We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nonstop noise pretty much ruins the value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nonstop noise pretty much ruins the value.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel runs some good deals and is in an excellent location for restaurants, bars, and clubs. The other reviews are pretty good and thorough, but just to mention again: good service, nice rooms, parking lot is not very secure, comfortable bed, refrigerator was worthless, view from the window was the dirty wall of the hostel building next door.

The noise of the building was pretty ridiculous. The drunk people in the halls over the weekend were quite loud all night. Downstairs is Doolin's Irish Pub (not just a pub, but not a night club, typical thumping music and loud guests). My group stayed in rooms 301 and 401 and experienced a very surprising and new experience in hote noise; the elevator. Every time it went up or down, it sounded and felt like an earthquake. I've never heard of anything like that before. I imagine it's not so bad if you're not next to the elevator, so if you're a light sleeper, be sure to avoid the rooms next to it. Also avoid the lower levels. With a decent room and deal, I think this would deserve 4 stars, but definitely not in my personal experience.

Room Tip: High levels away from the pub and far down the hall from the elevator for any chance of a quiet nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julbo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am really sorry that your stay with us was not fantastic. Yes, being located in the heart of the entertainment district, the surrounding area can get a little bit loud. Please let us know when you will be visiting Vancouver again, and I will ensure that your stay will be far more enjoyable.

Thank you,
Chris
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    390
    171
    47
    25
See reviews for
156
321
87
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Comfort Inn downtown Vancouver with my teenage daughter. It was a great location, easy walking to restaurants, and the entertainment venues. We arrived mid afternoon and had no problem getting parking- the lot is next to the hotel and although not a secure lot did have video and security. We had easy check in and the staff were very friendly. The standard room was quite small but the beds were comfortable and bathrooms had been recently renovated so very clean. The wi-fi was a bit sketchy but did work. My only complaint was the noise. Unfortunately we had a room over the pub and it was a weekend so it was very noisy. The walls are also very thin so we could hear everything going on, conversations,tv, doors slamming -I did have to call the front desk around 2am when the people next door continued to party. Overall it was good but bring earplugs if you want to sleep

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Chris
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel met or exceeded our every need and expectation for a three day midwinter stay in Vancouver, BC. For an excellent price, we got a great ( if a tad small ) room with two double beds, with supremely comfortable bedding, a nice flat screen TV, new decor. The room was very clean, with free parking, free internet and and free ample breakfast. Loved being over the pub for morning meals and late afternoon beers. It was within walking distance of everything. There was minimal street noise and none at all from the pub during our time. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back to the Comfort Inn Downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidbpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Vancouver!

Chris
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamil
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

On arrival hotel looked good, room clean, modern, though small.

we came back from dinner out to find the hotel is right on top of a night club. We rang reception to change to a quieter room but they were unable to change us.

It is now 1145pm and the music is still thumping below and has been added to by loud, clear conversations coming from the room next door.

I'm not usually picky when it comes to hotels but this is ridiculous. I would think a hotel in the city would invest in some decent soundproofing.

Glad we are only passing through for one night, will never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Laura M,

I'm really sorry to hear about your stay. Please let us know if you will be coming through Vancouver again, and we will ensure that you have a wonderful time.

Chris
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute because it was cheap and convenient. Location is right on Granville above popular noisy bars, and the building is old - I thought "uh-oh". But the room is surprisingly good: no street noise at all, comfy beds, good soft comforters (not those slippery polyester ones you sometimes get in cheap hotels), nice sheets, plenty of towels, glasses, coffee cups, good room-darkening curtains. Not fancy but I was pleasantly surprised. Parking is above ground right next door, free we-fi, and free passes to a nice fitness club downtown. There are also computers and a printer for guests to use in the lobby. Location is great if you like being able to walk to restaurants, shopping etc. Oh the room is tiny - that could be a downside if you care about that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Maggie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Chris
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was an okay price, located in a very convenient location for our plans, and the room itself was clean and comfortable, but overall we did not have a great experience.

The room we had was located right next to the elevator, and the soundproofing was awful. There was a constant loud rumble followed by extremely loud footsteps above the room. We thought we could get past that and have a nice evening.

When we arrived back at the room around midnight after the concert we went to, we settled in to go to sleep and suddenly it sounded as if a band was playing IN our room. We called down to the front desk, and the man who answered could only tell us that our room was located above the pub, the band wouldn't stop until 2 am (it was later than that), and said "it's not like I can ask them to stop" in a sarcastic tone.

If you get a room at least 2 floors up and away from the elevator, you will probably have a fine stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from the elevator will offer a much more peaceful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Kayleigh D,

I am really sorry about your stay with us! Being in the entertainment district there are certain noise issues that happen. However, I am really sorry about our staff's response to your inquiry. That kind of attitude is not appropriate for any of our staff members (no matter what the position is). I will certainly look into this matter more.

Please let us know when you will be coming to Vancouver next time, I would love to make your second experience far more positive.

Chris
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Spent 2 nights in late Fall at Comfort Inn Downtown Vancouver and found it quite reasonably priced for such a convenient location - walking access to great restaurants in charming Yale Town (3 blocks east) and shopping along Robson Street (2 blocks north). Room was quite adequate (remember you are not paying for a 4-star suite), very clean, well equipped with mini-fridge and working wi-fi. Friendly service at desk offered helpful advice for nearby shopping and restaurants. Great buffet breakfast in adjacent Irish Pub (access through lobby). Took train to Vancouver from Seattle and then Sky-Train to Granville Station, which allowed fast and pretty easy 3-4 block walk to hotel.

Room Tip: For quiet rooms, ask for interior (back/south side) rooms down hall from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleHappyWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver!

Chris
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 654 Nelson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing