We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional and great location”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Great traditional hotel in the best location to get to know Vancouver.
We spent two nights in a comfortable room. Bathroom on the small side but clean. Classical and beautiful lobby and friendly staff. Excellent choice if travelling to Whistler as shuttle picks up right at the lobby.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IPF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    873
    298
    123
    84
See reviews for
577
922
153
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was one of four Fairmonts we stayed in whilst travelling across Canada. Room was huge, with beautiful old fittings in good order. Huge cloak room but very small bathroom. Facilities downstairs were nice with great bar and restaurant. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Yes, shopping is very close by and this location is central, however, we found that there were a huge amount of homeless or beggars in the streets surrounding this hotel. I have a social conscience and I feel for these people, but large numbers that are clearly not policed can become quite intimidating and actually off putting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97CarlW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontVancouver, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear 97CarlW,

Thank you for making the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver a part of your recent journey across Canada. I hope that the rest of your trip went smoothly, and that you found many things to love in Fairmonts all over the country.

As Director of Rooms, I am pleased to know that you enjoyed plenty of space and comfort during your time here. We have many different styles of rooms and suites, and I would be happy to find you one with a more spacious bathroom during your next stay. Just let us know what you like, and we will make the necessary arrangements.

We look forward to hosting you again someday soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Vince Chow
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel and excellent service. Everyone is ready to help and the rooms are big enough.
I love it. You go down and you are at the heart of Vancouver
Shops restaurants everything is there. The pool is perfect and the restaurants are delicious. You really take a rest in that hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Old hotel with worn but high quality fittings. It must be time for a renewal, but the high ceiling, and solidity of the hotel are obvious. We had two adjoining rooms. The only downside was that we were not told of the renovations taking place and that our two windows would be blocked out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJand3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontVancouver, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear EJand3kids,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent visit. Our property is rich in history and character, but full of all the modern amenities Fairmont customers have come to expect. As you noted, we are undergoing renovations to enhance our offerings and are excited to debut the finished product. I regret to hear that our construction was an inconvenience during your visit. We always encourage guests to share any dissatisfaction with their room with our front desk staff, as accommodations can almost always be made. It would be a pleasure to be able to welcome you back for another stay, to show you the best-in-class Fairmont experience. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to be of service.

Yours Sincerely,

Vince Chow
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Although this hotel is older, it still manages to maintain it's charms. Excellent location, we never used our car once. Shopping, restaurants, and Granville strip all within walking distance. Hotel staff was friendly, courteous and professional at all times. Five star treatment by all, and we're always willing to go above and beyond our requests. Pool and gym were great offering large locker-changing rooms, and walk in showers. Rooms were spacious and clean. The only complaint was Walls/Vents allowed you to here neighbors but, resolved that problem by turning on air condition fan and tv up ;) Other than that, everything was excellent and we will definitely stay again; however next time it will be Gold, maybe the neighbors won't be so loud?

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moongawdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
705 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I really like heritage hotels. they have character and charm. and they wee built in a time when travel was a luxury. this has been nicely kept up. staff are very attentive. bed are extremely comfortable. pillows are the best . nice and quiet too. not sure I like the coffee makers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear rocketman000,

I’d like to thank you for not only choosing Fairmont Vancouver for your recent visit, but also for taking the time to share your review. Our property has a classic luxury feel with all the modern amenities that our guests expect. Whether you’re in town for an activity-packed getaway or a relaxing vacation, our fabulous property and central location make for the perfect combination. There is something for everyone. I hope to be able to welcome you back for a future visit—please feel free to get in touch if there’s anything we can do.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Pye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Customer service was excellent, ended up parking for free (huge bonus) stayed on Fairmont Gold floor. The room was nice it's a classic hotel in a great downtown location. Only downside for a light sleeper like myself was the heating and cooling system was very loud and hissed every time it turned off. And the plumbing was extremely loud. Bathrooms need updating. The "First class" vanity mirror was anything but.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontVancouver, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear hotrice,

I appreciate you taking a moment to share a review of your recent stay. Whether you’re traveling for business or leisure, we always recommend upgrading to Fairmont Gold. It sounds like you enjoyed aspects of your stay like our luxurious amenities and convenient location, but I regret to hear that everything was not up to your expectations. We always encourage our guests to speak to the Fairmont Gold concierge team regarding any issues with the room, as these can almost always be accommodated. I would encourage you to visit us again the next time you plan a trip to Vancouver, so we can show you the true Fairmont Gold experience. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to be of service.

Yours Sincerely,

Vince Chow
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#24 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing