We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service & Puppy Dawg Tails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service & Puppy Dawg Tails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My association hosted an event here for our Annual Meeting in Late October. We arrived off the airplane after a long trip from the East Coast. We had a few meetings to go to and enjoyed dinner as a staff. The hotel concierge recommended a great place that was within walking distance.

The staff of this hotel were outstanding. I have done many trade shows before at other properties, and I felt like people went above and beyond. They gave us access to their copier, their offices, and they really were part of our team. I truly can't say enough about the great people who worked here.

As a dog lover, I enjoyed tempting Mavis with Bacon and Sausage on the 9th floor with my boss. I pet her and really wanted to sign out Beau. They are hotel dogs so if you're a dog lover and you're missing your poochy this will make you happy, as it did me.

The room service was excellent, as was the on site dining. Truly a great experience staying here for a business trip. My one regret is that I didn't get to see more of the Vancouver city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicybdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    853
    294
    121
    83
See reviews for
563
910
149
893
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

recently spent 3 nights at this hotel in beautiful vancouver, we were upgraded to a kingsize room on arrival, room was spacious, quiet with old world charm. staff were very welcoming and helpful during our stay and the hotel is in an excellent position for exploring.
we loved the old world charm of the hotel, did not eat at the in house restaurents a little expensive, but did have a drink each evening in the lovely lounge area near the
foyer. diappointingly wifi is not provided free, so needed to go out to access free wifi which was available at Tom Hortons across the road. so this was a negative.
went to Bellargios Cafe a couple of doors down each morning for an excellent value for money breakfast and can highly recommend The Italian Kitchen in Albernie St, a short stroll, for an excellent dinner. all in all very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really nice place to stay. Staff were efficient and pleasant. We emailed about city tours previously and they were all booked for us when we arrived. There was no fridge in the room and they offered to bring us one, free of charge, so we could store food for breakfasts and lunches, which they did. Room was spotless and bed comfortable. Very accessible from airport on light rail, close to the central station. Only down side was the very expensive internet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeniesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Fairmont. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are great. It is in a great location close to sky train and down town shops. $50 a day parking is crazy if your a hotel guest but oh well. We would recommend this hotel
If staying in Vancouver.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderful experience from check-in to check-out. Friendly and helpful staff everywhere. Beautiful building inside and out, especially around the holiday season when I stayed. Christmas decorations are quite elaborate and the hotel hosts talented local choirs that perform often in the front lobby.

My spacious "Fairmont King" room lacked nothing. Located on the 2nd floor (which is really about 5 or 6 floors up), the room offered a nice view of Burrard/Alberni and Burrard/Georgia streets. It was also close to the well equipped fitness room/pool and the elevators, which was quite convenient. Noise from the elevators was not a factor as I thought it might be. A personalized welcome postcard and box of fancy chocolates hand-delivered to my room a few hours after check-in was a very nice surprise.

The location is simply unbeatable - right in the heart of town, which made for a nice "home base" when going in any direction in and around the city. It's close to several SkyTrain stations and is a stone's throw from the Vancouver Art Gallery. Many tour buses (e.g. Greyhound & the free Capilano Bridge bus) make this a scheduled pick-up/drop-off spot on their routes due to the central location. Plenty of restaurants/pubs/cafes/shopping nearby. The hotel houses some fancy boutiques (Omega, Louis Vuitton, etc.) but I never saw anyone go in. The hotel restaurants and bars looked good but were always busy so I never tried them-reservations are recommended.

As some reviewers pointed out, the bathrooms are on the small side. As a solo traveller, this didn't worry me, but I do see it being problematic were I to share it. On the plus side, it's well stocked with plush towels and fancy soaps and gels.

You should sign up for President's Club membership - this costs nothing and gets you loyalty points as well as perks like free Wi-Fi. Without the PC, you will need to pay for Wi-Fi or even wired internet. So sign up and avoid disappointment.

The Hotel Vancouver has everything and then some for a comfortable stay. I'd recommend it to anyone, and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justaguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This one is no different. Beautiful architecture, smiling staff always available to answer your stupid tourist questions and to give you great advice. I felt like a princess in her castle.

Hotel might feel old for the trendies, as it is a far cry from a boutique hotel. But it's comfortable, clean, and absolutely charming.

Plus not only did they upgrade me for free when they learn we were on our mini honeymoon but we were welcomed in the room by the best dark chocolate cake I ever tasted with the word "Congratulations" on it. Now THAT is being spoiled rotten! Thank you Fairmont Vancouver!

Helpful?
Thank Gwendolynah
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Q
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Hotel Vancouver multiple times through work and I really enjoy it. Nice staff, central down town location, and a 25min train ride from the airport. Rooms are great, more of a vintage style room, which I really enjoy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing