We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Expectations-Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #50 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Above Expectations-Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Am pleasant surprise. I have no idea of whether or not the whole hotel has been refurbished; but we locked into a room that had been, Jacuzi et al. The room was very clean and quiet, with a comfortable bed. The staff were efficient, pleasant and attentive. We would have no hesitation in going back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    378
    165
    46
    24
See reviews for
151
310
84
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel thru hotwire and got such a great rate I was expecting a dive.... Not the case at all. Room was quiet (despite pub below!), clean and comfortable! The pub attached was great! Bartender took good care of us. Breakfast was a good deal too!
Only complaint was the strong perfume scent in the lobby. Otherwise very impressed!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BCgirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palling, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room is very clean and well decorated. The Location is perfect for shopping and going out in the evening. The check-in was fast and smooth. Nothing bad to say about this hotel. It's a good cheap hotel. But can be noisy at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotte86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great staff helpful and friendly. Excellent value for money. Good central location lost of bars nearby.
The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in . Added bonus our room had a jacuzzi bath.great breakfast ,lovely restaurant,up graded our room do to a bad stay in a previous hotel which wasn't one of there hotels so they had no reason at all to do this for us also had a flight at 6.30 pm so they let us stop in our room till 2.00 pm to make the trip more comfortable for us.would stop here in a heart beat again without any hesitation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The room they gave us was incredibly small, and we asked to switch to another one. We did end up with a room that was slightly larger, but we still did not enjoy our stay.

The (sole) elevator was incredibly slow, and we needed our room cards to operate it. This wouldn't have been such an issue, except that our room cards repeatedly timed out, so we had to keep having them reactivated at the front desk. Toward the end, we gave up and took the stairs most of the time, which was unpleasant after long sightseeing adventures.

The cleaning solution they used in the hotel literally made it hard for me to breathe. Our room smelled like a swimming pool, to the point that we stopped having housekeeping come in. We had to open the window and leave to help clear out the smell. I'm all for a clean room, but this was too much. The sheets were scratchy and equally heavily-chemicalled. By the end of our stay, I had rashes on my arms, legs, and face from the sheets and (I assume) the towels. We couldn't wait to leave.

(However, I will say that the staff were all very nice and were basically helpful.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cee1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. I apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us. Some of our rooms are unfortunately on the smaller side. We do strive to put longer stay guests in our larger rooms, but are not always able to achieve this on the first night. If you do find your room small we are happy to move you to a larger room the next night if there are no other rooms available the first night.

Yes, our elevator is fairly slow due to the age of the building and that there is only one for the whole hotel. We do have plans in the New Year to complete some upgrades to the elevator. As for the keys we do suggest that you keep the keys away from your cell phone and wallet to avoid having your keys deactivated. We are more than happy to re-key your keys at the Front Desk if they do get demagnetized.

I apologize you had a bad reaction to the laundry detergent we use at the Hotel. If a Guest has an allergy we are more than happy to accommodate their requests. If you would like to give us a second chance we would be able to inform our Housekeeping Department of your allergy so you would have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibadan, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Comfort inn Downtown is located in Nelson street, a very busy location in Vancouver. It is very close to major shops and supermarket. The staff of the hotel are friendly, always ready to assist. The hotel restaurant provides continental breakfast with varieties of food.

Room Tip: The rooms are neat, well furnished with TV, radio, refrigerator, free internet facility (wireless an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank FAS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

One nt stay b4 a cruise. An older hotel w/ small rooms & bath. Coffee maker. No fridge. Adequate for a clean, safe venue that has interesting streets to explore w/ many restaurants, cafes. Beware the entrance: 7-9 step steps up from the street, Nelson, which is in the heart of Vancouver's downtown. Staff was friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room fronting Nelson St and enjoyed what there was of a city view. Recommend the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaytonTRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#44 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#56 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 654 Nelson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing