We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must do when in Vancouver”

Edible Canada Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Edible Canada Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 3,706 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Cross street: Anderson Street
Transit: #50 False Creek Aquabus www.theaquabus.com False Creek Ferry www.granvilleislandferries.bc.ca
D0lly1955
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must do when in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was a fabulous tour and incredibly interesting. I will do again whenever I am in Vancouver and highly recommend it. Food was great and the guide who is a chef in the restaurant was so knowledgeable. I learned a great deal and had a wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0lly1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    221
    59
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find! This cute restaurant in Granville island has an open kitchen and a lovely ambiance. What a pleasant surprise to find gluten free fish and chips. Very tasty!!! And the butternut squash soup was a added treat to the tastebuds. Additionally. The little shop has delicious toffee chocolates that are a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123runnergirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something refreshingly different.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A great opportunity to try local food, served by staff enthusiastic and committed to sustainability.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A few bites from the new fall menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The leaves are changing colour, sweaters are being pulled out of the closet, and comfort food is back on the table. The advent of a new season can only mean one thing – a new menu at Edible Canada! Having seen photos of the latest dishes, I was looking forward to some hearty fall flavours on a rainy Tuesday evening.

After Aaron’s Farmhand Ale and my Merridale Cider arrived, our favourite server, Jessica, came by with a tasty little amuse bouche from the chef. A lightly breaded lion’s mane mushroom was fried to crispy perfection, along with a pinch of duck crackling. The mushroom had a meaty texture and the salty crackling added a burst of flavour. When we were done, Aaron said he could eat a bucket of the crunchy treats and I wholeheartedly agreed.

Once our mouths were warmed up, we shared an order of the Bison and Bacon Meatballs. They came served with curly kale, a light parsnip puree, and sweet tomato gravy. The meatballs were very tender, with pink meat in the center and a shaving of Allegretto cheese on top. The bacon flavour was mostly lost to the rich bison, but added moisture to the lean meat.

For my main, I chose the Chanterelle and Dungeness Crab Pasta, which I had been wanting since seeing photos of the new menu items. The tagliatelle was perfectly al dente, with just a touch of resistance when chewed. It was paired with a cream sauce that had a hint of lemon and was infused with the earthy Chanterelles. The crab added a light sweetness to the dish.

Aaron ordered the Duo of Elk, which came with a medium rare medallion and braised leg. We both agreed that the star of the dish was the leg, which had been braised perfectly! The meat fell apart at the slightest touch and had a beautifully caramelized exterior. The medallion was also quite tender, with a very mild flavour. Along with the meat, there was a side of roasted vegetables and spaetzle. The spaetzle had a slightly chewy texture without being rubbery and soaked up the juniper jus nicely.

Although we were quite full after our meal, we decided to take a look at the dessert menu. Unfortunately, Chef Craig had focused on the dinner menu and hadn’t had time to update the selection of desserts. That just means that we will have to go back soon to see what sweet treats will be available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LPCarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnaby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BC Chef Market Dinner with Chef Sean Murray at Edibles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The setting was perfect for an incredible meal with mushrooms as the main theme. This is our third time and it doesn't get any better. The food was great, the service was great and it was educational. We enjoyed the company of those that shared our end of the table. It is a great way to meet new and interesting people.
Edibles is a gem in the middle of Granville Island with a friendly staff that is PADS friendly. These dinners are a must gift on anyone's Christmas gift list as Ria and James have given to us over the past years

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gooch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edible Canada Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Edible Canada Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing