We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff comfortable room”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Have seen some of the bad reviews for this hotel.My experience of this hotel is nothing but positive.The staff couldnt have been more helpful. The room on the 5th floor was excellent.I have stayed at many Comfort Inns this hotel is by far the best.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    391
    174
    47
    25
See reviews for
157
323
87
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop's Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had 4days in Vancouver and chose this hotel via expedia.It was in a great location.Ice cream shop opposite made it even better.Irish Bar attatched too with a coupon for 25% off grub.Beds were amazingly comfortable.Free wifi in the rooms with no connection problems,lounge area downstairs extremely comfortable for chillaxing.free coffee downstairs in lobby too.I would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilrastley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place was a bit difficult to review, I wouldn't say it was 'average' though it's not 'very good' either; perhaps 3 1/2 stars would be apt. I erred on the higher side because this is a decent value place to stay compared with others in the area, with an excellent location in among the downtown goings on and the full hot/cold breakfast buffet served in the adjoining pub was very good (was funny to be eating in a pub that would've been packed only a few hours before - good clean up job!). The parking was a bit expensive, but just go with it because there are so many parking restrictions and street closures on boozey nights (Fri or Sat) that you won't find anything else. Managed street parking on a Sunday night fine. On appearances though, this place could score higher. It looks a bit old and basic, befitting of the surrounding not-so-aesthetically-pleasing Vancouver downtown area. The room are basic too, could do with an upgrade, but they were a good size and clean. Don't stay here on a weekend if you have an aversion to drunks. As I said, the location is great, but with the Canadiens showing their Commonwealth spirit through their ability to binge drink as good as the Brits it gets very noisy at weekends!

Room Tip: Get an off-street room on weekends if noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorderRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This turned out to be a great place. The price was great and the room was clean and had recently been updated. It was nice and central to downtown so we could walk everywhere - Roger's Arena, Roxy, Skytrain, not to mention lots of food outlets and shopping. The room was small - not much more room except to walk around the two beds and a bathroom, but we were just there to concert go and sleep so it was perfect! I would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed facing Nelson street, right off the elevator. It was quiet even though there was a big con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum-luvs_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had some poor reviews of this hotel before we arrived but I found it to be brilliant. Room was massive and bed was brilliantly comfortable. For city centre hotel in the heart of the action it was great. Everywhere was in walking distance and loads of places to eat near bar. There was some noise from outside but it is to be expected from a city centre hotel. Staff were brilliantly friendly from the reception staff to the maids.

Room Tip: perhaps ask for a room at the back of the hotel and on a high floor as there are two clubs near by h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluelinerhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed here one night to see a concert at the Orpheum Theatre.
I was impressed with the reasonably priced Comfort Inn Downtown. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The furniture was a tad dated but that is not a big deal. Everything we needed was there and presented very nicely. We had nice friendly service from the front desk staff and the room staff. The hotel was located a block away from the Orpheum which made it even more perfect.
There is an Irish Pub on site called Doolin's. We were given a 25% off food card for any food we wanted in Doolin's until 6 pm. There is also a breakfast in the pub for $8. We ate lunch, appetizers later and the breakfast and the food was very good!
If you are driving, there is parking but it costs $16 or $17/night!
For the price and location I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longjohn030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was the 2nd part of our 2 centre holiday, having spent 7 nights in Whistler first. We arrived slightly early and were given a room which was ready for us at 1pm although check in is usually 3pm. We were staying as 2 adults and 2 children and were given a room with 2 queen beds and a sofa. This was a large room (room 504) with a sitting area, 2 dining chairs, dining table, desk with office style chair, arm/dining chair. Coffee and tea filter (including coffee, tea, sugar, coffee mate, microwave, fridge, hairdryer, shampoo, soap, facial tissues and mouth wash. Free wifi.

The bathroom was clean and modern and the towels were thick and fluffy.

The location was very central, I would recommend going to Yaletown for dinner as it is very close as we discovered on our last day.

We took breakfast in the adjoining pub every morning for $15.00 dual occupancy per night (this included other money saving vouchers for clubs and gym which we didn't take up because it was a family trip). There was a good selection at the breakfast buffet. I signed up to the Comfort Inn privilege scheme which allowed a 2pm check out time and only involved giving our email address.

Thank you in particular to Miracle on reception who processed our check in. All staff at reception and breakfast were helpful and friendly.

there was a 7 11 nearby on Granville street and a supermarket and liquor store around the corner on Seymour Street.

During our visit we went to see the Canucks play, had lunch at the Lookout Tower, went to the cinema, spent an entire afternoon at the aquarium, walked along Coal Harbour walk, some of the sea wall in Stanley Park, around Canada Place, and Yale Town and visited Granville Island.

Room Tip: Room 504 was a good room. We didn't have any noise from outside. (no views - back of other bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,592 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 654 Nelson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing