We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for short stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a short stop over after flying in from the UK. The hotel is easy to find with a large underground car park (although it does charge an extra 20 dollars a day to park in it)

We were given large family room on the corner of the 10th floor. The room was very clean with large comfy beds and very quiet - we had a good nights sleep. The biggest criticism of the room was the lack of hanging space.

If you take the hotel for what it is a fairly cheap, city centre hotel it is good. The hotel is in a good location, particularly if you want to visit the football stadium. The only really annoying thing about it is the small lifts which mean you often have to queue at peak times and the need to use your room key to swipe access in the lifts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We could see the plaza for Queen Elizabeth Theatre from our room. We literally just had to walk across the street and up 1 block to go to the theatre. We took advantage of the underground parking. The room was comfortable - the bathroom area was small. The vanity and sink were outside the bathroom which was great as I was sharing a room with my sister. The toilet leaked - we were only there for 1 night so by the time we realized, it was too late at night to complain or see if we could get a different room. But the beds were really comfortable, everything seemed to work just fine. Had a good sleep, the neighbourhood is quiet. Had breakfast in the hotel and it was quite nice. Quirky elevators and layout in the lobby, but I think this actually adds to the charm of the place. Overall, this hotel is a superb value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

First room the ac didn't work...slept in 82f temp after 3 attempts to fix didn't help. Mgmt moved me to a much nicer corner room the next day. Took 3 days to get back an item that was left in first room. Beds very soft, only foam pillows...bought feather pillows so I could sleep in comfort. Bathroom extremely small, very little shelf for cosmetics, etc. Not sure how often sheets were changed but definitely not every day. Good location for lower priced restaurants, close to arenas.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room. Price is higher but worth it. Don't have room facing west in summer as AC i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have given this hotel an average rating because of its superb location and price of £65 per room per night in June. I stayed there 3 nights pre cruise and had a large double corner room but i have to say the bathroom was tiny, the bathroom on the cruise ship was bigger. I stayed here for 1 inght post cruise and had a smaller room with a bigger bathroom. The decor of the hotel was rather dull and depressing. Would not recommend this hotel unless you were on a budget and couldn't find anything better for a similar price. Metro station is a 2 minute walk diagonally across a car park from hotel. Many areas within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had a layover in Vancouver for one night and was recommended this hotel. Unfortunately is was during high season so I wasn't too happy w/the price, but once I arrived EVERYTHING changed! Excellent location, would definitely go back, loved the room We were in 524 corner room w/a great view! Great experience overall

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylvieD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Receptionist arrogant. No fridge, hair dryer. Not so baby friendly. If u want to sleep for a night, its fine but to stay longer, would'nt recommend it. There's still a lot of much better hotels around. Good location for downtown trips......

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent last Christmas in Vancouver. What a beautiful city. Sandman great location but very busy. Rooms were clean and cleaning staff were very helpful which is more than I can say about the reception staff. Our heating didn't work and the room was cold. Reception staff were interested. Sorry wont be staying there again.

Room Tip: the location is good. easy walking to ferries, restaurants and shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill255343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Davie Village
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#54 of 92 in Vancouver
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Address: 180 Georgia St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $106 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre is walking distance to shopping, a multitude of restaurants and lounges, and sporting and entertainment venues, making it the perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing