We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean...Quiet .... Reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for the Bob Seger concert and the room and hoists were good. Nothing fancy but was clean and reasonable quiet for downtown. There were no difficulties or surprises and I would probably stay there again for the next concert. There was a pub attached to the hotel which was nice with the exception of the bartender that had attitude.... but no big deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 883 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I travelled to BC for an interview at UBC. I hoped to get a decent few hours of sleep before being interview by a panel for a spot in their Masters program. The room was clean and modern,the staff was very polite and professional, however, i could hear the street noise all night including: car alarms, screams and laughter from bar goers and at one point, a Jamacian singer gooving. To make matters worst, there was a loud banging sound coming from the hallway. I called three times, at 4am the last time i called, i was informed it was a AC unit and that the techs where on their way. Now because i brought/booked this room from Expedia he couldn't 'do anything.' (his exact words,) but he gave us a free breakfast...and he did sound sorry. To add to this, I was given wrong directions to the campus (turn left on 4th should have been turn RIGHT) i ran to my interview because I was so late. overall, great hotel and i'm sorry I could not give them five stars, but here's a warning, if you need a peaceful night of sleep, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank may t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for young people (20s-30s) looking to hit some pubs, check out a Canucks game, or explore downtown. If you book in advance, you can get a couple double queen bed rooms for like $65/night. Great deal for bachelor parties or groups.

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed here a couple times when I go to concerts that are right downtown. Great location, easy to get to everything, tons of food and coffee shops. It is very noisy as is it in the heart of the nightlife scene and also lots of construction going up around the area. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy. I think you pay $15 a night for parking. Staff are helpful if you have any questions on where you're going,where is good to eat, or the best shopping. Overall a good place to stay for a short period of time.. oh the house keeping likes to start early as well, so if you planned on sleeping in, good luck!

Room Tip: Book in advance and they'll usually upgrade you if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This room was really great! Clean, beds are very comfortable, probably one of the better beds I have slept in and I have stayed at the Four Seasons and The Fairmont, beds are just as good! This is a great spot for shopping, pubs, restaurants etc. If you are looking for quiet then maybe this is not the place for you because the pub is downstairs. Cheap parking too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up to avoid pub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very kind and efficient. I had no complaints. Everything worked as planned.

You have to know that the property is in the heart of large entertainment area with shops, restaurants, bars, etc. it's ultra convenient for any downtown activity. With that said, it may be slightly noisy. If you fall asleep well, you should have no issues.

Also good to note that there are only stairs to the lobby, so if you are walking impaired, this is not a property for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyberworld Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I choose to stay at this hotel to attend a conference at the Pacific Convention Centre. I choose this hotel because of ratings here that gave it a four circle review, they even boast it with a sign in the lobby. It's a 6 minute drive to the Vancouver Convention Centre. I only needed to get my eight hours sleep and within that time I managed to realize that no one should stay here if you need to go to a conference the following day.

Okay, it may be a four circle if you can ignore the following:
- extremely small rooms
- very loud rooms due to poor sound isolation (we could hear the family in the adjacent room)
- located in the entertainment district where pubs and people party 7 days a week. It's loud!
- the buffet breakfast deal is very unsavoury and takes place in the pub where heavily inebriated people left a few hours before your arrival - the Tim Horton's across the road is much, much better.
- hotel parking is in the small lot next door which is usually quite full due to people going to the next door strip club, pubs and nightclubs but it was FREE!
- some staff members are unpleasant to deal with, the reception girl in the morning was just bad but the reception fellow in the evening was great!
- can make your red eye flight, continue to the next morning.
- you are going to a concert and will be partying all night and will need the few hours to recover before going to the pub again in the morning.

Pros:
- rooms linens clean
- washroom is decent
- FREE intermittent Internet
- TV to drown out surrounding noise

Suggestions:
- Tripadvisor should take away their rating placard as it is deceiving and I have no idea how they got it! And you should find else where to stay for a business trip or conference.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandAficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 654 Nelson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $73 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing