We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed in many Fairmonts. Had a very nice room on the Gold Floor. It was nice, pretty, with lovely molding. Comfortable bed and furniture. The hotel common areas felt a little small compared to the Fairmont Empress, or the Royal York but still elegant. The location is good for Robson St. stuff--pretty central. Staff was friendly. The one annoying thing is all the freaking fees--expensive parking--different taxes--destination fee (what's that?). So with all the extra costs plan on adding another $75 to whatever rate you 're quoted. I'd stay again if I got a good rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,527
    860
    295
    122
    84
See reviews for
572
916
149
900
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island B.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful, old landmark.
Walking down the hallways reminded me of the Titanic hallways in the first class passenger suites.
Clean crisp, luxury linen and a specialty coffee maker but - overpriced because you are paying for the ambience. Anything other than the coffee/tea has special weight displacement sensors so that if you pick up a water ($8 a bottle, or a 5" stuffed animal $16 yes, $16 and just a generic one, not like it is a steiff or something) the computer downstairs will automatically register it to you account. So, if you want to put something of yours in the fridge, request one, because if you touch anything in the insuite fridge, or move the beer $6 a can it will be registered on your bill and will have to straighten it all out before you leave.
We were unable to use the pool/spa because of maintenance but were told we could go down the street to their sister hotel and use theirs, would have liked an email telling us.
Newspaper can be delivered each day but if you don't want it be sure to let them know or (although minimal) there is a fee.
And if you want to make some popcorn in your room or anything other than coffee/tea forget it, no microwave or any other appliance but you can order a bagel/crm cheese for $8 from room service but thankfully you are within minutes from various café's, restaurants and whatever.
They have an onsite restaurant but it is pricey, we have eaten there twice and the food was very good but only because we had an expense account, which is also the only reason we stay here, if we were to pay the full price for the room instead of the special rate, I would want a lot more perks because we have stayed in many varied low-high hotels over the years and access to luxury bathrobes and Victorian décor isn't enough for us, but if you don't have a budget and don't even need to look at you bill stay here because it is beautiful and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madzwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Madzwolf
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take your comments on board and do review when we look for opportunities to improve the product that we offer to our guests. I would like to extend my apologies on behalf of the hotel for the experience that you encountered in regards to the pool/spa during your recent stay. I am following up with my Front Office team in regards to their communication of options available to you.

Yours sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our stay was on the ninth "Fairmont Gold" floor. We had a suite with a king size bed. The furniture and decoration were excellent, but the layout wasn't the best. The lounge area was a bit of a bowling alley. We had two openable windows but they were single-glazed so street sounds came through easily. As long as you don't sleep on the couch, it's not a big problem.

The climate control system left a lot to be desired. We opened the windows to let in cooling air. When we asked the desk person if anything could be done, she didn't BS us but said it was best to shut it off and open the windows because it was an old hotel. I thought she was very honest.

The bathroom was well-equipped but had so much "stuff" on the shelf that we had no room for our "stuff", so I stowed some of their "stuff" on the floor.

So on to the best parts.... in addition to our room we had the use of three rooms as our "living room". There we ate our breakfast, had our pre-dinner appetizers, or a drink from the "honour bar". Breakfast was diverse and catered to any taste. My only complaints were about the smoked salmon, which was very oily and fishy tasting, and the coffee, which was always cold. But you could always get hot coffee from the automated brewer.

If you want to feel like royalty, a stay in the Fairmont Gold rooms will give you that.

Room Tip: Rooms away from busy streets will get less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Box134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you were staying in an older European city, and stayed in a hotel like the Hotel Vancouver, you would think it was the most amazing hotel ever. Large, grand, old world charm, spacious rooms with small baths, located right in the heart of the city. The service is excellent and the staff are very well trained and courteous and helpful. For Vancouver, the Hotel Vancouver has simply been "the" hotel for a hundred years.

For me personally though, I prefer something more modern, with more modern conveniences, more modern furnishings, and a more spacious bathroom. Having grown up in Vancouver, I never had a need to stay in this hotel, but now, living elsewhere, I stayed there for three nights for a short conference. There are other hotels I would choose before returning to the Hotel Vancouver, but to each his own.

This is not a hotel that would ever disappoint you on service or grandeur, expensive shops or food. But the hotel itself, the hallways, the rooms all just feel "tired". I felt disappointed that I was not more impressed somehow. I probably won't be back to this Fairmont property, but they have two other nearby properties that are newer, modern, and more my style to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have spent MANY nights at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver over the years - both on the regular floors and on the Fairmont Gold floor and it has always felt like home away from home! There has never been anything I have asked the staff for that they wouldn't or couldn't provide. They truly understand thee meaning of customer service.

For a truly relaxing experience stay on the Gold Floor. A private floor, private lounge, breakfast every morning, mid-day snacks, and dinner time appetizers served every day (plus non-alcoholic beverages) and a full bar make for a great comfortable gathering place. And don't forget the concierge personnel dedicated to the floor to assist you in anyway they can.

Room Tip: I love the "alcove" rooms on the Gold Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBismarck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is one of those classic old hotels that are so pleasant to stay at. I have stayed here over 20 times and I always leave with a smile on my face. The staff are so attentive, professional and well trained. They really do take service to the next level.

This location couldn't be any better... You are right in the middle of the city with everything you need only moments away.

The hotel is very old but in perfect condition and they really do maintained it well. I love these old hotels with history and a feeling a grandeur.

The rooms are really spacious with comfy beds and amazing quality linen. The mini bar and snack draw are those electronic auto charge jobs so be careful you dont pick everything up or you will be charged.

There are a couple of supermarkets within a five minute walk.
1) Urban Fare which is just delightful and has a good selection covering everything you want. They also serve hot food in the cafe.
2) "Market Place" IGA which is more of a regular supermarket.
Ask the concierge on how to get to either.

There is a really well equipped gym along with a heated pool or for something different you can take one of the hotel dogs for a walk.

I highly recommend this hotel it is top quality and will not fail to please.

Room Tip: Go for a room away from the ice machine and elevators but in all honestly there is very little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_nz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over the sun run weekend. Location is wonderful, service was excellent, rooms were comfortable but are really showing their age. Having paid a government rate we were not greatly disapointed but if we had paid full price would have been. Some upgrading is due. If the price was right we would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicSunSeeker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear VicSunSeeker82,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you chose to stay at our iconic property on your recent visit to Vancouver. I take your comments on board as we do with all feedback, through which we are better able to serve you, our guest, in the future. As we move forward, we will be giving our grand dame a facelift and renovating the product that we offer to our guests.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,103 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing