We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #32 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in May. Very pleasantly surprised that the room was updated and modern even though this is a old hotel. Extremely nice bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Excellent location for dining and getting around city. Excellent view from room. Would definitely stay here again. We saw the dogs in the lobby but did not get the chance to walk one on this trip. But, they were adorable. Parking was pricey but this is the norm for Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,565
    883
    300
    125
    85
See reviews for
586
937
153
921
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Fairmont Vancouver hotel is a 'grand' building situated in the centre of downtown Vancouver. Like a number of Fairmont hotels it is an ex-CPR hotel built during the railway era with acertain amount of opulence.
Entering the hotel, it has an expansive lobby with upmarket shopping stores on site. We found the staff on reception helpful and welcoming. The time and date of our arrival coincided with a Stanley Cup hockey game so hotel and bar area were noisy and crowded.
We were given a room on the 11th floor with views over a section of downtown. The room was a good size although the bathroom was on the small side.
We found the concierge helpful in booking trips and in detailing how to use the skytrain and bus network which is excellent.
The breakfast was exactly as experienced in our stay in the Fairmont Empress, Victoria, excellent, with a choice of buffet or a la carte. The dining room offered dinner at 50% off the a la carte menu before 6pm and a fixed price table d'hote menu for $23. We had dinner on two occasions during our weeks stay, but dined out otherwise in the vast choice of restaurants in the vicinity.
In conclusion, if you are looking for a hotel with excellent service, and offering something different from modern concrete towers, then the Fairmont Vancouver is certainly worth considering.
If we return to Vancouver on holiday we would certainly stay in the Fairmont Vancouver hotel again, but ensure it did not coincide with the end of the ice hockey season after experiencing the riots and chaos resulting from the final game of the Stanley Cup.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The hotel is shop worn and lacks intimacy. The rooms are dated. Small antiquated baths and no room safes. There better choices in the city. Fairmont needs to give this property some attention

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djrbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I travel often for both business and pleasure. I stayed a night in early July. I am a President's Club member and was supposed to get a high floor but ended up with a low floor. Not a big deal as the room was the same but they should give you what you have booked. Anyhow, the guy at check in was efficient and friendly. The room is very large (suite room) and has a nice large bedroom. The bathroom is nice but kind of small. Their beds are not very good. Too soft and I would imagine getting a little old. I would expect a much nicer bed in a $300/night room. Next time I will return to the River Rock Resort and Casino across the river in nearby Richmond. It costs about $100/night less and has a casino, nicer rooms and their beds are the best! My overall judgement of a hotel is always about the bed as it is the most important piece of furniture in the room and you have the room to eventually sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellots61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

A week-long business trip to Vancouver had me stay at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, located right downtown in the heart of the city. Check-in was very quick and easy, and I was in the room within just a few minutes of arriving.

The room, with a wonderful west view, was larger than expected. I appreciated the very fast wireless internet and the extremely comfortable king bed, with Egyptian cotton bedding. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated, for it was absolutely, utterly spotless, with what appeared to be all-new fixtures and a new granite counter. Towels were abundant and very plush. Turn-down service each night came as an unexpected surprise.

A number of Fairmont properties have dogs on site, serving as hotel ambassadors, and this includes the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Although I did not take advantage of the opportunity to take Beau (a very sweet and friendly yellow lab) out for walks, I did enjoy being greeted by her on many afternoons. What a wonderful touch.

The Hotel Vancouver is a very large, turn-of-the-century building and (I believe) a former CP Rail hotel. It looks completely grand and majestic from the street, yet feels new and fresh inside. It is an extremely well maintained property, and the staff excellent.

This was not my first stay at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, nor will it be my last. Great hotel that could not be better located.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the north side of the building offer the best view of the mountains. Request a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
289 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

A great hotel that's not afraid to charge. Pricey but very nice. The best location in the city.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days and really enjoyed our stay. The best part of the hotel is its location. When making our booking, we had requested for a newly renovated room and were happy with it.

We had our breakfast every day at Caffe Artigiano which is close to the hotel. Relaxed ambience and nice coffee.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,160 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing