We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, location & experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Mission, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, location & experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Vancouver for only one night, for our first wedding anniversary, but I wish we could have stayed longer! We stayed on the ninth floor, which is the Gold Floor (14 is also a Gold floor, those guests come down to the ninth floor to enjoy the lounge area). The room clean and comfortably appointed with quality linens and toiletries. The concierge staff were exceptional. They were helpful and available without being intrusive. Wilson in particular went above and beyond- he made dinner recommendations and reservations for us, and he was so knowledgable about the city, it really enhanced our stay. Wilson, Yuki, and the entire concierge staff were welcoming and genuine but also highly professional.

It's a heritage building, and we really loved the neat details of the building: stunning light fixtures in the hallways, marble tile, the glass mail chute in the hallway, the mouldings and paint- everything had such a classic elegance.

Location can't be beat! So centrally located downtown that you can walk to the arenas for concerts and sporting events, only blocks to the ocean and Stanley Park, and within a city block of Robson Street (if you like to shop!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Jessika h,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay and congratulations on your anniversary. I am delighted that you chose to stay at our iconic hotel for your special occasion.
Your kind words will be shared with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,639
    917
    311
    132
    90
See reviews for
614
994
155
947
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have been to tea at Hotel Vancouver for many many years now. I loved the old charm of the tea room. The hotel has updated the furniture there which was a shocker at first but I don't think I notice now. I think the selection of goodies has declined, now they are much smaller and less flamboyant. I had gone about a month apart and they were still serving the same things. I hope they read this and up their game again!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank seetastelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pro: Rooms have large closets, beautiful windows, original hardware and tiling with dressing table area. Not what you would normally see from a downtown hotel - still has character. Perfect location without need for rental vehicle. Fantastic staff, including the hotel dog.

Con: restaurant hotel Griffins had a ridiculously priced breakfast buffet. The food was good but total selection did not warrant high price tag.
Little hot water at 8:00am - assuming original plumbing systems
Parking (as with any downtown hotels) did not have parking fees included $$$

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Hotel was undergoing exterior upgrades - ask when booking to have a room with no window coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Checked in the Fairmont Gold Executive Suite. The suite was very large and spacious but the room needs to be updated. The bathroom was very cramp. Furniture and carpet need updating.
The service however from the Fairmont Gold staff were top notch. The lobby and the main level of the hotel are very grand and you definitely feel that you are in a very fine hotel. The only reason why I'm giving this hotel 3 stars is that at $650/night, the suite definitely needs improving. It felt like staying in a 3 star property. Otherwise service and cleanliness of the hotel were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgoh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear bgoh1973,
Please accept my thanks for your taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not entirely satisfactory. I am following up with my team to address the opportunities to improve the decor and fixtures in some rooms.

My thanks to you once again for taking the time to share your feedback through which we are able to serve you better.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is superb! Outstanding service and beautifully appointed rooms. Great housekeeping. The service could not be better, they go out of their way to be of assistance. Loved having the two dogs "on duty". Great location, walking distance to shopping, great restaurants and grocery. Cannot say enough about the concierge, absolutely outstanding. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants, etc. Loved this hotel and would definitely stay here in the future.

Room Tip: High floor gives good view--level 9 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great Hotel, Central downtown location. Gold Floor staff very friendly & helpful. This is why I keep coming back to Fairmont. 900 West Lounge good place to relax with evening entertainment. Just padding now to get up to 200 characters- bit perverse considering Twitter is getting us to be pithy & succinct in 140!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked the Fairmont Vancouver because of the location - just a short walk to just about all of central Vancouver.

This hotel was built in the 1930's so it has big rooms and a grand feel. It is a bit tired in some respects but we really enjoyed our stay.

Staff are excellent and went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay.

Their main restaurant - Griffins - is definitely a thing of the past !. I'd skip that for much better food and service in Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,279 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,600 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance. Guests will be provided with nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing