We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Been a long while since I have stayed here and I was kind of disappointed. Did the e-mail check in but no one at the places it said to go for keys so ended up in a line at the front desk anyway. In fact, of the three times I had to go to the front desk there was only one person on and service was slow. I was told people were sick. Baggage room guy also seemed annoyed when I asked for my bag. Fairmont staff are usually more interested. I will say though that I ate in the lounge and the waiter was fabulous. Room was fine but the floor had an old feel to it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear guest,
Please accept my thanks for your taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not entirely satisfactory. I am following up with my team to address the opportunities to improve our email check-in communication and to address the length of time at check-in at the front desk.

My thanks to you once again for taking the time to share your feedback through which we are able to serve you better.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,453 - 2,459 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here during the last week of October 2012. I loved everything about this hotel. It’s centrally located, has a lot of amenities, very friendly staff. The only constructive feedback I might add is that they have to do something about their key cards, I had my card replaced for me 3 times, they warned me that it shouldn’t be placed next to a smart device, which I kept away from the card from day one, but still almost every day I had an issue with a card, getting in to the pool area, getting into elevators and the room, so that was a bit frustrating. However, overall it’s a great place to stay when visiting Vancouver, I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

All Fairmonts are known for their character and this is no exception. It is easy to access from the SkyTrain. The Canada Line took me easily from the airport to an easy walk from the hotel. The hotel is situated close to high end shopping and good restaurants, so no car is necessary here. There are also ample taxis available from the hotel should you wish to go further afield. The rooms were older, as expected, but clean and spacious. The staff was professional. The conference facilities, however, need better lighting and acoustics. I suppose this is a result of the age of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed four very comfortable nights at the Fairmont.
Rooms were very comfortable however no bar fridge was unexpected.
Close to shopping precinct and easy walk to waterfront.
Good restaurants in close proximity.
The hotel is reminicent of another era with great foyer and open bar for relaxing in after a long days sightseeing.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The foyer labradors were also an unobtrusive but nice touch at the start and end of the day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you chose to stay at our iconic hotel during your visit to Vancouver.
Your kind words will be shared with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed three nights in The Fairmont Vancouver which is ideally located downtown - close to shopping, dining and transport. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. The concierge service was excellent: not just giving clear directions but by offering helpful suggestions and going the "extra mile" to help. But, that is what we expect from Fairmont Hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iantame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Right in the heart of the city, the location of this iconic Vancouver hotel is great if you want to be in the centre of things. The shops on Robson are minutes away and there are several metro/sky train stops nearby.

This is a typical, sprawling fairmont property and we were treated courteously if impersonally at the counter. We requested same day dry-cleaning after the cut off hour and the staff were really helpful to accommodate us.

Our standard room was large with all the amenities you'd expect. We didn't use any of the facilities - so many great places to eat out in Vancouver it would be a shame to miss out.

Nothing spectacular to write home about, but certainly an enjoyable stay. You expect a certain standard from a fairmont and this didn't disappoint

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarQueen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We dined here for two Sundays and received the treatment which you would expect from Fairmont. The settting was reminicient of goneby days and the service matched that as well. The staff were friendly, pleasant and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and the sweet table was heaven! The reason we reurned on the second Sunday was because of the service received on the first Sunday. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan1766Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments. I will be passing your kind words onto my team and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,452 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,770 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,646 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $200 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing