We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It's convenient”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The best part of the property is the location. The tour company booked it for us as it was our first visit to BC. We arrived 2 hour earlier than the stated check-in time, so asked the front desk to keep our luggage in the storage room, and went shopping. After checked in, we were truly disappointed: the size, the look, the smell made us decide that we won't be back after the one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerner-Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Northerner-Can,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn Downtown.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the room quality on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with Management to ensure we handle these issues regarding the room quality in a timely manner.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services Supervisor
Comfort Inn Downtown Vancouver
604-605-4333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    401
    182
    49
    27
See reviews for
161
337
89
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here during a couple of days in Vancouver. The hotel is quite OK-ish but also nothing special. Staff was quite nice and there was good facilities for parking the car. Maybe I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Dimitry O,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Rachelle
Guest Services Supervisor
Comfort Inn Downtown Vancouver
604-605-4333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed here twice on a trip to Vancouver. First stay I requested a room at the back. It was very quiet and was spacious with a fridge. On the second stay, it was more expensive and I forgot to request a room at the back so it was quite noisy and the room was small with no fridge. Both trips included breakfast which made it an even better value stay. I would recommend requesting a quiet room at the back if you need to get some sleep, but great location and value. Helpful staff with computer and printer to book all your touristy trips!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyp543212003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Tonyp543212003,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete an online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services Supervisor
Comfort Inn Downtown Vancouver
604-605-4333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Friends had told me for years that I needed to visit Vancouver, that it was a very cosmopolitan city with a laid back style and a terrific nightlife. I was also warned that hotels in Vancouver were pricey - however, I was able to book four nights at The Comfort Inn in downtown Vancouver for a very reasonable rate, and was quite pleased with my stay.

The hotel itself could scarcely be better located - not among the trendy (and pricey) hotels along the waterfront, but further up in the commercial center of town on Nelson Street, crossing the two main arteries of downtown Vancouver, Seymour and Granville Street. The immediate area around the hotel features a number of eateries, both sit down restaurants and "hole-in-the-wall" ethnic cafes featuring good (and reasonably priced food) from all over the globe. The hotel itself features a terrific Irish pub - Doolin's - that features a wide variety of Irish, Canadian, and local craft brews on tap, with knowledgeable bartenders and hard working waitresses. Doolin's menu of heart Irish fare was generally spot on - the Shepherd's Pie was absolutely delicious, filling, and very satisfactory, coming as it did highly recommended by the bar staff. During the mornings, Doolin's serves as the hotel's breakfast nook, with an all you can eat breakfast buffet; there is a supplement of roughly $8.50 (CAN) for this. For those not partaking of the buffet, a Tim Horton's doughnut shop is located conveniently across the street.

The actual front of the hotel is much smaller than it appears in the hotel's promotional photographs; having said this, the space was used quite efficiently, featuring a couple of plush sofas, a handful of overstuffed chairs, as well as the hotel's Christmas décor. The elevators, just to the right of the lobby desk, are operated by key cards supplied by the desk staff to the guests; this cuts down on unwanted elevator traffic between the residential floors. My room was unspectacular but more than adequate, the bed plush and comfortable, with a large screen TV for my sports viewing. The bathroom featured a large whirlpool tub with a shower; towels were big and plentiful. The desk staff were energetic and enthusiastic, and gave me many ideas about getting around the city using not only Vancouver's wonderful mass-transit system, but also a system of competing "Hop On, Hop Off" tours that make it truly possible to get to any area within the city. The hotel does not have its own on-site gym/workout room, but has an agreement with a Steve Nash Fitness Center that is a short walk from the hotel.

There was only one drawback during my stay. On a couple of my days in town, I went out early for sightseeing and arrived back to the hotel around 4:30 PM to shower, rest, and head out to dinner; on those days, housekeeping had not yet been to my room. I found this strange for a hotel that was obviously quite busy and had a large turnover during the four days of my stay. As there were plenty of towels provided upon my initial check-in, I found it to be a small inconvenience at most, and it does not stop me from recommending this property to any of my friends and family considering a stay in Vancouver, BC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear DenverC30,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Rachelle
Guest Services Supervisor
Comfort Inn Downtown Vancouver
604-605-4333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penticton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

my family and I booked this hotel for a night of watching hockey and visiting Vancouver. rooms were cleans and pretty standard. Beds could need replacing as we had a cosy sleep in the middle of the bed as the beds have a bid dip in the middle . As the hotel is right in the middle of all the action ear plugs do come in handy. Lots of places to eat and prices start at all you can eat for 5 dollars and up I personally did not have the 5 dollars meal but there was a line up to
get in .we visit the Christmas night market very pricey not much fun in the rain

Room Tip: we were in a corner suite lower floors. higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albundyrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Albundryss,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn Downtown.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the bed and noise in your room on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with Management regarding the bed so this issue can be resolved right away.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services Supervisor
Comfort Inn Downtown Vancouver
604-605-4333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We booked this hotel on short notice for a quick weekend getaway to a Canucks game. We opted for the package that included parking and a buffet breakfast, with taxes it came to $141. The hotels location was ideal for the event. My husband and I walked to Rogers Arena in approximately 15 minutes. Staff was courteous and helpful, they even upgraded our room. Parking is in an open lot adjacent to the hotel, non covered. This was a concern. Would of much preferred a parkade, however we did not have any issues.
A few years ago we stayed at a different hotel right across from the arena. Which was comparable to this, however we paid double for that location.
The pub downstairs, Doolin's was a festive Irish pub that had a diverse crowd and offered lots of fun!!
Breakfast was a buffet style and offered several choices (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, muffins, cereals, etc....) Our room was quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. However no pool or Jacuzzi, if that's important to you.
In summary I would say that this hotel offers a prime downtown location, great service and good value. I would recommend this location as a couples/adult getaway and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justliveinthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Stacey Fortin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Rachelle
Guest Services Supervisor
Comfort Inn Downtown Vancouver
604-605-4333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Convenient, courteous, cozy and clean sum this place up. This Comfort Inn truly lives up to its name. I'm not one for duvets (I find they're much too hot), but here, I felt like I was sleeping in a cloud. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Mitpen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Rachelle
Guest Services Supervisor
Comfort Inn Downtown Vancouver
604-605-4333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#78 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 654 Nelson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing