We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Go!**”
Review of Ramen Santouka

Ramen Santouka
Ranked #81 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just Go!**”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

**If you like/love ramen. ;-)

Wow! The line was a little scary, but we got in after about 30 minutes. One bonus about the wait was that I got to watch the ramen "chef" put a bunch of bowls together. So cool.

There were five of us and we were able to try a number of different items. Shoyu, spicy, miso, and of course tonkotsu.

O.M.G. This is what tonkotsu is supposed to be like. The pork flavor was incredible. I've had some pretty good tonkotsu before, but this takes the cake. The broth was a creamy off-white and so rich that is was opaque.

I asked a friend of mine once, "What's in cannoli filling?" He said, "Good, it's full of good." Well let me tell you, the ramen at Santouka is FULL OF GOOD.

The icing on the cake is that I ordered the toroniku at my protein. Here's a clip from the website:

" Toroniku Cha-shu is simmered pork cheek (jowl) meat. Pork cheek meat is very rare and only 200-300g can be taken from each pig. It has a very rich flavour and it is tender like fatty tuna."

I'm getting hungry just thinking about it.

In conclusion, plan ahead (there might be a little bit of a wait), but definitely go! Santouka is on my "must eat" list now.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    108
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“my fave ramen”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

clean, fast always friendlygreat food and servicei always have the shoyu ramenits so good, the gyoza and salmon bowla are great toodont let the line up scare you offits worth the wait...its the best in vancouver

Helpful?
1 Thank deanguest
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Ramen that I've tried in the past year”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Well worth the 40 minutes wait in the line up - in the rain (there are line ups all the time, every day). The soup for the ramen was supreme - better than any other soup that I've ever tried. Wonderful service and decor. Great prices as well for the very, very high quality of the food. Will definitely come back every time I am in Vancouver! It's that good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious simple ramen”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The menu is simple, with a choice of a few appetizers, four or five ramen soups and five or six bowls. We were a party of five and all what we sampled was delicious. The ramen and broth were really outstanding (although very salty). On a Friday night the place was packed with a line-up outside. The service was fast and the waitresses kind and pro. I never went to Japan but this restaurant felt like my expectations of authentic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Untypequelconque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
152 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ramen”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This place almost always has a queue out front - and it's easy to see why.

Unassuming, friendly and busy...the ramen is just phenomenal. The broth is made over two days, and it shows. This is a long way from over-cooked or one-dimensional ramen you find at so many places.

Have been here a few times, never a disappointment.

Haven't explored too much else on the menu, but was pleased with the gyoza.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel7YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramen Santouka also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Ramen Santouka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing