We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed there on our Scenic Canada/Alaska trip. The hotel is one of the best that I have been in. Excellent service from all staff who couldn't do enough for us. The rooms, hotel and surrounds were immaculate.

Room Tip: Anywhere along the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorP174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! This place has great character, old world charm! We wanted a special hotel and were very pleased with our choice. Room was very comfortable, large, great natural light, and quiet. Bed was very comfortable, and we had a great sleep every night of our stay. Bathroom was definitely in need of a touch up, but very clean, and great amenities. Hotel staff great. Two beautiful quiet dogs in the foyer that you can take for a walk if you wish...so cute. Pool good. Food great, but there are so many great restaurants just out the door that we didn't eat in the hotel much. We loved it, and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwimike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Kiwimike12,
Please accept my thanks for your taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you had such a great stay and had a chance to meet our Canine Ambassadors Mavis and Beau.
I look forward to the chance to take care of you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here during our recent 25th Anniversary trip to Canada.

We had been doing a fly drive holiday starting in Vancouver where we stayed in the Renaissance, then hopping over to Vancouver Island for a week and then returning to Vancouver and the Fairmont.

The bell man who took our bags was very helpful and courteous but reception felt a little impersonal. We were able to upgrade to a better room for an extra $20 a night so we had a slightly larger corner room however the room wasn't ready at 2pm when we arrived and we were told to return at 4pm. At 4pm there were big queues at reception and only two receptionists working with spare stations unmanned so despite only needing to collect keys we had to wait for too long considering the level of service that is supposed to be on offer at a prestigious establishment.

The room itself was very spacious and comfortable and with a little furniture re-arranging we were able to enjoy a nice view of downtown Vancouver from our comfy chairs. It took a long time for our bags to arrive to our room which was also slightly dissappointing. We were sent a dessert to our room with Happy Anniversary on it along with some complimentary bottle of mineral water which was a nice touch.

The staff were on the whole very good and although we didn't eat at the hotel we did enjoy drinks in the bar and the waitresses there were very good.

A word of warning.... if you remove anything from the fridge or mineral water or Fairmont Bear from behind the coffee machine you have twenty seconds before it is registered as a charge on your account. Do check your bill to make sure you haven't been charged for something picked up in curiosity!

Room Tip: Ask what upgrades they have available that day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I look forward to staying in Fairmont hotels, and the historic charm of the Hotel Vancouver did not disappoint. Great location - within walking distance of great shopping and restaurants, the Canada Line transit, and the seawall.

Room Tip: I somehow ended up with a corner room on the 8th floor, so had fantastic views in two directions and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was in Vancouver for a conference at the Vancouver Conference Center. This was one of the host hotels. It is a nice hotel, however; like most things in Canada I thought it was very expensive. Although this is a nice hotel, I'm not sure the price is worth it. The rooms were very clean, overall everything was very quiet as well. The price for wifi is crazy and you would think at this price point it would be free. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I did not use any other services or visit the restaurants. Again, nice stay just not sure it is worth the price.

Room Tip: Look closely at signing up for their President's Club before you arrive. Nice perks in that prog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank law&order
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear law&order,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take your comments on board and do review when we look for opportunities to improve the product that we offer to our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I came to this hotel as part of a conference and was wowed by the beauty of the hotel as well as staff who are all very kind and professional. The room was very comfortable and I could not have asked for more! It was luxurious and quiet [which has become more of an issue for me in the past couple years - even loud HVAC systems will wake me up when it turns on and off]. It was on the pricey side, which would knock it out of my price range were it not for the super deal we had as conference attendees. I DID get a nice surprise at checkout: since my car is a hybrid, my parking was waived! Saved me about $39 per day for a 5 night stay, so nearly $200. One thing that is becoming more of an issue to me is staying at high end hotels and then getting charged for just everything, including internet access, and although I did get the internet charge, it was nicely offset by the parking waiver!

Room Tip: You can get a lower priced room if you book and pay for it in advance. I only experienced my own roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMNRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Fairmont is perfectly located within walking distance of the many diverse neighborhoods in this delightful city. You can stroll to Chinatown and the waterfront one way or off to the arts, crafts, music and cafes of Granville Island in the other direction. It is an excellent walking town and you can even check out the Hotel Labrador Retriever that resides in the lobby if you want to take him for a walk. He is quite the social butterfly. The service is quiet and excellent. Food is always good and the breakfast buffet is not to be missed. Do not confuse this Fairmont Vancouver with the waterfront Fairmont Vancouver which a friend of mine did for a meeting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,402 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,715 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,618 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $186 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing