We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fine if all you need is a bed for the night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Centre Motor Hotel
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place is fine if all you need is a bed for the night.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while visiting Vancouver. It was fast, easy, clean enough and reasonably priced. I'd stay here again if I had to. It's not far from the city center. The area is pretty busy as its located off of a major street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianTav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    19
    15
    26
See reviews for
11
22
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First and foremost it's a cheap motel in a decent area of Vancouver fairly close to the downtown core and less than a 5 min walk from Science World. For less than $100 a night you aren't going to get much better. My husband and I and another couple rented this place for one night as EVERY other hotel in Vancouver was booked. We went in with low expectations praying that it was clean and free of bed bugs. It was clean and we did not have any problems with bugs of any sort. It did have an odd smell but it wasn't a "dirty" smell...just an ethnic one. Nothing unbearable and we got used to it once we were in the room for a little while.
In short this motel is perfectly fine if you want a decent location and need somewhere cheap to crash for the night. I would not recommend it if you are planning on spending time in your room or need it more than one or two nights.
As far as some of the really bad reviews go you have to wonder what they were expecting. If they were expecting a 5 star hotel for less than $100 a night in Vancouver then they were clearly unprepared.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymooners096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busby
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The room sharing our access/door way had people up and down, up and down the stairs all night. Then at 0500h, when I was in our washroom, I heard BANG BANG BANG. The door banging happened again, and then there was yelling
Police: THIS IS THE POLICE, OPEN UP
Hotel room occupants: NO! You don't have the right to do this! We're not doing anything! No!
Police: YES WE DO. Open the door. Management called us, this is private property
Occupants: NO! We're not opening it
Police: OPEN IT OR WE'RE BREAKING THE DOOR DOWN.

We spent the next 2+ hours listening to a police raid take place, including the occupants being pulled out and individually hand cuffed, and the police running up and down the stairs running each person's information. At one point I stuck my head out and a very friendly police woman asked if I'd heard anything. I explained about the people up and down the stairs all night and their door slamming repeatedly, and she asked about fights in the parking lot.

At least one of the occupants was taken away by police on an outstanding warrant. He didn't go quietly.

When I expressed my displeasure to the hotel staff about being woken up, not being warned that a police raid was going to happen in my shared access area, not getting a discount or something for having my stay disturbed, the young man just said "oh" and rang through my credit card at full price.

The rooms were fairly clean, small, the carpet had tears, the bathroom was small but clean ish. Not commercial, shared space clean though. I would not stay here again. In the words of a friend, after the police raid we'd consider this a hook-tel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elisabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked this motel because of the Trip Advisor and Google+ reviews. I have to wonder if some of the positive reviews were planted (Many of the positive reviews are by people with only one review).

Front desk staff were friendly on check in and check out - but the rooms and the motel's control of what happens in their parking lot were dismal.

Regarding the rooms - my room smelled terrible. Somewhere between mold, dust, and some kind of chemical. I should have asked to change rooms - but I was in a hurry to go pick up somebody at the airport.

The room appeared clean but I was afraid to look to carefully. All the furniture was marked up and probably relics of the 70's. The carpet looked like it was last cleaned in that decade as well. The bathrooms are small but adequate - mine having some new lino on the floor. However, you get something the size of a hand towel instead of a bath towel - and there is no shampoo. The walls were pretty beat up in the room as well.

The smell in the room affected my allergies - and it was hard to sleep - and I regret not changing hotels after arriving.

Now about the activities.

On the first night (a Friday) we witnessed a prostitute yelling at some guy in the parking lot at about 9pm when we got back to the hotel. Then another prostitute arguing with a taxi driver about 20 minutes later. Lots of sketchy people hanging around the hotel. At 12 am some guy was on his cell phone outside my door making very loud calls on his phone - the first to his dealer looking for him to come down to sell him some coke, and the second to some woman who we was trying to convince to come down to "party". This went on for over an hour.

On the second night there I witnessed another prostitute being dropped off by taxi (who looked like she was zonked out on drugs) and going into one of the rooms next to mine, more sketchy people driving into the parking lot or hanging out in the parking lot. Lot's a yelling and "Whooooo" coming from somewhere (neighbouring rooms, parking lot?) until about 2:30 in the morning. Some guy in a car in the parking lot was also blasting club music with a massive low end bass for about 15 minutes around midnight.

While the price was around $75, I should have just paid more for a room at a different hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wessmith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I guess you shouldn't expect too much for $88 in Vancouver - but this motel is really run down. My wife and I stayed there a few weekends ago. The room smelled musty - when we tried to change rooms the hotel front desk said that they were fully booked. We had to stay 2 nights as everything else booked in town for long weekend.

Between 8pm and 3 am - all sorts of shenanigans happening on the property. People yelling and running up and down stairs, people hanging out in front of rooms, prostitutes coming and going (from taxis), rowdy drunks everywhere.

Beds were ok but I was afraid to look at them too closely. Everything very old in room (30 years +). We were afraid to walk barefoot on floor (carpet also 30+ years old and looks disgusting). Drywall split along seems on walls and on ceiling. Last painted about 30 years ago. Patched holes in walls.

Bathroom's towels were the size of hand towels. No shampoo in room.

With a location like this, it's too bad the owners don't see the potential and upgrade the rooms and charge an extra $20 or $30 to get rid of the riff raff around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gumpo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagsvaerd
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the City Centre Motor Hotel for 5 nights. We had a twin double bed room. There was very little space around the beds. Poorly furnished. Good Bathroom. No breakfast facilities except coffe in the lobby in the morning. WiFi OK. Free parking. Clean. Good connection to the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bagsvaerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

That is not a criticism however. If you need a very convenient, very clean, perfectly nice motel that has a very good location and very close to public transportation then this is it. If you do not need all of the bells and whistles of a modern motel, which for me means a hd tv and swipe card instead of an actual key then there is nothing wrong with this place. At $80 a night walking up with free parking this is a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azlib69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
95 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#34 of 54 in Vancouver
188 reviews
Shaughnessy
Windsor Guest House
Windsor Guest House
#14 of 54 in Vancouver
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motor Hotel

Property: City Centre Motor Hotel
Address: 2111 Main St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3C6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Southeast False Creek , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Centre Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Centre Motor Hotel with its 76 rooms is located in the centre of Vancouver. Spectacular views of the Coastal Mountains and Harbour. Proximity to Downtown, Stanley Park and English Bay.Accessible to buses and sky-train. Train station and Greyhound bus depot are within walking distance. City Centre Motor Hotel is the perfect choice for affordable Vancouver motor hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your City Centre Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Motor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing