We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Vancouver's Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still Vancouver's Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

I am a Fairmont Presidents Club Member and even at the basic level, it offers compelling benefits for your loyalty (free high speed internet, complimentary workout clothing and shoes, free access to the hotel bikes, special rates). That being said, there are soon to be four Fairmont hotels in Vancouver and three downtown. The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will still be my location of choice.

While the basic Fairmont room is not large, it is well furnished with a terrific bed and soft feather pillows, a sturdy desk and chair, dresser and lounging chair with ottoman. I always have a terrific night's sleep. Each room has robes, an umbrella, ironing board with a decent iron.

I also prefer the more traditional style furniture. Many of the boutique hotels in the city have furniture designed for the eyes and not the body. Rather than trying to figure out how to become comfortable on upholstered cubes, guests actually lounge and read in the chesterfields in the lobby.

The Fairmont room bathroom is not spectacular, but everything works and I like the retro feel of the basin fixtures and white tiles. I am a quick shower type, so soakers may be disappointed. Towels are large, fluffy and absorbent.

There is a small, but well equipped gym, with little touches like cucumber infused water to hydrate with and quality machines. A change room with sauna and all the amenities including free lockers with locks serves the gym and the pool area with a whirpool and lap pool. As a Presidents Club Member, a full set of Adidas workout wear including shoes is waiting for me in my room on check in.

The really deciding factors for me, however, are service and location. Staff is universally friendly and helpful. I once arrived needing to wrap two gifts (due to airline regulations) and within fifteen minutes of asking, was provided with scissors and scotch tape. I have never had to experience the typical hour long wait for service as with many "five stars". I once had to ask my room to be re-keyed and not only was this done, security was waiting for me at my room to ensure I had no further problems.

Location, though, cannot be beat. The hotel overlooks the VAG, a block from the Pan Pacific Centre, at the East ends of Robson and Alberni Streets (shops and restaurants), a short walk to the waterfront and the new Convention Centre, and easily in walking distance to Gastown, Yaletown, Granville Street and English Bay. Better yet, take a hotel bike (free to Presidents Club Members) and ride to the West End and Stanley Park.

Better yet, with the Great Rates program (Presidents Club), I often stay for Motel 6 prices, at which the value cannot be beat.

Even with it's newer and more modern sister properties, the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver remains my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDM_Stowaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    860
    295
    122
    84
See reviews for
572
916
149
899
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Spent a lovely week at the Fairmont on our first trip to Vancouver. Location is perfect; city central and within walking distance of many of the city's major attractions, (which is a good thing since parking is no bargain). The service is great, (can't say enough good things about the staff), and the rooms are large and well appointed. Griffins Restaurant serves a killer brunch, and the 900 West Lounge off the lobby is pleasant and has good entertainment on the weekends. Oh, and as a bonus they have a couple of big, friendly dogs, Mavis and Beau, for you to pet, walk or just admire, assuming you like dogs. Keep in mind, however, this is an old hotel and, despite having been updated, you might expect a few glitches. For instance, the elevators have been updated to operate with key cards, but they don't always work. Not a major issue, but annoying. The plumbing is another matter all together. It's old, it's noisy and it's cranky. After our toilet stopped up, (honest, it wasn't us), for the second consecutive day, we were moved into a different room so that the offending appliance could be removed and replaced. However, to compensate for our inconvenience we were upgraded to a much larger corner room on a higher floor with a great view. Can't complain. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
202 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 706 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

The Fairmont Vancouver trades on its historic past as Vancouver’s prime hotel for the last seventy years and has a slightly antiquated style which you either like or hate. We loved it. Filling the block between two of Vancouver’s main crossroads, noise from the sirens of passing police cars etc. can be heard – but rarely. Indeed, the relative silence serves to remind one of what ugly, brutish places cities like London have become.

Our visit start inauspiciously with a running battle with the Fairmont web site’s booking system, which variously said that we had no booking, that we had a booking and that we had two bookings. A series of tortuous emails were necessary to secure the reservation.

In the event, our arrival went smoothly and we were soon installed in a large suite overlooking the Vancouver Art Gallery. The suite was well equipped, with two large flat-screen televisions and good quality furniture & furnishings throughout. A small fridge had been installed at my request, which was just as well as the minibar was one of those evil machines that charges you if as much as a bit of wind brushes any of the contents. Tea and coffee, which was complimentary, was placed dangerously close next to a bottle of water which was chargeable. This being Vancouver, complimentary loan umbrellas are provided.

Griffin’s restaurant produces good quality food at quite high prices, but the reliance on buffets for all but main courses comes seems inappropriate in a hotel with Fairmont’s aspirations. The absence of cheese as a desert option was astonishing and the flat refusal of the buffet chef to provide any utterly ludicrous.

A significant problem was discovered with the internet service provided by the hotel. Fairmont’s outbound mail server, which appears to capture all outgoing emails (ignoring the sender’s account settings) black-holes a large proportion of messages sent – and provides no warning of this to the sender. The problem was solved by by-passing the hotel’s fire wall. Unfortunately, the extent of the problem – and the solution – only became apparent the last night of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We've stayed at this hotel several times and have enjoyed each stay. We've stayed in the 1 bedroom suite which is always very comfortable. We have a 3 year old who is treated as well as the rest of my family. Everyone loves the pool and the restaurant is excellent as well. We stay only once a year but get greeted by name as though we are regulars. Love this place!!

We've also stayed at the Fairmont Waterfront in Vancouver and even though it is newer than the Hotel Vancouver, I still like this one better.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisy_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. The room and bathroom weren't that large but were comfortable and had all the amenienties you could need. Bizzarely no creamers for coffee as the previous poster mentioned. Breakfast buffet was good although we found the waiter to be useless - we had plates piled up on our table which was annoying. Rest of the staff were really helpful. One tip, sign up online before you arrive for the Fairmont Presidents loyalty scheme so that you get free wifi, seperate check-in and use of the hotels bikes all for free. Even if your card hasnt arrived they will find your name on the system. We took the very swish BMW bikes out for 3 hours completely free and enjoyed a whistle-stop tour of Stanley Park. I believe it would have been expensive to hire bikes for the three of us. Also when you check-in make sure your child is given a free cookies and milk voucher to order via room service. Our son loved this!
Yes the bathrooms are small and not particularly well layed out but they are fine for a short stay. Beds are really comfortable. Location is everything and this hotel is in a really great location.
Our son loved meeting Mavis the Lobby dog in reception although she seemed thorough ly fed up! Also check your bill carefully. My son bought the little mavis soft toy dog in the room and we were charged twice as it's on a sensor and he lifted it and replaced the dog twice so it appeared twice on the bill.
Parking is REALLY expensive - there are much cheaper alternatives that if you staying longer than two nights you should really explore!
We had a lovely family dinner at whitespot which is walking distance and if you fancy a bit of shopping the Pacific Centre Mall is just across the road - GAP, Banana Republic, Hollister etc. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocotwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

I cannot understand the negative comments of some of the reviewers. The Fairmont Vancouver is a wonderful place to stay. Everyone of the staff that I encountered was gracious and friendly. The room was newly refurnished and not a single sign of any fraying that a very old property would be excused to have. Of course the location is not to be beat. Breakfast buffet is quite good in Griffin's. I had a superb dinner at the 900 Restaurant. Only one oddity: no coffee creamers in the guest room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

This hotel is location in the heart of the city, right across the road from the main shopping centre. The hotel is quite grand and has a lot of extra, like apples at reception and two very friendly dogs called marvis and Beau. You can take these dogs out for a walk. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There give informative information and nothing seems to be a problem. This hotel would suit families, elderly, singles and business travellers, in fact all travellers. The room are not large but are quite grand, quite old world styled but with a certain flare.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ero40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,103 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing