We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Hawksworth Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hawksworth Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe Street
Transit: Bus Stops are located on Howe Street and on Georgia. We are also located one block west of the City Centre Canada line station.
Description: A celebration of Vancouver’s cultural diversity and natural environment Hawksworth Restaurant showcases ingredient led, contemporary cuisine that demonstrates the highly skilled technique and relentless drive for perfection that has become Chef David Hawksworth’s trademark.Glamorous and elegant, yet relaxed and welcoming with warm and attentive service, Hawksworth Restaurant is located in the heart of the city at Georgia and Howe Streets within the legendary Rosewood Hotel Georgia.Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, with in bar dining menus and its own private room, Hawksworth can deliver an array of dining experiences from power breakfasts to after-work drinks, to formal gala events.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have had the pleasure of dining in some of the top rated restaurants in the world, and Hawksworth is one of the best we have been to!

I think Hawksworth has really hit a groove with outstanding service and outstanding food :)

After reading some reviews, go in with an open mind. If you over-hype anything in life it will often fall short, enjoy your experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    211
    129
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent dining in downtown Vancouver”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is difficult to get a table at and it's easy to see why. The ambiance in the room is pleasant however the restaurant is certainly busy, with people going in all directions.

The food was generally very good, but not great, with the exception of the slow cooked lamb main course, which was cooked to perfection. The flavour combinations in some of the starters and desserts were overly ambitious and didn't quite work.

The service was unimpeachably excellent all round.

Prices are at the top end but not extortionate. We paid about $100/ head incl wine.

Definitely worth a visit if you can get a table.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndPulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had heard of David Hawksworth and had great expectations. As it was a special occasion, we tried the Winter Tasting Menu. Quite frankly, I have never had better food. Each course was outstanding and the wine pairings were excellent.

The service was probably the best we had ever had and it was an interesting international experience as the servers were from all over the world.

The only disappointment was the noise level. We expected it to be a quiet intimate evening but the noise was extremely high making it difficult to hear the servers when the accents and trying to hear the description of each dish required concentration. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED notwithstanding the noise but I wouldn't go there again if I wanted a quiet evening!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nevman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome dining experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

From making the reservation to paying the bill, one of the most flawless dining experiences we've had. Confirmation of reservation, reminder of reservation, greeting at the door, all first class. We knew that David Hawksworth was an exceptional chef and the total experience profiled his ability to provide the ultimate dining experience. All staff worked in concert to ensure everything (food, wine, clearing ...) worked flawlessly. We started by sharing the prosciutto di parma - pear, burrata, olive oil marshmallow and walnut. Lovely combination of flavours and textures. I had the yarrow meadows duck breast, duck confit crêpe, wild onion, carrot, brown butter jus. The menu description doesn't do it justice.The flavours and textures (crispy skin on the duck, confit crepe, jus ...) were awesome. My wife had the pan seared scallop, glazed pork cheek, chestnut agnolotti, hazelnut emulsion. Again, the description pales beside the experience. Perfectly done scallops with pork cheek?? Has to be experienced to be appreciated.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
392 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 537 helpful votes
“Stilll doesn't live up to the hype- no improvement since last visit”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

On our latest visit to Vancouver, we ate at Hawksworth again- twice for breakfast, once for dinner, and once for lunch when we entertained 3 others.

Our impressions of the restaurant have not really diverged from my original review. We ate there becasuse we were guests of the hotel and it is very convenient.

The food is good but not outstanding. Some of it is fairly pedestrian and ordinary. On this occasion two dishes stood out. The first was the roasted carrot salad which I had twice, once as a starter at dinner and once as my lunch the following day. Presentation was not consistent. It’s a good dish but the carrots on both occasions could have done with a little more roasting. My smoked sable fish was hit and miss. The fish was very good but the dish was unbalanced. Far too much salt. It cries out for something acidic. There’s a reason the Germans serve coleslaw or sauerkraut with their smoked sausages and meats. Coffee is undrinkable. On two occasions we had to send it back. The Nespresso coffee in the room is far superior.

Service ranged from sweet and pleasant to arrogant and snide. This is definitely not the service one would expect from a restaurant that holds itself out as one of the best in the city.

Cleanliness continues to be an issue. Once again, crumbs and food debris were on the banquet seats at the breakfast service despite the attention to plumping and denting the cushions. The leather seats could use a good scrub.

At lunch, I was seated in a position so that I got a partial view of the inside of the ladies room every time a guest went in or out. Not nice for me or the user.

The restaurant is convenient for those in the hotel, the food is for the most part good, but on the whole it is highly over rated

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksworth Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hawksworth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing