We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing, not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Ranked #69 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed September 15, 2009

no toilet paper upon checking...took 45 min to get it: TV reception very bad.
Internet unreliable, Kept going off: No Hot water the first morning: Pigeons home was outside on window ledge: Fan in bathroom so loud you could not talk while it was on: Passcard for room had to be re-programmed 5 times:
two elevators in hotel...very slow and also had to be used by the room service staff: We used stairs several times: No room service although restaurant was four floors below: This room simply was not worth $139.00 a night. Saw comments from hotel stating they are upgrading. Sorry....no work was being done and no signs stating this.
The only good thing about this hotel is the staff, as they are doing the best they can under the circumstances.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkirby2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the staff and management, please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment.

In regards to the poor TV reception, since installing the various new flat screen sets, we have had some challenges in this aspect, however working through a solution to ensure this is not repeated.

In terms of the wireless and plug in internet system, the wireless is operational however we are still addressing the plug in internet service.

The hot water system was a challenge with the boiler heat exchangers, the two unit have since been replaced with new units, this ensures a continous flow of hot water for the hotel.

The bathroom fan has been duly replaced and purchaesd new passcards to alleviate the re-programming of these room keys.

The renovations has stopped momentarily due to the much needed supplies that are delayed, we anticipate the continued program for the last floor to commence on late October to be completed by early December.

In regards with the elevator, unfortunately this particular tower is over 30 years old with the original elevator configuration. Although we have upgraded the mechanisms to todays code of compliance, the orginal configuration remains the same. This is a challenge especially when the tower is full with just two elevators. I do apologize for this inconvenience, unfortunately this is one of the challenges to bear especially for a tower built over 30 years ago.

Again, please accept my apologies for your disappoinment as it is also ours. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back so we may redeem our reputation by providing you with the level of satisfactory service and overall product you truly deserve.

Sincerely,

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Sandman Vancouver City Centre Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in two diiferent rooms. Its not that great im afraid. The hotel feels tied/dated/worn. The air-con works but makes so much noise its unusable at night - its looks like its from a museum! The lifts are bad, you wait ages for them - we resorted to the stairs from the several floors up. The glazing is old so rooms street side are very noisey. Customer service is below average.

Moxies attched to the hotel (but not sure if its part of it) serves breakfast but found service very poor when we had an issue - the matter was dealt with in very unproffesional manner and we didnt go back.

On the plus side its close to down town (about 10mins walk), thats about it!

My tip - STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

On the whole Vancouver is a great place with friendly helpful people but there are far too many down-and-outs and something needs to be done as it takes the shine off. In all the places in the world Ive been to this city has the most.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexPalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your concerns and disappointments, on behalf of the staff and management, please accept my apologies for the unfortunate experience.

We have identified the need for renovations, as you have. One particular tower is under progress and plans for the other tower as well. Yes there was no renovations in September due to the fact most items ordered have not been received, however be assured once these furniture items are received, the renovation will commence.

As part of our renovation project, new air conditioner/heater units with a remote sensor thermostat will be replacing the existing old units as you have indicated. Many other items including wallpaper, carpet, furniture, lighting fixtures, bathroom fixtures, flat screen tv's will also be installed.

The issue with the elevator in one particular tower is definitely an on-going challenge. This hotel as built over thirty years ago and this elevator configuration will remain as is although all elevators have been upgraded to today's compliance codes.

There is absolutely no reasonable explanation or excuse for any poor level of customer service. Please be assured this is unacceptable and we will extend reasonable effort to correct this issue.

It is truly unfortunate we were unable to provide you with a satisfactory experience, please accept my apologies for this failure.

Again, on behalf of the staff and management, please accept my apologies for your disappointment. We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back so we may redeem our reputation by providing you the level of service you truly deserve.

Sincerely,

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Sandman Vancouver City Centre
gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Do not stay here, the rooms are gross, small and look like they are trying to fix it up but not doing a good job. They also have bed bugs, so check you bed if your staying.I didn't and i'm dealing with the after effects its gross.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froglegzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the staff and management, please accept my apology for your disappointment as it is also ours.

In terms of renovations, yes we are in progress with one tower and one floor left to go. There are some challenges with getting supplies and yes some areas are still under progress. However our main objectives of renovations have been achieved with new furniture, carpet, wall paper, flat screen tv, beds, bathroom fixtures, lighting fixtures and most importantly a more effective air conditioner/ heater units installed.

In terms of bed bugs, please be advised that this is a challenge with the majority of hotels within the hospitality industry and residential areas. It is not a question of cleanliness but more of transferance as they bed bugs are great hitch hikers. Transferred from luggages originated from various types of services, including accommodations, that handle any luggages. We have a solid response program to any " suspect" or "infected rooms", which includes a dry vapor steam cleaning equipment to hopefully eliminate any eggs, to a qualifed treatment plan from a professional pest control company for the period of four to six weeks per guestroom. However despite the successes in achieving no activity, the very same room can again be suspect or infected by another infected luggage, hence our on-going challenge.

Again, this is an industry wide challenge not only in our fair city but with most cities around the world, in various hotel brands and various star levels.

However, a suggestion, when you arrive home from any trip, please do not take your luggage directly to your bedroom. Please wash all clothing inside your luggage, spray the luggage with a product you can purchase from any store, seal the luggage until you need to use it again. The purpose of this suggestion is to hopefully prevent these great hitch hikers from gaining access into your valued home.

Again, my apology for your disappointment as it is also ours. I sincerely hope the honest and informative explanation provided meets to your approval.

Thank you,

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Sandman Vancouver City Centre Hotel
gm_vancouver @ sandman.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed there for 12 nights, without realizing we were being eaten alive by bed bugs… until one day we woke up covered in huge pink dots. At first we believed we were allergic to some mosquito bites. However, knowing that I am not allergic to pretty much anything, we checked with a doctor who confirmed to us these were bed bugs bites.
We of course went back to the hotel’s management who, once we showed them, knew exactly what we had and offered to wash our clothes the next day and moved us into a new room. And oh, gave us 2 vouchers of 10 dollars each for food in the hotel’s restaurant. Our expenses to treat these horrible bites cost us over 100 dollars, not to mention the amount of washing we had to do. I don’t even think we got an apology from the management.
Still now, a week after we departed that hotel, we are pretty much covered in disgusting bites and more coming out. We can barely enjoy the remainder of our Canadian holiday and we pretty much have to cover up the arms, legs and faces as we really look diseased.
I know and understand bed bugs are hard to avoid, but since the hotel has this issue and had it before, at least they could do is give you enough info on medicine to treat such bites and a fact sheet on these bugs, offer a 24 hour laundry service, assure you the new bedroom they move you into will be free of bugs and do their best to comfort you while you go through such a horrible experience.
The only good things about that place was the sports bar and the restaurant food, which I believe are under external management and not owned by the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your concerns and disappointment, on behalf of the staff and management, please accept my apologies for the overall inconvenience you experienced.

Yes, bed bugs is a growing challenge within the hotel and residential industry. The main point of consideration is what the hotel has implemented to properly respond to the challenge, since preventing access into the guestrooms by these great hitch hikers is a challenge without a true solution.

The staff and management are trained to identify the signs to identify the rooms that are considered " suspect" or " infected". Once a room is deemed " suspect " or ' infected" the room is immediately quarantines. We use a dry vapor steam cleaning equipment first to clean the room with hopes in eliminating any and all eggs laid. Then a professional pest control company is used to treat the room for four to six weeks, only when we receive authorization from this qualified pest control company of no activity, then the room is open back to the public. However despite all the successes in treating the room properly, this same room can again be infected by luggage's coming into the room.

Please understand, these great hitch hikers can come from an infected luggage put on top of your luggage through various services that handle luggages and accommodation facilities. Therefore it is simply not your fault as you are unaware of this type of transfer. It also takes up to seven days before you would see any bites in your persons.

Most of the hotels of various brands and star levels have a similar respond program for this growing challenge.

It is also suggested, when you arrive at home from any trip or from any form of accommodations, please do not take your luggage directly to the bedroom, please wash all clothing and spray the luggage with a pest control spray ( which can be purchase at any store ), then plastic cover and seal the luggage until the next use. This suggestion and please note only a suggestion, is to assist you in the prevention of having these great hitch hikers infecting your valued home.

Overall we have approached this challenge with an honest and educational approached, as the true solution not only lies with the hotels at large but with any/all services that handle luggages.

Again, on behalf of the staff and management, please accept my apologies for your disappointment and inconvenience. We sincerely hope the explanation provided is accepted with the honest and educational intention to be part of the solution to eliminate this challenge from these great hitch hikers.

Thank you,

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Sandman Vancouver City Centre Hotel
gm_vancouver@ sandman.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

When we arrived at the Sandman, there was a fire fighter/police officer convention going on, the restaurant and surrounding streets were noisy and crowded. The hotel is attached to restaurants, bars and a public fitness center, it just felt noisy and very public throughout the open lobby. Now that I think back on it, the hotel just felt chaotic. Upstairs in the rooms, it was more quiet. We stayed with family and had 3 rooms amongst us. The room my boyfriend and I had was cramped-feeling, smelled like smoke, and was dark. Our view was of the radio station across the street. My mother's room had a great expansive view, so if you do stay at the Sandman, I would recommend asking for a corner room facing the stadium! We were within walking distance of Yaletown, which is a fun area, but we were also close to some seedy sections so just make sure you know where you're going or drive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harper23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandvan, Michael Lopez - General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns and overall experience.

On August 9, the hotel hosted a few teams involved with the World Police & Fire Games, this explains the various fire fighters and police officers at our hotel. In total the hotel accommodated over 6 teams from various countries from August 1st till August 10th.

In terms of the room type, yes the south tower ( facing CBC television network building ) is a little dark by comparison to our renovated north tower, however we do plan to renovate this particular tower with a better lighting configuration similar as what was installed in the renovated tower.

In terms of the location, we are walking distance to both GM Place and BC Place stadium, making our location one of the prime choice when attending all major sports events, trade shows and concerts in the city. Yaletown which is richly covered with unique shops and restaurants is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

There are some challenges for this location as well, being extremely heavy with people traffic, high energy during sporting events and concerts dates however this can also be defined as a fun, always busy area with lots of choices for entertainment and dining pleasures.

On behalf of the staff and management, we extend our sincere concern for your disappointment however hoping for another opportunity to welcome you back so we may redeem our reputation by extending the level of service you truly deserve. Please email me when you should decide to stay with us again, I will extend every effort to ensure your next stay with us will be without any disappointment.

Thank you,

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Sandman Vancouver City Centre Hotel
gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

With bed bugs, noisy aircon and traffic noise our very brief stay was not a happy one!
Unfortunately the hotel was part of a package and we had no choice.
The hotel is in need of a major refit, including new beds !! We eventually managed to negotiate a move to the Sandman Suites on Davie Street, which was much better.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the staff and management, please accept our sincere apology for your disappointment.

Yes, the hotel is in need of renovations and the hotel is currently undergoing renovations in the north tower, consisting of 216 guestrooms.

The renovations consist of new furniture, better lighting fixtures, new flat screen TV, new air conditioner units with motion sensor,new beds, new carpet, wallpaper and bathroom fixtures, including crown molding and baseboards. In addition, all hallways are also being renovated, consisting of new carpet, lighting fixtures, wallpaper and moldings.

Currently the project has only two floors left to go in this particular tower, once completed, then hopefully to the othe tower of 86 guestrooms.

It is refreshing to note that the alternative hotel provided, the Sandman Hotel and Suites on Davie Street, was satisfactory to your needs.

Again, our apologies for your disappointment as it is also ours, but be assured, our current renovations project addressed all your concerns and more.

We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back so you may experience the final result of the hotel renovations.

Thank you,

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Sandman Vancouver City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed at Sandman in Vancouver as part of a Contiki tour of Canada. Very shabby room, poor customer service. Located in a dodgy part of town in an incredibly ugly concrete building. Several people in our party were bitten by bedbugs - most of the rooms seem to have a problem with bedbugs. I did not want to get into the bed, so I used my own sleeping bag on top of the covers and was fine, but you really shouldn't have to do that at a hotel! Avoid if you can!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCG_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your concerns and please accept our apologies for your disappointment.

The design of the building was completed almost 35 years ago, which explains the concrete building presence. The location is conveniently situated within minutes to the downtown core and especially short walking distance to two popular event locations, the GM Place and BC Place, both locations entertaining all the major concerts, sports events and some trade shows in the city.

Bed bugs are great hitch hikers and are brought into the hotel in luggages. Although we are unable to control the entry of these bed bugs, we have very solid program to deal with this industry challenge.

Once a guestroom is considered " suspect" the room is quarantined, a certified professional pest control company is immediately called to confirm and treat the room. The infected room is quarantined and treated for approximately four to six weeks. In addition, the surrounding rooms are also treated to prevent further infestation.

Despite all the solid response programs in place and other programs to mitigate this industry challenge, a room that is stamped cleaned of all bed bug activity may again be infected by another infected luggage.

Again, our apologies for your disappointment as it is also ours. It is with the sincere hope the explanation provided meets to your overall satisfaction.

It is with further hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back to achieve your expectations and overall satisfaction.

Thank you,

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Sandman Vancouver City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Davie Village
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#56 of 92 in Vancouver
421 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#40 of 92 in Vancouver
1,617 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Address: 180 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $117 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre is walking distance to shopping, a multitude of restaurants and lounges, and sporting and entertainment venues, making it the perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing