We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This affordable little gem in the heart of Vancouver has what you need. Our room was clean and quiet. A buffet breakfast was included as was WiFi. The staff are helpful and friendly. Parking is in an open adjacent lot, but there were no problems during our stay. We would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: This hotel only has 6 floors, so upper rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 883 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Comfort Inn went out of their way to meet changing travel plans. Rather than the single queen we had booked, we needed two beds and we were upgraded to a suite for the same price. We had a king bed, sleeper sofa, fireplace, robes, breakfast and free parking at a bargain rate. All personnel were courteous and helpful. It was within easy walking distance of sites. Felt we were in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinnyE231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I got a pretty good deal off their website that included parking and gift cards to the pub next door (Doolin's). It's a Comfort Inn though. The rooms were tiny and not super clean. The elevator was also pretty loud and we could hear it while we slept. The bar next door was convenient. The location was also nice. Oh, and the heater did not turn off! We tried to turn on the AC because the room was so hot and stuffy, but the temperature would not go below 75!

Room Tip: The rooms with the queen size beds are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PLJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel offered a good value for a good location right in the downtown area entertainment district. Shops, restaurants and venues were in easy walking distance. The pluses for this hotel are that it is relatively new, clean and comfortable. The downside is that the rooms are noisy from other guests In the hall, and that stupid noisy ice maker. Also it sounded like there were a herd of buffaloes in the room above mine.

Room Tip: Lower floors may get noise from the adjacent Irish bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's uncomfortable leaving a negative review, but I need to be honest. There are no 'guests' at this hotel only nuisances. I'm quiet and friendly so I am confused as to why they treated me with unprovoked aggravation. It wasn't just me they treated poorly, I saw the same thing happen to every other person I saw. Both front desk and house keeping staff were jerks. There were two guys at the front desk however who are an exception, they were friendly and helpful.
The room is clean and warm, but there's no chance of sleeping. The hotel is located on a party street and the walls are paper thin which means you can hear clearly what the guests around you are discussing/doing...
Free breakfast is a joke. I tried everything and eventually stuck to the packaged yoghurt and some juice. Sure, it's convenient to have free breakfast but the taste is terrible. I'm not fussy with food, I grew up in a big family so I usually eat anything I'm given, but this was just uneatable.
Free wifi has a really weak signal. If you manage to get it, stay absolutely still or you'll lost the connection.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Let me start by saying this hotel is not all bad. The rooms, though small, are clean and somewhat modern, they have a bedside table on either side of the bed which is a full queen, 40” flatscreen TV’s, safe, free wireless and local calls and a free breakfast (mediocre, but free none the less).

Don’t kid yourself, this is a party hotel. It’s an inexpensive hotel located smack dab in the middle of Vancouver’s entertainment district, you know it’s going to attract the more rowdy clientele. And we saw and heard that clientele on a number of occasions. On Saturday evening we returned to the hotel at 10pm and were greeted by a group of 7-8 inebriated young adults. Not only were they being loud and obnoxious in the lobby of the hotel but they were also drinking (alcohol) in the lobby.

At 2:30am we were awoken to someone trying to get into our room, he tried his key card a few times and it didn’t work so he proceeded to pound on the door (he eventually went away). We couldn’t get to sleep because at 2:30am everyone was getting back from the bar and slamming doors and having conversations in the hallway.

At around 3:30am the people staying above us sounded like they were wrestling, bowling, and doing renovations until around 5am. At one point we honestly thought they were going to come through the ceiling. We later learned the people above us were part of a bachelor party and they (the guys making the noise) paid for our room.

There were a few other hokey things about this hotel. Parking was located in the adjacent lot, it is an extremely small lot and both times we parked there were no spots. The front desk staff told us to park somewhere in the lot, leave our keys with them and they would move our car to a spot when it became available. That seemed to work, but when we went to retrieve our keys the front desk staff open a drawer with an assortment of different car keys and asked us which keys were ours… the Nissan, the Honda? They had no labels and no way of telling who’s keys were who’s. They just handed us the set we asked for they even gave us options.

The other hokey thing was the elevator. It had keycard access which was a pain in the butt, but right next to the elevator is an open staircase accessing all the rooms. Why have keycard access n the elevator if there is an open stairwell? There wasn’t even a door on the stairwell.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sport127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed here as we were in town for a two day conference. We book a room with two queen size beds that were super comfy and a very clean room. The staff were AMAZING and check in and check out were very quick. Breakfast included, as well as VIP passes and free drinks at several clubs. Very good =) Breakfast was amazing, with all of the food and drinks you can imagine.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is on level 2 or higher so that you cannot hear music from the club below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizzieG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hi LizzieG19,

Thank you for your kind comments! I will certainly pass this along to all of our staff. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Chris
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 654 Nelson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $74 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing