We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Yamato Sushi

Yamato Sushi
Ranked #382 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: West End
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Look, this isn't the best sushi restaurant in Vancouver, but the value is undeniably good. You can have a quality dinner for around 15 bucks. The fish is fresh and the service is fast. This place is tiny, so you might prefer to do take out, but nonetheless, the food is pretty good. they have some interesting rolls and all your standard ones as well. For a place that looks like a hole in the wall, it tastes very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it was ok”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

food,,, it wasn't for me, i know people like it there though,

good luck to you guys

My school days are far behind me, but that doesn't mean one still can't eat on the cheap! A buddy and I dropped by late one afternoon to grab a late lunch. The food comes with a fair bit of rice to fill you up a bit more;) and Its quantity over quality but decent food for a cheap price, as long as you know that going in you should be fine. Only a couple of small tables and the counter so space is limited, obviously the kid's know about this place as it was pretty steady.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Han Soo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good price for a great sushi”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm a roll fan so I don't know anything about the sashimis there. But I've tried almost all the rolls and they taste great, esp the spicy tuna and dynamite rolls.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank May_Malek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome sushi at an awesome price!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Not many tables so I always do take out. I'm never disappointed with the sushi and the price is just right. Unfortunately, those two perks come with not the greatest service. I don't mind mediocre service to have great food @ a great price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pcouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First rate sushi in hole-in-the-wall restaurant”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It's easy to understand why so many people love this sushi spot in Yaletown. First rate sushi at a very reasonable price. Very limited and close packed seating. No reservations here. And don't expect beer, wine or even saki (not licensed). But if the food is what it is about for you, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Sushi also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Yamato Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing