We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2009

To be short: great location, the cleanest bathroom that I ever seen, and very friendly staff. The day we arrived was a birthday of our grandson. I mentioned this while I was booking. When we opened a door of our room the first thing a boy found was a balloon and beautiful gifts: an Olympic t-shirt and a mug. He was admired, so were we. Also I would like to mention a great breakfast facility, an old stylish pub, connected to hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abrp722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 891 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2009

overall the hotel staff is friendly and professional.....
parking can be a problem in some way if there is alot of customers with cars...
very busy intersection however the noise level is low

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The hotel is more than what I expected from a property under the Comfort Inn brand. The rooms are well appointed and clean, plus the staff is very helpful.

Overall, the hotel is great. However, a few important things to consider that may turn some people off:

1) It's located in Vancouver's entertainment district.
2) There is a night club in the basement and pub on the main floor of the hotel. Avoid getting a room on one of the lower floors as it can be loud at night. On this trip I stayed in a room directly above the pub and found it to be too noisy as I could hear the band playing all night until the pub closed, but on other trips I stayed on higher floors and had no problems.
3) There is no fitness facility and the neighborhood isn't ideal for an evening run (it's a late night entertainment district).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heads_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Decent location - the immediate surroundings are slightly rough, but the hotel is within easy walking distance of some really nice shopping areas. The interior of the hotel was much nicer than the exterior. My room was especially cute and comfortable. Too bad about the noise - the band in the adjoining bar played until at least 1 a.m. (on a Monday night), and I could hear it quite clearly. On the plus side, the continental breakfast the next morning was ample.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Not many hotels allow five in a room, so we appreciated the Comfort Inn. If economy is more important to you than a spacious room or beautiful view, this is the hotel for you. The beds are new and comfortable, the bathroom clean and newly redone , the free breakfast is plentiful and you can sit and read the paper as long as you like, and the staff makes you feel like their most important guest. The side street, Granville, is one of the least attractive streets in Vancouver, but no one will bother you and the noise didn't reach our room on the fifth floor. The hotel staff is security conscious, and the nightclub uses a separate entrance. We walked and used Translink, there's no use for a car in this city. We had dinner at Doolin's -- the Irish Nachos were great!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Arrived late on a Friday evening after driving up from Seattle on the way to Whistler This is a party area if you want night life. Sidewalks were clogged with younger adults out clubbing. The location is in the middle of downtown Vancover so its pretty central to most everywhere...Stanley Park, Granville Island, cruise dock, Robson St. This was just a stopover and I just wanted to go to sleep. Room was clean, but small... no bigger than 14 ft. by 14 ft....felt a bit claustrophobic. Floor was slanted from the outside of the building towards the interior hall. Reminded me of some of the smaller and older European hotels that I have stayed in. Decent value with the breakfast (waffles, juice, coffee, toast, pastries, and fruit) but might want to go elsewhere if you need a larger room. Parking was an extra $15 next door.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fromak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 15, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,801 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#43 of 92 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 654 Nelson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $79 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing