We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food and ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakwood Canadian Bistro

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oakwood Canadian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 3,634 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: MacDonald
Transit: Bus stops within a block
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro fits the definition of a neighborhood gastro pub. The restaurant is decorated industrial style and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Tables are on top of each other so not the best place for intimate conversation.
The food is meant to be shared and it's brought to the table as the dishes are ready, rather than in unison.
Menu is modern Canadian and the food is craftfuly made.
I started with the pepper brioche and maple butter... Simply delicious. The brioche was freshly made and cooked to perfection. The maple butter was heavenly!! Mix of sweet and savory with hints of bacon.
The beet salad with vanilla goat cheese and pistachios was very nice too. Colorful dish with a nice assortment of contrasting flavors.
The poutine with beef brisket was nice. Not the best I've had but nicely executed.
The chimichurri steak and bone marrow was the one dish that, in my opinion, needs to be better balanced. The plate consists of sliced steak (wich in my case was slightly over cooked), a serving on bone marrow and chips. All over a thin layer of chimichurri. The bone marrow was nice but needed something to balance its richness.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    104
    28
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delish Brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had the Dungeness crab benny and my husband had the maple confit pork belly...both were absolutely delish! We would go back again for brunch! I saw the dinner menu, but the brunch menu looked more appealing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KAVIKAKAVIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OMG! Amazing Canadian Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Ate here while in town for 2 days prior to a cruise. Great good & the waiter was awesome. Recommended a great beer to my husband, talked about the area (his mom lives on Granville island), made food recommendations. Very good service!

Food was AMAZING! All dishes are to share and come at different times. Started with pork rinds, followed by poutine (unusual with brisket on top) which was so awesome we ordered seconds. Followed by a great burger. We were so full we didn't get to try the duck dish or dessert. Looking for something local? This is it! Long, healthy walk from Canada place. Took a cab back as we had played tourist all day. Ride back was under 15 CAD. They will call for you. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madtowngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everything on the brunch menu looks good, but I most of my brunch orders are for French Toast. Oakwood Canadian Bistro serves up their variant of French toast with a later of mascarpone between two layers of thick bread dipped in egg batter spiked with lemon zest and topped with an ample serving of blueberry confit. The maple confit pork belly and scrambled eggs looked good enough to sample; so did the dungeness crab benedict. More reason to return. We arrived just before the Saturday brunch crowd, were not rushed as the booths and tables filled up, enjoyed endless coffee refills with friendly attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Long awaited visit here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My son & his wife often go for brunch but had not been for dinner until my visit so we didn´t know what to expect. Well it has a very different menu, and not a lot to my taste, I am a picky eater, but I had a burger, my first in like forever, and it was perfectly cooked, succulent and I enjoyed it. Salads were lovely.
There were 8 of us dining so a varied selection of food came to the table, and I did try the chips with cheese on and meat slices, which was very good.
The owner Mike came over to the table to see if we were satisfied with the selection, empty plates spoke volumes. He went to all tables, a nice personal touch, makes people feel important and valued, a nice gesture.
We had a server named Laurel who took our large order without writing it down, amazed us all at her memory and she got it all correct. Chef is busy in the background you can see the kitchen, very contemporary feel which works with the trendy clientele this place attracts. The place really has a buzz about it.
Desserts were fantastic we shared 3 desserts between 4 of us and were still raring to try more.
Great experience, and I will be back on my next visit to Vancouver.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZandaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing