We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakwood Canadian Bistro

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro
Ranked #22 of 3,501 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: MacDonald
Transit: Bus stops within a block
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Food, service and ambiance all worked so well together. Awesome bourbon sour and the best brisket I have ever had, anywhere. Octopus was really unique - in a really good way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    82
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro fits the definition of a neighborhood gastro pub. The restaurant is decorated industrial style and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Tables are on top of each other so not the best place for intimate conversation.
The food is meant to be shared and it's brought to the table as the dishes are ready, rather than in unison.
Menu is modern Canadian and the food is craftfuly made.
I started with the pepper brioche and maple butter... Simply delicious. The brioche was freshly made and cooked to perfection. The maple butter was heavenly!! Mix of sweet and savory with hints of bacon.
The beet salad with vanilla goat cheese and pistachios was very nice too. Colorful dish with a nice assortment of contrasting flavors.
The poutine with beef brisket was nice. Not the best I've had but nicely executed.
The chimichurri steak and bone marrow was the one dish that, in my opinion, needs to be better balanced. The plate consists of sliced steak (wich in my case was slightly over cooked), a serving on bone marrow and chips. All over a thin layer of chimichurri. The bone marrow was nice but needed something to balance its richness.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delish Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had the Dungeness crab benny and my husband had the maple confit pork belly...both were absolutely delish! We would go back again for brunch! I saw the dinner menu, but the brunch menu looked more appealing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KAVIKAKAVIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OMG! Amazing Canadian Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Ate here while in town for 2 days prior to a cruise. Great good & the waiter was awesome. Recommended a great beer to my husband, talked about the area (his mom lives on Granville island), made food recommendations. Very good service!

Food was AMAZING! All dishes are to share and come at different times. Started with pork rinds, followed by poutine (unusual with brisket on top) which was so awesome we ordered seconds. Followed by a great burger. We were so full we didn't get to try the duck dish or dessert. Looking for something local? This is it! Long, healthy walk from Canada place. Took a cab back as we had played tourist all day. Ride back was under 15 CAD. They will call for you. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madtowngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
315 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everything on the brunch menu looks good, but I most of my brunch orders are for French Toast. Oakwood Canadian Bistro serves up their variant of French toast with a later of mascarpone between two layers of thick bread dipped in egg batter spiked with lemon zest and topped with an ample serving of blueberry confit. The maple confit pork belly and scrambled eggs looked good enough to sample; so did the dungeness crab benedict. More reason to return. We arrived just before the Saturday brunch crowd, were not rushed as the booths and tables filled up, enjoyed endless coffee refills with friendly attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing