of the venues in town. The intrawest is on three floors with 29 suites in total. Permanent residences are above these floors so noise you may hear on the 31st floor is actually from people who reside there. Checking in and out was seamless, there is only one restaurant in the building but we never ate there. Coffee shop was open until 8:00pm for small bakery items and coffee. Two blocks down on Burrard street is an IGA Marketplace where you can get groceries. A little pricey but the convenience is great for what we needed. The only reason we didn't give the hotel five stars was because of the noise from the floor above, we think small children lived up there and the ventilation system is quite noisy when you turn on the air conditioning while you are sleeping. Other than that, the view is spectacular, units are spotless and the concierge was excellent with helping us navigate around Vancouver

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The room had floor to ceiling windows which gave a beautiful view of the City of Vancouver,especially at night.
The bed in the main bedroom was extremely soft and comfortable, the same however could not be said of the fold out couch in the living room. The metal bar in the fold out hit right in the middle of the sleepers back. Perhaps an upgrade to a fold out couch without the bar in the middle would be something the Club would consider for the comfort of those spending more than one night on the couch.
Another issue I found was with the bathtub. It was very easy to slip as there were no safety handles as you usually find in most hotels and the bottom of the tub was slick---felt this was an accident waiting to happen. For legal issues I would hope the Club would address that too.
There needed to be more light in the bedroom, there were only two small bed side lights, you couldn't see what was in the closet it was so dark at night.
The location of the Club was very good and staff with the Club were most helpful with suggestions for activities and directions etc.
I would stay here again but hope the complaints I issued would be addressed before we make another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 173EPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

loved the location & view. Dooley's down the street has fine shanghai noodles & cute waitresses in kilts. Queen Elizabeth Park is a must with fine birds in conservatory & great restaurant Seasons in the park

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGAUDZELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We are Hilton Grand Vacation Club members and stay at a number of the Intrawest properties through our membership. This was by far the worst place we have ever stayed. We came in late and were originally put on the 29th floor. When we entered the room, we found it only came with a queen bed, and the drapes did not fit any of the windows. We tried to pull them closed and it left open spaces, which in the morning (5:30 am) the light comes pouring in, waking us up. Additionally a telephone in the room didn't work. We called maintenance, and they fixed the phone, but could not fix the drapes.

We talked with the Intrawest manager and were told that HGVC members do not get King beds, those were reserved for only Intrawest members. The manager did move us to another room with drapes that fit, but that's where the fun really starts. The fridge didn't work properly, so it either froze what was in there, or if you turned it down, it just completely turned off, so nothing stayed cold. Then, my wife was walking on the carpet and felt dampness. There was a leak somewhere in our room soaking a part of our carpet. Maintenance came again - couldn't figure out the leak, but then left a blower (industrial dryer) in our room. Needless to say if you don't fix the leak, things are going to continue to be damp, so after they removed the blower, the carpet continued to soak from whatever leak was in the room.

We had one night left, so we settled into our queen bed, made it through the night and promptly left early the next morning.

I can say the staff was nice. The manager tried to make things better, but the hotel is the worst in the long list of HGVC properties we have stayed at. Buyer beware. Loved the central location of the property, and it has potential, but

Room Tip: We stayed in the Intrawest portion of the hotel, but I really wouldn't recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fantastic view top to floor glass window awaits you in this beautiful clean city Vancouver. Room is very clean, well supplied and spacious looking layout. It's centrally located, you can walk all over the city from here all the way to Robson Street, Coal Harbor and Stanley Park. Reception staff was very pleasant and friendly. If you want to rest, relax, explore this location of Club Intrawest- on the top floors of Sheraton Wall Centre is for you. Our family will certainly go back here for a good break anytime.

Room Tip: Top floor with ocean view and view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JhetvanRuyven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Vancouver

Property: Embarc Vancouver
Address: 2951-1001 Hornby Street | at The Sheraton Wall Centre, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2R9, Canada (Formerly Club Intrawest - Vancouver)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embarc Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hotel Intrawest Vancouver
Resort Intrawest Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing