We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazed-too bad I don't live in Vancouver”

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oakwood Canadian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: MacDonald
Transit: Bus stops within a block
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazed-too bad I don't live in Vancouver”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Truly some of the best food we have ever tasted. A huge and diverse selection of dishes. It was suggested we share and that worked out perfectly. We were there for over three hours-very well paced service. We left filled up--yet not that feeling of being unable to continue the evening due to being bloated and needing a nap. We had several bevies and two bottles of wine--I was surprised at the inexpensive check at the end. A definite must do, when you are in Vancouver.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K-ram2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    114
    31
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Disappointing-”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I don't get the hype! We saw this so high on Tripadvisor and specially selected it because of this. Unfortunately, it did not impress.
Yes, it's a nice room, but-
1)Short response from hostess when I called to reserve, 'first come first served'..I get it, but there is a more polite, professional way to deliver that message-
2)Service-average..kept coming by to see if we were ready to order...catching up with friend, so no real hurry, plus restaurant wasn't that busy....no 'wow' factor-no recommendations-had to ask for features(?)
3)Food..borrrrring-went for brunch and was really disappointed. Hashbrowns dry and cold-other items on plates very average...Only nice touch was the almond butter and homemade ketchup-bread also pretty good(kind of sweet).
4)Coffee was constantly topped up-that was nice.
5)No acknowledgement upon exit-
Warmth in this restaurant is lacking..I think the positive reviews are not given by guests who actually dine out a lot, but rather by 'locals' who are just comfortable in this AVERAGE place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girlwholovestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cocktails by Kelsey!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just went to the Oakwood tonight and had a 'Smoking Barrel', the bartender Kelsey's new spin on a dark and stormy classic. She bloody nailed it. Gotta try this one out people!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raspberrytwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for date night.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to The Oakwood based upon Trip Advisor recommendations. Food was good, albeit portion size was a little small for sharing. Service was good and ambience was very nice. Good place to go for date night. As an out of town visitor, I am not certain that $30 round trip cab ride from downtown justifies going for an evening given choices that are closer.

Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“you gotta eat here”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

share plates, that way you can try more of the delicious menu
owner mike shea is sure to come around and make sure you had a great experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing