We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding "Home Away From Home"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding "Home Away From Home"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Loved staying here. Great location. Was able to take advantage of the workout gear. The room and support for our event was stellar. The lunch served was delicious! The salmon lunch and pear dessert was delicious and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    860
    295
    122
    84
See reviews for
572
916
149
899
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is mix of the gleaming new and the run down; of excellent service and so-so attention.

The lobby area spacious, with an old world feel. (I happened to go into the lobby of the Fairmont Waterfront and found it cold and harsh, almost futuristic.)

Reception staff were gracious about discussing my room location preferences and I ended up with a decentt view –– considering there are no real views, but there was a lot of air space out my window, which was just fine.

We stayed for a number of days and had occasion to seek the assistance of several concierges. My experiences were mixed. One of the concierges was terrific: he took the time to understand the types of activities we like (walks and bus rides to go into different parts of the city) and the types of restaurants we were looking for (a mix of fine dining and more local, neighborhood oriented fare). This concierge was enthusiastic the places he recommended to us and the different ways we could walk there. I felt like other concierges just steered us to pricey places without taking the time to understand who were. I think it's meant to be a posh hotel, so I'd expect more personalized service. Otherwise, you can just consult a tourist guide.

The service at President's Club counter and at reception was very good.

The room is decorated in the same old world fashion as the lobby; it felt comfortable. And the room was comfortable in most ways. The beds, comforters and pillows were up there with the best of them. The windows opened a few inches, which was nice. The HVAC system was not quite adequate; the room got stuffy in spite of the open windows.

Other than that, your standard desk, chairs and coffee stand. Nice extra: an umbrella. All fine, but:

The limited drawer space was a real problem for us as we were on an extended vacation. There were only three small drawers! (The dresser had three fake drawers alongside, which were a front for the motion-sensitive mini-bar.). And there was limited surface space, making it difficult to keep the room tidy.

Also difficult: the bathroom was miniscule. There was only a narrow shelf for toiletries; the things we did put out were perched rather precariously on this ledge, part of which was directly over the toilet. Nerve wracking.

The toilet itself had an industrial flush, definitely taking away from the old world flavor. And forget flushing in the middle of the night if you're sharing the room. The sink was cracked; I guess you could call that old world –– but not posh.

Towels were rather thin; amenities were sparse. In a luxury hotel, you expect a little more than shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion and a shower cap. Not even a Q-tip. Fancy brand of amenities, but couldn't squeeze more than half of the product out of the bottles.

The bathroom was very dark. There was an ancient magnifying mirror, but it was also too dark to be at all useful. I ended up going to the fantastic fitness center locker room to put on my make up. A retractable clothesline was a nice feature since we did wash some clothes by hand.

Housekeeping: excellent

Wifi signal is weak.

Fitness center: beyond expectations. Lots of new, well kept equipment; bright locker room with actual lockers (bring your own lock); fluffy large and small towels; showers. Big pool (and a kiddie pool) with comfortable chaise lounges.

The restaurants are ridiculously expensive. However, the excellent breakfast buffet at $30 seemed reasonable to me, given the variety and quality of the offerings. Service was exceptional and the setting is comfortable.

In short, this hotel has a mix of the comfortable and the uncomfortable; great and ordinary service.

[Are you going to the magnificent Stanley Park? Have breakfast at Raincity Grill beforehand or dinner at España (tapas) afterwards. Wonderful food, friendly service and you'll get out of downtown and into a real neighborhood. Even if you're not going to the park, you'll find these restaurants about a 20 minute walk or a short, easy bus ride from the hotel.]

Room Tip: Find out the best location in terms of what your window looks out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_LadyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a wonderful older hotel made even better by the fact that we were upgraded to the "Gold Floor" which simply can not be beat for service. The hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of the harbor for us tourists. Staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the cbd. Our room was very spacious...a mini suite with an open view of the chapel and a glimps of the sea.
Clean comfortable with old world charm.
We are not keen on the automatic mini bar so asked if it could be removed so we could use the frig...no problem they just left it in place and sent up another for us to use. Excellent.
Concierge is brilliant..very knowledgable .
Housekeeping was second to none. Excellent system to active the donot distrurb or housekeeping required.
Love beable to open the window for fresh air.

Room Tip: The room sizes vary a lot...try for a larger room if possible as some have very small windows so can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location, nicely appointed rooms and great service from concierge, president's club and front desk all around. If you're a Presidents Club member even better as you get free wifi, free rental bicycles and other amenities. Super comfortable beds and love the "grand old" style of the public areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRMrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Room was lovely and comfortable. Concierge service was excellent; they made an effort to ensure that everything was what I needed...including inquiring about tickets to a football game and an excellent recommendation for a Sushi restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a great hotel - even by Fairmont standards. When you stay at a Fairmont, your expectations are pretty high and this property exceeds expections.

The rooms are great, updated, and comfortable. Deep bathtubs, good water pressure in the shower, and nice toilettries.

Where this hotel goes from good to great:
1. Location: Right on Georgia Street
2. The service: The concierge was bang-on in his recommendations for restaurants. He found us exactly what we were looking for, and recommended great restaurants at every price point.
3. The resident dogs: Really, more hotels should do this. When you're missing your dog, how great is it to head down to the concierge and spend some quality time with two beautiful labs. You can take them out for a walk (and they behave brilliantly) or just spend a few minutes scratching either dog behind the ears. You can actually feel your blood pressure dropping and a the day's tension melting away.

Room Tip: One of the few hotels to allow smoking - if smoking bugs you, make a point of staying a few floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 007_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,103 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing